We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty damn good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Liberty Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Liberty Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Liberty Towers
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   25 Colley Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty damn good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there this week with my mum and sister and sister's friend.
Room was clean except for a large red paint? mark on one of the bedrooms carpets. So close to everything, we walked every morning and then swam in the pool every night.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Only had one issue where all we could smell was cigarette smoke two mornings in a row (we were on level 6).
We rang reception on the first morning and then advised reception on the second morning as we were checking out. We understand permanent residents live in the building and that they aren't subject to certain rules like hotel guests, but I think the hotel should have some way of being able to complain and/or do something about permanent residents smoking if it disrupts the hotel guests - the smoke was all through the lobby area on the 6th floor and was seeping under our door into our room.
Other than that, perfect stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with family and friends and that you were able to make the most out of our on site facilities.

I appreciate your comments relating to the smell of cigarette smoke that was coming from an apartment on the floor that you stayed on. Liberty Towers is a non smoking complex with Smoking only permitted on balconies. Letters were placed in all lifts to remind all occupants of the builiding of this by law.

I have since contacted the Strata Management and have asked further action be taken. I apologise that this was an issue you had to experience during your stay.

On behalf of the team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    66
    30
    21
    9
See reviews for
36
67
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ararat, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This accommodation was pretty good. We stayed with friends in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor with a beach/gardens view. The place was of a good standard but did have signs of wear with worn/damaged carpet and the couch was a little dirty looking however it was very clean around the apartment. Lots of room for 2 couples and a bonus of a washer, dryer and dishwasher. The facilities were great and the location topped it off with a short walk to bars, coffee shops and restaurants. I was not there to pick faults and would honestly say that I am returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you book it on a special deal and parking is a must if you have a vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave some valuable customer feedback after your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

It's wonderful to read that the apartment was clean and spacious, that it was greatly suited for you and your friends, and that you were able to enjoy our facilities and the surrounding areas.

On behalf of the whole team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just finished staying at the Liberty Towers. Great spot to stay, close to everything, easy walk to the centre of all the activities.
I have to mention the shocking bed, wow, it was sooooo bad that every morning we would wake up crippled. Two single beds put together. The cushions were also red dot specials.
Another thing to mention, never stay on the lower levels at Colley Tce. We were staying in room 212 and the noise was so bad that you could not leave the sliding door open while you tried to watch TV. We did ask reception if we could move but nothing was available.
I still think the apartment has a lot to offer, but some of the things i mentioned did spoil our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback after your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

I appreciate your comments regarding the furnishing in the apartment, we are working with our owners to look at upgrading some of the furniture packs to ensure the overall comfort for our guests.

The balcony doors and windows in the apartments are double glazed to try and deter some of the noise from street level, but as mentioned if you wanted this open you will be subject to some noise from street level as Colley Terrace is one of the main roads in Glenelg. I apologise that this caused some inconvenience to you during your stay.

Should you wish to return to stay at Liberty Towers in the near furture, please contact our reservations team and ask for a higher floor apartment, we would be more than happy to accommodate this request where possible for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Vic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our room was on the 7th floor with views to the beach and Marina and parklands across the road
Our room was spacious but there was only a two seater couch and when you have two adults and two children, its all a bit hard to squeeze onto.
We booked with another family who were on the 9th floor, and their room was far more spacious than ours, for the same rate, so unsure how this works. Our room had a double bed, there room had a King size and more than a two seater couch to sit on.
We did request rooms to be close together when booking, but this did not happen - one room in the south tower the other in the north tower, on different floors.
Overall the room was great, just a bit disappointed about the beds - compared to the other room.
Has a good heated pool but the sauna and steam room were closed for the whole time we were there - 4 nights.
Within walking distance to some great shops and eateries.
Don't let this put you off, but
Twice when we were returning to the hotel, there was a rat that was in the door between the opening and the security door - it must of liked the hotel also, but couldn't get in as it didn't have its security key.....This wouldn't put me off recommending this place as it wasn't actually 'in the hotel'.
Good spot, but would of liked a queen or king size bed, like the other family that we booked with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for leaving some highly valuable feedback from your recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

Some apartments within Liberty Towers are managed by Oaks Hotels & Resorts and are generally furnished by the people who own them. In some instances, we recognise the need to upgrade furniture and I will communicate this to the owner.

It was unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate you close to your other travelling party as requested on this occassion, we do our very best to accommodate our guests requests where possible.

I apologise for the unforseen circumstance of the steam room and sauna being out of order during your stay. Non routine maintenance had to be performed on these areas and for the safety of our residents, tenants and guests, we had to switch these items off as required.

Again, i highly appreciate the feedback you have provided on this instance and i hope we can welcome you back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were very thankful to this group for upgrading us when we struck trouble with the original booking agent. Our rooms were spacious with lovely views. Cleaning in the bathroom left a little bit to be desired but did not detract from our enjoyable experience. The position is close to the Pier, shops and cafes. Thank you Oaks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

It is a delight to read that you throroughly enjoyed your stay and found the room to be spacious and that you got to experience the wonderful views that our apartments have to offer.

On behalf of the team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We found this apartment very spacious and with modern appliances. Only stayed for one night but would gladly have stayed longer we had a nice view of the ocean and was walking distance to shops and the beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Many thanks for leaving feedback after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment well appointed.
We have some fabulous deals going at the moment so should you wish to stay again, please contact us and we would be happy to offer the best available rate to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom 11 th floor apartment. While it was roomy enough, it was shabby and showing bad signs of wear and tear. The furniture in all rooms was stained and sagging. The queen size beds very average comfort wise. The view is great, but a distinct lack of outdoor furniture, one table, one chair. The curtains are grubby, threads pulled, in some places hanging off the gliders. For $395 per night, it was not good value for money! We have experienced disappointment at another Oaks apartment in Brisbane as well, so we will be avoiding Oaks in future at all costs.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay at Liberty Towers.
It's disappointing to read that you found the furniture to be outdated and that there was not enough furniture in the apartment. Please find that i have passed on your feedback to the owner of this apartment and have suggested they upgrade the furniture package to better cater the need's of the guest's staying in this particular apartment.
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to stay at Liberty Towers, i would not like the experience you have had at our property to deter you from staying with us again. Should you wish to stay in the future, please contact me on bmliberty@theoaksgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Liberty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Liberty Towers

Address: 25 Colley Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Liberty Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular coastal, ocean, marina and night time cityscape views, Oaks Liberty Towers is superbly located in the beachside resort area of Glenelg. Oaks Liberty offers contemporary fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments with full kitchen facilities, individually controlled ducted air conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Liberty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Liberty Towers Hotel Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Liberty Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.