We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total lack of customer service.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Total lack of customer service.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

We made a reservation for a 2 bedroom unit, on the beach side of the hotel in July, for 2 nights in December. This was a confirmed reservation, with 24 hour check-in (we drove from Melbourne that morning)...
Upon our arrival we were informed that our room was not available. They had no options prepared for us, "just sorry room not available." There was an alleged mishap with housekeeping, saying that someone had "trashed" a few rooms the night prior. This explanation may have been true.. However, it is doubtful that a hotel of this size and alleged calibre would not be able to get rooms sorted out in time.
After getting angry, upset, frustrated et cetera. The best they could offer was two rooms at the back of their other property across the street. Given that we were tired from driving all day we had little choice but to accept their offer and asked them to provide dinner & breakfast as well. They did this, but no further refund was offered or available. A two bedroom unit over looking the beach was replaced with two small rooms looking towards the Adelaide Hills... not what we paid for!
They guaranteed us a beach side room for our second night, so we had to re-pack and bring our luggage across the next day. Upon going to check-in, they offered us a 2 bedroom unit looking, not at the beach, but back towards the city. After getting upset again, they managed to find the room we originally booked.
While we did have a place to stay, this was a terrible and stressful start to our holiday. The staff had no compassion for the position they put me and my family in. It was truly shameful for a hotel with so much potential to not take care of its guests, especially those who have booked five months in advance. The only positive note on this place was the location.... I would recommend people stay anywhere but the Oaks Plaza Pier, in you want to be in Glenelg.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Service!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    219
    92
    53
    40
See reviews for
96
202
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and have to say we will be back for next Xmas. I am from Adelaide and decided for Xmas day (2 days in total) we would spend it at Glenelg. As all the Seaview rooms were booked out I had to take a City view Room, however on arrival a lovely guy at reception gave us a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor with fantastic seaviews (the sound of the ocean was great). It was roomy, excellent kitchen which came in handy for our xmas feast as well as our friends who came over the next day. The biggest suprise was that the 2 bedroom apartment was actually two separate rooms (with separate entrances, was you went through the intial door) and our 18yo loved this as she was able to go out to Glenelg without disturbing us :-) I thought the pool/sauna area was good and very clean. The staff were friendly at check-in and out. The only thing i would gripe about is their on-site restraunts have very rude staff, we were left waiting at the 'to be seated sign' and as it was probably close to closing time we were ignored for over 10mins b4 we finally decided to leave and all we actually wanted was some take-away to our room (staff could see us and even walked by). Plenty of places though are available on Jetty Rd and up the end of Oaks Pier. We had Breakfast delivered in our room and I thought it was great (needed to be a bit hotter though). Apartment though FANTASTIC and we will return.


  • Liked — The Seaview
  • Disliked — Their rude staff in the Cafe'/Restraunt on-site
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a Sea view 3rd floor or above
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

I stay here on business, even though it's out of town. Location is excellent and there are some nice restaurants around the area.

I've never been disappointed at this hotel. Everything is new and well maintained. Rooms are excellent.

If I get the opportunity to go to Adelaide on pleasure I would have no hesitation about booking here, in fact I wouldn't book anywhere else.

I've stayed a few times down the road at the Stamford Grand ... unfortunately it's Grand in name only. I've had a range of rooms including the ocean facing balcony rooms. Give in a miss and stay here !!

Anyway, that's my view !!

  • Liked — The rooms, the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

This hotel has so much going for it location-wise, which is why (as an ex-Adelaide resident) I was prepared to pay more to stay at the beach rather than in town. It's right on the beach, there's easy access to town via the tram (even if they are now modern, not the more picturesque trams of old), it's near the new cafes and the marina.

But our "ocean view" room turned out to have a glimpse of sea between two buildings. (We could see the marina, however, so if you like looking at other people's boats...)

The coffee shop downstairs was rarely open. Fortunately there are plenty of coffee shops a short walk away. The Asian food restaurant downstairs was good - although service was incredibly slow it was friendly.

The 1-bedroom apartment we were in was fine - a bit tacky with its white "leatherette" sofa, but a good size living room, clever kitchen with everything you need including a washer-dryer and dishwasher. The bathroom was hopelessly designed - shower over the bath was disappointing.

But the biggest problem was the nightclub downstairs - when the music struck up on the Saturday night the sliding doors of our bedroom began to shake. Despite several complaints, the staff said there was nothing they could do. When we complained again when checking out in the morning we were informed that the staff hadn't been able to sleep either. There was no understanding of the concept that we had actually been paying TO sleep, while they were being paid NOT to sleep. They gave us a free coffee by way of compensation.

So no, I'll never stay there again. Which is a shame, because this hotel should have a lot going for it.

  • Liked — The washing machine
  • Disliked — The night club - couldn't sleep
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lech, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

We spent 1 week here in May 2006. 2 adults & 2 kids. We are travelling from europe so i was pleased with the 2 bedroom appartment as it contained all that we needed. Tea, coffee , washing machine with powder. The appartments are modern but do look like some of the couches should be recovered. There is also internet access in the rooms although we were not able to get ours to work.
The appartment also had a lovely view of glenelg beach , but as it was low season there were lots of trucks on the beach doing some sort of renovation.
Pool was great and it is also very easy to get into Town with the tram.
All together we were happy there.
If you arrive with a car you do have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

This is a hotel with modern design. Room is clean, spacious, cooking and laundry facilities are just great!

There is a small pool and gym at 2nd floor. The pool is at best good for 2 to 3 families for water play coz swimming will be a problem.

Be aware tho, becoz of it's near-sea location, it the price is a little steeper than those in the city. Parking is 12 bucks a day. Again, 2 streets off ANZ HW, free parking is available from 5pm to 8am next day. The choice is yours.

We saw sunset while strolling along the windy beach just outside the hotel. The property is a little walk to the reowned Jetty Road where all the happenings are.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

My family and I stayed in this hotel last year during the city-bay fun run.
The hotel room was gorgeous, it was very large and spacious and beautifully decorated, and the spa/sauna/gym and pool was great! The spa is not huge so it we didn't get to use it much, but everything else was great! The pool is large and very clean, the two saunas were also clean and the gym was very modern and had lots of equipment.
The hotel staff seemed very nice, they were very helpful when we spoke to them.
I'd definitely stay again and highly reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 Business Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.