We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but nothing great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Haven Marina to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   6-10 Adelphi Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Jindabyne, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“ok but nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

this is simply a car hotel- where you can drive and park at the door of your room, at $160 per night there are far, far better options in Glenelg. This is a $90 hotel max.
This hotel states that is close to the cafes etc but you will need to walk a long way to get to the main area of Glenelg. It is not close.
It was very noisy- as can be expected when cars depart each 30 minutes throughout the night and they are parked at your door, and smokers sit out front of their rooms and chat.
I was surprised to see a car hotel that still exists in a big city- such a rarity and to be avoided next time.
The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.

Our hotel offers some very competitive rates , offten as low as $99 during the off peak period. During Feburary and of course "Mad March" with Adelaide hosting three major events our rates do reflect this peak time but are still very reasonable compared to our local competitors.

In regards to the parking, being able to park off the street and close to your room for no extra cost is a great advantage in this busy area. Most Glenelg Hotels are charging over $20 per day for parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
32
55
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Came here for a conference. Expected the worse after reading some of the comments here.
Fair enough, it is a bit dated but if you get good price theres nothing to complain about. Check in was fast and friendly. Motel room a good size, well equipped & very comfortable bed.
Breakfast is bain-marie style for the hot food which I usually hate but the food here was cooked about right, and best of all it was kept hot; better than I have had in many 5 star hotels in quality (not in choice).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Our hot buffet breakfast is very popular with our guests/locals and at a reasonable price too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We (my boyfriend and i) recently spent one night at the Comfort Inn as we had a very early flight and live over an hour away from the airport.

Anyway, we booked last minute through booking.com and as we were checking in late and out early we just booked the basic "standard double room" for $98.00. So we were'nt expecting much, just a basic room with a bed and a shower, no view or luxuries...

Well, we were completely blown away!! It was fantastic! The staff were all very lovely and friendly. Which always starts things on a good note. We ended up with a room right at the front of the place with a 180 degree view of the marina! The only thing seperating us from the water was a road! So that was a nice suprise.

The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on! The bathroom, although a little out-dated visually was clean with excellent hot water and good pressure. Perfect lighting too.

The tv was fairly large for a hotel room with a few foxtel channels, including a movie channel which is a huge plus in my opinion. There was a bar fridge with the usual tea, coffee etc. And free wifi! Gotta love a room with free internet. There were also current issues of a few magazines which was a nice.

As for location, like I said previously, we were right by the marina so views were superb. Its about a 5 mintue walk to resturants and shops on the marina. About 10 minutes to Moseley Square and the beach. For 98 bucks we were thrilled, especially when if you were to stay in one of the hotels around 1km up the road it would cost you around $300. The airport is only about 7 minutes away, with Harbor Town 5 minutes.


We are only sorry that we were'nt there long enough to experience the resturuant, room service and pool area. We will definately be back! Exellent value for money and A1 location! It goes above and beyond my expectations of a hundred dollar basic room. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Emma & Darcy

Room Tip: Ask for room 222 (which was a nice suprise as that is my favourite number) Excellent views! Comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semaphore, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and as we were dining at Sammy's at the Marina we thought it might be a nice idea to stay over at The Haven Marina for the night. When my husband went to book he told the receptionist it was a special occasion, as there was no Marina view rooms, he thought he must be in the garden view rooms he could see from reception. When we arrived we were directed to the side of the motel and discovered a small old budget motel room which needed to be knocked down and rebuilt to the expectations of people living in the 21st century. Needless to say we were very disappointed having to spend a special night in such a below standard accommodation, especially in such a premium tourist precinct as Glenelg. The tarriff for this room was on special at $139 not including breakfast!!!!!!! I must admit the room was clean and the staff friendly and apologetic about the accommodation.
Carolyn Amos

Room Tip: Do not book or accept a standard room off of side street next to Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful

With 2 kids we arrived extremely tired at 10 am , asked if we could checkin early as we were exhausted , the room was ready so staff only too happy to help

Room was very clean , dated but satisfactory

Pool nice for kids , hotel is by the marina so nice setting

We didnt eat at the hotel as food was too pricey for a family of 4 , we ate in glenelg plenty of pricey restaurants if thats what you want but reasonable ones too

Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for leaving us your feedback, were glad you enjoyed your short time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Needed a cheap & cheerful hotel room for 3 adults (Mum,Dad & adult daughter). We were meeting up with friends on a visit from Perth. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom/toiletries sufficient. Very handy to all that Glenelg has to offer. The staff I dealt with we're vey friendly & efficient. Would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback.

We have a great team here at the Haven who are very customer service focussed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mildura
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

basic three star motel this is a dog friendly motel if you like dog-s hit in the pool restrarant area
outher states have laws against this.the restaurant is ok for a drink but a bit expensive for a boy from the bush

Room Tip: stayed for three nights motel basic but it is dog frendly if you like dog-s hit in the pool area it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. One of our propertys unique features is that we are “pet friendly” however we only have 4 dedicated pet friendly accommodation rooms available. We do not allow dogs into our restaurant or pool, so unfortunately a guest must have ignored the signs displayed in our pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Haven Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Address: 6-10 Adelphi Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Haven Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Haven Marina is a 68 room property that welcomes you with a familiar face and friendly smile! We are conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Overview copy The Comfort Inn Haven Marina welcomes you with a familiar face and friendly smile! We are conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. A 5 minute stroll will get you to the beach and Jetty Road which offers great shopping, dining and nightlife. Comfort Inn Haven Marina is a 68 room property with complimentary on-site parking. All rooms include complimentary WiFi internet and Foxtel. Our in-house Restaurant Plank Kitchen & Bar opens out onto the deck overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Plank Kitchen & Bar offers quality Modern Australian Cuisine, with an extensive Wine List including South Australian wines and great service ensuring a memorable dining experience. Conferencing is made easy with our professional and friendly approach, fabulous menus and flexibility to tailor make an event to suit your requirements. Reception is open from 6am-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Haven Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Haven Marina Hotel Glenelg
Comfort Inn Glenelg
Glenelg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Haven Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.