We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not accommodating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Haven Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   6-10 Adelphi Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Glenelg
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not accommodating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First I'll speak about the facilities.

Our room was clean, though the bathroom was a little dated. The beds were comfortable but the pillows too soft for me.

Now our one complaint.

This was a special weekend away with my sisters for my birthday. We chose this hotel for the price. My sister booked via Webjet.com. On the one booking she booked:
Room 1
Type 1 Queen Bed & 1 Single Bed No Smoking No View Air Conditioning Cable Satellite Tv
Check In Date 12 Apr '13 Check Out Date 14 Apr '13
Total No. of Nights 2 nights
No. of People 2 Adults
Room 2
Type 1 Queen Bed & 1 Single Bed No Smoking Marina View Air Conditioning
Check In Date 12 Apr '13 Check Out Date 14 Apr '13
Total No. of Nights 2 nights
No. of People 2 Adults

Now one would think that if you booked two rooms on the one booking form that you would naturally want these rooms to be next to each other or at least close, but when we arrived we were told that due to a bus load coming in that we could not have the rooms not only not together but not even in the same section of the hotel. One was on the 'old' side and the other on the 'newer' side.

So we decided not to use their dining facilities either night, instead enjoying a nice Thai in Glenelg and my special dinner at The Top of the World Restaurant (see my other review) on the second night.

I'm not sure that I would recommend this hotel or if I did I'd definitely say to contact them if you want something specific because they obviously can not think for themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback, however I would like to respond to a few misleading comments.

When receiving a multiple reservation (2 or more rooms) we do our best to make sure that they’re kept close together but unfortunately some factors, such as at the time we received your booking the hotel was already full with guests already staying. I’m sure you can appreciate we cannot ask these guests to move. Another factor which you have clearly out lined is that one of the rooms you booked was a Marina view room and the other was a standard room, these rooms are in different areas of the hotel i.e.: one being at the front with a view, so in this case this is why your rooms where unable to be side by side.

We have an amazing reservation team that always strive to fulfil all our guest requests and needs when it is possible. We want all our guest to enjoy their experience at the Haven, so they keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    42
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
41
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good location next to marina, room was adequate but dated and lacking in amenities. A good coat of paint and a clean in the bathroom would be appreciated. Noise.. well staying out the back with the inadequate parking we got a lot of noise from 1 the Kitchen @ 5am starting the exhaust fan sounded like a plane which then took of @ 6.30am. Airport is very close..Revelers kept us awake most of the night and then the Cleaning staff started, boy can the yack... Didn't eat there so can't comment. Reception was pretty non plussed when we mentioned the noise issues.. I guess you get what you pay for...won't be back.
To be fair it is in a good location, a good walk to Jetty Road and I like a walk after dinner.. There are some good restaurants along the marina.

Room Tip: if you really must.. insist on the rooms facing the street probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked over the phone and paid extra for a Marina View room. The room turned out to be on the ground floor so we would have kept the curtains closed for privacy - but also a tall car was parked immediately in front of our window blocking any view. The traffic noise was also very loud so we switched rooms to non-Marina View - but they insisted on charging the same price. Otherwise, the room and facilities were fine, and the motel is in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was one of the many stops we had while touring VIC, SA and NSW and we stayed 3 days in this accommodation. It was close to most facilities, with a bit of walking or tram, and the rooms were clean, tidy and well serviced - although starting to show a bit of wear and age. Staff were friendly and the dining rooms were also reasonably priced and a good array of meals. Parking is good and basically right at your door.

Room Tip: Keep away from the rooms facing the main traffic area - Which unfortunately faces onto the marina an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwrd to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

this is simply a car hotel- where you can drive and park at the door of your room, at $160 per night there are far, far better options in Glenelg. This is a $90 hotel max.
This hotel states that is close to the cafes etc but you will need to walk a long way to get to the main area of Glenelg. It is not close.
It was very noisy- as can be expected when cars depart each 30 minutes throughout the night and they are parked at your door, and smokers sit out front of their rooms and chat.
I was surprised to see a car hotel that still exists in a big city- such a rarity and to be avoided next time.
The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.

Our hotel offers some very competitive rates , offten as low as $99 during the off peak period. During Feburary and of course "Mad March" with Adelaide hosting three major events our rates do reflect this peak time but are still very reasonable compared to our local competitors.

In regards to the parking, being able to park off the street and close to your room for no extra cost is a great advantage in this busy area. Most Glenelg Hotels are charging over $20 per day for parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Came here for a conference. Expected the worse after reading some of the comments here.
Fair enough, it is a bit dated but if you get good price theres nothing to complain about. Check in was fast and friendly. Motel room a good size, well equipped & very comfortable bed.
Breakfast is bain-marie style for the hot food which I usually hate but the food here was cooked about right, and best of all it was kept hot; better than I have had in many 5 star hotels in quality (not in choice).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Our hot buffet breakfast is very popular with our guests/locals and at a reasonable price too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We (my boyfriend and i) recently spent one night at the Comfort Inn as we had a very early flight and live over an hour away from the airport.

Anyway, we booked last minute through booking.com and as we were checking in late and out early we just booked the basic "standard double room" for $98.00. So we were'nt expecting much, just a basic room with a bed and a shower, no view or luxuries...

Well, we were completely blown away!! It was fantastic! The staff were all very lovely and friendly. Which always starts things on a good note. We ended up with a room right at the front of the place with a 180 degree view of the marina! The only thing seperating us from the water was a road! So that was a nice suprise.

The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on! The bathroom, although a little out-dated visually was clean with excellent hot water and good pressure. Perfect lighting too.

The tv was fairly large for a hotel room with a few foxtel channels, including a movie channel which is a huge plus in my opinion. There was a bar fridge with the usual tea, coffee etc. And free wifi! Gotta love a room with free internet. There were also current issues of a few magazines which was a nice.

As for location, like I said previously, we were right by the marina so views were superb. Its about a 5 mintue walk to resturants and shops on the marina. About 10 minutes to Moseley Square and the beach. For 98 bucks we were thrilled, especially when if you were to stay in one of the hotels around 1km up the road it would cost you around $300. The airport is only about 7 minutes away, with Harbor Town 5 minutes.


We are only sorry that we were'nt there long enough to experience the resturuant, room service and pool area. We will definately be back! Exellent value for money and A1 location! It goes above and beyond my expectations of a hundred dollar basic room. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Emma & Darcy

Room Tip: Ask for room 222 (which was a nice suprise as that is my favourite number) Excellent views! Comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Haven Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Address: 6-10 Adelphi Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Haven Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Haven Marina welcomes you with a familiar face and a friendly smile. We are a 68 room boutique style property, conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Reception is open from 6am - 11pm.Our in-house Restaurant Plank Kitchen & Bar opens out onto the deck overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Plank Kitchen & Bar offers quality Modern Australian Cuisine, with an extensive Wine List including South Australian wines and great service ensuring a memorable dining experience.All rooms have Foxtel, internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, guest laundry on site, function and conference facilities with complimentary on-site parking.Just 5 mins walk to Glenelg, 10 mins drive to the airport & 20 mins drive to Adelaide City Centre.Glenelg beach is only a 2 minute stroll, with Jetty Rd offering great shopping, dining and nightlife. Trams depart from Jetty Rd every 20 mins to Adelaide City Centre and the Entertainment Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Haven Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Haven Marina Hotel Glenelg
Comfort Inn Glenelg
Glenelg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Haven Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.