We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We recently stayed here 5 nights, location was perfect easy walk to anywhere, the one bedroom apartment we booked was clean and well laid out, we had requested a high floor on our booking but were put on the first floor and had no view which was a real shame seeing as it was bad weather most of the time so the room was very dark as no real natural light got in. The bedroom was ample to just fit in a portacot for our 18month old. On the downside the room cleaning was not carried out very well on a daily basis and the staff at reception we found to be very unhelpful and quite rude at times.

Room Tip: Request not to be facing directly into the next apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartments. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment clean and well laid out. It is a shame to read that we were unable to fulfil your request of a higher level. When allocating rooms, we endeavour to meet everyone’s request however some instances this is not possible. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    193
    80
    49
    36
See reviews for
84
170
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week while over here for work. I must say that it was very enjoyable, only a few minor things that could be improved, eg maybe some complimentary bottles of water as I found tap water to have an extremely strong taste of chlorine. Rooms were clean, well presented & aside from other comments I have read I found staff to be rather friendly... All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your room was clean and well presented. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I travel a bit for work so I have a bench mark for what constitutes a minimum adequate standard of service. We had an ocean view appartment which cost over AUD200 and I must see the view was great. That was the only great part. Firstly reception was very perfunctory and we were asked to lodge a AUD150 bond on a pre paid room (did I look like a crook) which I have never been asked to do before. Next no wifi, who carries 3kg lap tops around these days. Next extremely uncomfortable bed and pillows. No morning papers, "You can go to Jetty Road sir". Tradies working in the dining room during breakfast service. Allegedly foxtel in the room but no instructions or guides. It could be great but was cr*p, as I said a country motel would not get away with this. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is disappointing to read of the issues you experienced while staying with us. We apologise for the confusion in regards to the bond for your room. This is processed as a credit card pre-authorisation, the bank places a hold on funds. Depending on the card issuer this will automatically release within 10 working days. We apologise if this was not communicated to you correctly. We are currently in the process of issuing all rooms with instructions for the use of Foxtel. Our reception staff are on hand to for guests who may require help finding the Foxtel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was neat and tidy, kitchen facilities were handy. Bed was comfortable and loved the view from the balcony. Bathroom was shower over bath and the water pressure was very poor, other than that our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased you found your room neat and tidy with a comfortable bed and great view. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Very poor service customer service, from checkin through to checkout. Staff actually got rude when we asked about carparking!

Reception and duty manager phones just rang out and when reception did answer i hung up after 7 minutes of being on hold.

No inhouse movies, remotes don't match devices, no tv guide, no room service menu, mould in the bathroom grout, all this and more for your hard earned money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is concerning to read of your experiences while staying with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss the matters with you further, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom ocean view apartment for one night with my parter. Our apartment on Level 2 was perfect with a beautiful view right on the beach. The apartment itself was a reasonable size, well cleaned & adequate kitchen/cooking facilities. The bed was comfortable. Water flow in the shower was good - the only thing I can fault was that the shower screen was not very effective in that the bathroom floor would end up with water all over it from the shower...but this dried up pretty quickly - i was more concerned about it being a safety hazard (slipping etc) more than anything.
Sleep quality was fantastic - not one bit of noise from neighbouring rooms & no disruptions from outside. Staff at the reception were helpful & efficient.
Overall, a very relaxing & excellent stay. I have stayed at other Oaks hotels in Adelaide and this one was by far the best for me. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Request rooms on a higher level during the summer season to avoid noise disruptions at night from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn F, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read that you found your ocean view apartment a reasonable size and well cleaned. We are pleased you found our staff friendly and you had an excellent and relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had stayed there once before. It's an ok hotel. Small room. Nothing to rave about. Nice location on the beach. Close to resturaunts. The shower was Mouldy and the room was small and average. Bed was hard. It's ok for somewhere to just sleep but not a comfortable inviting hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is disappointing to read some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager for their attention. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.