We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but good for price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Motor Inn

Taft Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Taft Motor Inn to your Saves list
Taft Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18 Moseley Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Adelaide
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average but good for price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We recently attended a wedding and were in need of accommodation for one night (a public holiday on the monday) and all the other hotels in glenelg wanted a 2 night minimum so they were good in the fact that we could just stay the one night. The rooms are a little outdated but ok for a quick place to sleep. Our parents babysat the children at the hotel while we attended the wedding. The staff can provide portacots, highchairs and baby baths which was also a bonus. Checkin was at 2pm however as we had the wedding to attend we were able to get in at 12pm without extra charge. The beds were only doubles which were a little small i thought that it was ok comfortable wise but my fellow travellers didnt like the beds at all. Apartments included kitchen with stove, microwave, kettle, toaster etc. Great location, Great service and good value but if you were staying for a long time i would reccommend another newer apartment complex in glenelg.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

the hosts are very accomodating. Clean and comfortable.Wouldn't stay any where else

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We were impressed by friendly service, lovely people, though slow to come to office through the day. Free continental breakfast (juice, cereal, toast) could come at a nominated time or the night before, which we preferred. We had 2 single beds (not needed) and only two chairs at the small dining table, which was all we needed, but one extra, more padded chair only for sitting in to read, etc. Had we needed an extra chair, it would have been available, perhaps. Complimentary toiletries, etc replenished when needed, and coffee, tea, UHT mild, all topped up adequately every day. We made our own bed because the one day we didn't, it wasn't done too well. The blankets were warm enough, though worn-looking in places. The mattress was overdue for replacement, though we were not so uncomfortable that we didn't renew our booking for 2 extra nights for family reasons. Plenty of pillows in room, though only one each plus 2 spares, so if 4 people had used room there weren't enough spares. Given lack of sitting-in chairs this seems an oversight, but a small quibble. Very short walk to main area of Glenelg, tidy grounds, swimming pool for adults separate from children's one, which would be good in summer. Microwave in room, which was a welcome bonus. All in all a good experience - there is plenty to see in Glenelg, and trams and buses to city very close to motel. Glenelg pizza bar (opposite church) is EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

The accomodation was recently renovated but nothing exciting. The 2 bedroom we had came with a jacuzi but there's no door lock to the toilet!

The beds were comfortable and the rooms come with remote control ceiling fan/light.

The kitchen was reasonably size but the trash left by the previous occupant was not cleared.

Otherwise, it is very near to the beach, shopping & dining strip. The bus to/from the airport stops just 2 mins walk away.

  • Liked — Clean & convenient
  • Disliked — Rubbish in the kitchen bin left by previous occupant was not cleared
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taft Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Motor Inn

Address: 18 Moseley Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taft Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Taft Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.