We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you plan on sleeping” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glenelg Beach Hostel

Glenelg Beach Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glenelg Beach Hostel to your Saves list
Glenelg Beach Hostel
1 Moseley Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you plan on sleeping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed here for two nights in a single room during winter. The room had a single bed and a bare light bulb, nothing else. No chair, no table, nothing. It also had no heating and only a thin blanket on the bed. I asked the person at the bar/reception for a couple more blankets as I felt I might freeze overnight, and after making some excuses, a couple of hours and making me feel like I was causing problems, I finally collected 2 blankets which was only just enough to keep me warm. Until late at night the bar pumped out loud and annoying dance music. The showers were dirty, the carpet was stained and smelt. Seriously, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
14
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I read the reviews of this property but I was determined to stay by the beach in Adelaide nonetheless. I was gladly surprised to find the the old building charming and only a stones throw from the historical Glenelg beach. The area had a number of restaurants and bars including a marina with views up and down the coast. I was also able to visit the city sights easily for a day using the tram that ran directly into the centre. My only criticism would be the number of 'long term' guests that stay there who can be slightly exhausting but after a few drinks in the bar downstairs everyone is friends.

Room Tip: The dorms are large with no bunk beds! Request to be down the southern end to avoid noise from the b...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

if you want a hostel with a bar, near to bars and the beach, this is probably a good choice. I wasn't too keen on Glenelg in general, as it was a bit like Bournemouth or Swindon (no offence). The hostel had big rooms without bunks, which was a nice change. It felt a little impersonal; kitchen was small, TV room average. Attached to part of a heaving pub, and very close to other (not so great) pubs. Great if your out on the pull!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

All the negative comments of other reviews are justified - the sprawling building is difficult to navigate, the bar is very noisy at night and the owner is a bit of a pest towards female travellers. I would add that I found the whole place rather smelly although they were obviously trying to keep it clean. It smelt like a pub the morning after. I paid A$60 for a private room which was small and spartan, but with clean crisp linen and a window. The toilet was far away however.

Although I can see why other reviewers recommended staying in Adelaide CBD and getting the tram to Glenelg`s beautiful beach, I found it worthwhile staying here if only to be able to roll out of bed at 7am and walk straight out onto the beach to watch the sun rise. The owner knows this and exploits this. But it served my purposes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed here for BDO in Adelaide but were sorely disappointed with the quality of this hostel compared to others we had previously stayed at in the CBD area. Since we were staying the BDO weekend we were charged AU$80 for the double room for the night, compared to the standard rate of AU$70. The double room was fairly small and had a ceiling fan. Our main issue was with the bathroom / toilets. Both were mixed yet some of the showers were lacking shower curtains and both were generally in a grotty state. We ended up only staying one night and packing up early the next morning as we were so keen to leave and have a decent shower.

Glenelg is a nice area but it's worth considering staying in the city and catching the tram to and from Glenelg if you wish to spend some time at the beach.

Room Tip: Book somewhere in the CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This place couldnt make its mind up as to what it was.. The reception was the bar, and the bar was also the 'TV' room. So you couldn't watch TV in the evening because the 'DJ' in the bar was playing very loud music to himself.

The Kitchen was OK but set out over 2 levels and the fridge was on it's last legs.

Our room just had two bunk beds in it and a fan, no lockers, no hooks, no chair, no table. It was ok, the matress was well worn but we've slept on worse.

The thing is, the hostel is good, because of the location, 30 seconds away from a lovely little town and a great beach. But i do hate it when the hostel thinks it can get away with providing basic accomodation at premium rate, just beacause of the location!

Also, don't pay for Internet, the Internet cafe over the road is cheaper, better and also has free Wifi!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Where to begin? Yes they are one of the few hostels in Australia with no bunk beds, but to be honest, that would have to be its sole selling point.

The Glenlg Beach Hostel - unless you really HAVE to stay on the beach in Glenlg on a budget, I wouldn't bother staying here, especially when the tram from the city is quick and easy and takes you right to the doorstep and runs early and late.

Is there anything good about it? Well yes, it does have SOME good points.

No bunk beds are nice- and the beds are comfy with nice clean sheets, decent duvets and pillows. I slept really well. As this is a basic requirement of a hostel - perfect!


There were a few other good points - free "continental" breakfast is as much toast and jam as you can eat from 7am to 10am. The location is right by the beach. Its opposite the bus stop to and from the airport. There are free dvd's available to watch on a lovely HD TV and the bar isn't overly expensive for drinks.

Not so bad you say? Well, the place is like a rabbit warren and there is no real signage to help you find things. You have to go outside round the back of the hostel or round the front in order to get down to the kitchen and common rooms, and nothing is signed to help you work it out.

The place is a combination of Hostel and Bar - great you say? Well it would be if the owner was just as interested in running a nice hostel as trying to have a "cool" bar. I put it in speech marks as the bar is empty the majority of the time yet he still insists on pumping out music all day and night at ridiculous volumes. I was told by other guests that even on quiet nights when he has been asked to turn the music down as they couldn't sleep he has refused saying its busy - but the bar was empty. Its like the guests he has paying to stay there are an inconvenience to him.

I arrived on a Friday around 6pm, wondered down the steps to what I assumed was reception (no signage again) and checked in trying and struggling to hear what I was being told over the music.

The TV room is located next to the bar and it has doors leading into the bar so you can pop round and get drinks easily - before 8pm. After 8pm if you want to sit and chill in the common room and watch tv or a movie and fancy a drink you have to walk around the entire building. (You aren't allowed any outside alchohol onto the premises, not even in the non-bar area such as the common room or the dorm rooms).

As the common room is right next to the bar and they have the music at earsplitting levels the whole time - it makes it pretty damn hard to chill out and watch the TV in the evening if thats what you want to do as you struggle to hear it over the music.

There is no signage or information about whats available - I arrived and people who had been there for a week had no idea that DVD's were available to borrow for free until I told them as they hadn't seen the website. There's no information on how much washing machines or washing powder costs or the internet. There's no information on any activities as basically there have made no effort to get backpackers getting to know each other - apart from happy hour drinks! (there are a load of tourist leaflets in the common room).

The bathrooms are never that clean - even after the cleaner has JUST been in them. They are communal and have no private changing areas - an interesting experience i'm sure for any woman who is in a mixed dorm - you basically get no privacy. The kitchen layout is terrible with the cookers in one room up some steps, the prep area in another and the fridges in another. The dorms have no security storage facilities for bags, or even a good place to put your bags out the way.

Finally, I found the staff pretty unfriendly and looked miserable most of the time. The owner also has a reputation for giving away lots of free drinks to some of the female guests and taking advantage of them.

This place has so much potential! There are so many little things that could be done to make the place a really nice place to stay. It is the only place near Adelaide near the beach which is cheap which seems to have made the owner extremely lazy about having it as a nice place for people to stay.

Stay there if you want a cheap bed next to the beach, but there are places so much better than this for quality and value for money. Stay in town and do the 20 min tram ride commute.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenelg Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Beach Hostel

Address: 1 Moseley Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's only beachside backpackers hostel, housed in a beautiful heritage building with high lofty ceilings, period features and open fireplaces. Female only, mixed dorms and private rooms available, all with linen and light breakfast included. Full facilities including 24hr backpackers TV lounge, kitchen, internet cafe, laundry, licensed bar and beer garden on site. visiting Adelaide... stay at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Glenelg Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenelg Beach Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.