We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You only pay for location... not service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You only pay for location... not service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed here last year with my mother and partner for a week. We chose this hotel because of it's great location and because it offers 2 bedroom apartments. We booked online where it confirmed a 2 bedroom water view apartment. However when we arrived we had to go onto the balcony and poke our heads around the corner to see the water... hardly water view.
We also wanted to use the indoor swimming pool which had a maintenance sign on the door saying it was closed for repair. I went to reception to ask when the pool would be in operation again (I was thinking a couple of days max) and the girl was incredibly unhelpful saying she 'thinks' it could be around 3-4 months! I don't know how you could run such a large hotel and have facilities closed for that long. Especially since having a pool/spa is a drawcard for people to chose a particular hotel. Also doesn't help that the staff had no idea what was going on after waiting 10 minutes at the desk for a staff member.
We had our room made up every morning and the bed making was terrible, the last day we just did it ourselves as we did a neater job.
My sister had stayed in a one bedroom apartment here previously and had no problems so I am unsure whether we were just unlucky or perhaps because that was a different area of the hotel. Their room was modern and had great facilities whereas ours was so outdated with only one 2 seater couch for a two bedroom apartment... pressumably you would have more than two people in the apartment so there was really nowhere to sit. We ended up watching tv from the dining table or sitting on the floor.
You are really just paying for location here, nothing else. If you want to be right on the beach and walking distance to everything then it is great otherwise try somewhere else. I must admit the only reason I'd stay here again is the location and it's cheaper than other beachfront accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    193
    80
    49
    36
See reviews for
84
171
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights ot Glenelg Oaks Plaza Hotel with great weather conditions and enjoyed 2 bedroom apartment with ocean view for $247.00 per one night - compare the other accomodations on Great Ocean Road the cheapest rate at all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

To start with we were told that car parking was $16 per night however that was not in the secure hotel park but in the open public carpark—which is hit & miss as to whether you'll actually get a park or be able to return to a spot if you have to go out. Not to mention that Glenelg is known for its hoons leaving your vehicle at higher risk. We were told that the hotel parking was $19/night. When we decided that we didn't want to take the risk the public park the reception girl said that we couldn't use the hotel park because it was full of permanent residents parking. A look through the gates suggested that there were plenty of empty spaces. Were we 'marked' because we got a good rate through HotelClub? It certainly felt like it.

If you want a nice relaxed swim in the pool forget it. This hotel is family city. We went down to find 30 kids screaming and bomb-diving in the pool unsupervised. It also meant we gave up on using the attached sauna & gym as well. The carpet from the pool back to the lifts was saturated and as this area is enclosed the air was thick with chlorine.

Dinner in the restaurant is odd with access to the beach coming down through the centre. This means you could be enjoying your meal with a sandy, noisy family walking back through.

The rooms are ok but the TV's are chunky and the washer/dryer is unreliable. Ours just stopped mid cycle and didn't allow us to open the door. We had to call for someone to look at it. After waiting more than an hour for someone to turn up we had to leave hoping that the issue would be solved once we returned. Yes someone had been in but they left our clothes in a wet, smelling heap instead of setting them to dry. I had to make an emergency button repair and there were no mini sewing kits in the apartment or in the hotel when we asked reception. This is basic stuff and doesn't cost much to have available? The other problem was that most apartment style hotels are very close to a supermarket or 7-11 for gathering supplies. This one is close to cafes but not to 'self-catering' facilities.

The showers are also useless with a mini glass screen that does nothing to stop water ending up all over the toilet & bathroom floor. We found we had to squish into one corner of the shower/bath only to still have to mop up the excess water each time. And don't think you get extra bath mats or towels for this purpose. You only get the standard one each. Being a beach-side hotel you would think that they would supply extras as a given?

We had requested a non-smoking room however with the balconies being exposed, close and without privacy we were getting all the smoke from other guests wafting through our room.

In general the staff were thin on the ground, disinterested and unhelpful. We thought that as prices were higher this would be a better quality hotel than the Oaks across the road. Not so.

How many stars does this place have??

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed 2 floors up. Beachfront 1 bedroom apartment, and i mean beachfront, you go on your balcony and look over the edge its sand. Room wasnt that huge, but had a glass wall and glass sliding door that seperated the bedroom from the kitchenette and lounge area. We stayed for 3 days and the weather was just getting warmer as we left. Beautiful sunsets and clear mornings. Bathroom and furnishings were modern. Very large gymnasium and indoor heated pool and spa area. There was restaurants downstairs for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very happy with this stay and would stay again anytime. Parking was a bummer, you had to get a pre paid ticket downstairs for about $16 a 24 hr day, we were late and had a $40 fine which made our parking even more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I travelled over for one night to stay at the oaks plaza pier as I had friends staying there at the same time. Checkin was painless and easy. We parked our car here for about $16 per night which I thought was reasonable. I booked a one bedroom apartment and it had all that I needed, the bathroom was a good size and the balcony is a little larger than the usual which was a bonus. I would definately stay here again and am already planning another trip in January.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I stay here when i visit Adelaide on business. The studio apartment rooms are nice.
Not expensive and is very relaxing after a days work.

Bedding quality needs to improve, other then that it is a thumbs up for me

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel had the best location in Glenelg Beach, Adelaide, overlooking the beach. The view from our room was amazing !! The room was very clean and nice, but they were painting and doing some reconstructions in the hotel at the time, and they were making a LOT of noise since very early in the morning (prior to 7 am), interrupting the guest´s sleep. This was annoying, and nobody in the hotel warned us about this ahead of time, and certainly no special fee due to this. No free Wifi.
Other than this, the bar and restaurants are very nice, and, as stated before, the location is really great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.