We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy, dirty and over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Grand Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Grand Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“noisy, dirty and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Stamford Grand 2 nights ago - by far the worst hotel experience we have had, the car park was difficult to locate and a hassle to get luggage to the hotel entrance, parking was an additional $15 to the room rate of $190 $$$$$!. Staff on reception seemed hassled by us wanting to merely check in. The hall way on our floor was littered with dirty plates with half eaten food waiting for collection by cleaning staff (it was there all night and the next morning). The air conditioner sounded like a 747 and the noise coming from the clubs and pubs (on a Sunday night) lasted till 4am Monday morning. The walls and door glass are paper thin. The toilet cistern would run continuously unless we manually removed the cover and adjusted it!. The hotel is run down and in need of an extreme make over to get to this decade. Room service prices unrealistic. Total disappointment, far from relaxing and a dreadful experience. Would never stay in a Stamford hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Stamford Grand Adelaide is constantly updating and developing its services and facilities. Therefore, comments like these allow us to see where we need to improve further and we will certainly take your comments under consideration.

Please be assured that everything that you mentioned have been referred to the Department Heads concerned for immediate corrective action.
We regret that our facilities and services did not meet your expectations. We will surely follow it up and try to locate our weaknesses in order to improve.

Thank you once more for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the hope of restoring your faith in us.

Kind Regards

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    241
    158
    67
    36
See reviews for
96
274
28
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as we attended a family members wedding at the venue. Upon arrival we checked into our room which had been booked via lastminute.com to find that we were upgraded to a massive room that resembled more of a suite than one of their budget rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and the room was wel appointed and extremely spacious. We had a lovely balcony which unfortunately had a view of the carpark, but as our visit was only for one night that was ok.

Very impressive overall, the wedding was also well facilitated by staff and the venue was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 27, 2010
Dear Guest,
We always appreciate the time taken by our guests to write and advise of their experience within the Hotel, as it provides us with an opportunity to ascertain the areas that can be improved or where we are exceeding the customer’s expectations. I will certainly ensure that the staff here are informed of your comments.
Thank you for your time and I trust that we may look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Stamford Grand Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon travels in Australia. First time in Adelaide for both of us. Booked through mystery hotels website by my friend who lives in Melbourne. She recommended it for good hotels on the cheap with last minute deals.
We got our room for 2 nights for approx half the published price, and were very happy with what we found.
Upon arrival the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room overlooked the city and had a MASSIVE bed. Fully stocked mini bar which was sooo hard to resist.
Amazing power shower, my husband still says it's the best shower he's ever experienced. Clean, large, roomy, tidy and very comfortable room.
The hotel boasted an outdoor spa and pool area, but unfortunately during our stay Adelaide was experiencing high winds and plenty of rain, so the hotel closed those facilities, much to our disappointment.
We had received a free drink voucher as part of our booking deal so used it in one of the hotel's comfortable and cosy bars. Being the Australian winter, everywhere was rather quiet so we ventured out to Glen Elg on our first night and had a tasty chinese meal. After spending the next day in the city (the geln elg tram is great fun and only half an hour ride into the city). We returned to try the indian restaurant based in the hotel itself. Unfortunately, as is common in Australia, brown chicken meat is the norm and I was unable to eat my order of chicken tikka masala (the sauce incidentally tasted nothing like tikka massala) as brown meat makes me retch. That was the only negative thing I could say about the place and I didn't let it ruin my visit.
Adelaide is a lovely city and I certainly plan to return there, hopefully with some better weather. Glen Elg is a beautiful and sedate suburb and if you can get a cheap deal, certainly try and stay at this hotel, it's position on the seafront is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Congratulations again on your recent marriage! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay even though the inclement weather prevented your use of our pool deck.
Just wanted to let you know that Gandhi's Café, whilst within the hotel, is an independently owned and run restaurant. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the operators regarding your dining experience.
Looking forward to have you visit us again and enjoy the beautiful Glenelg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Stamford Grand for 1 night before we could check into our apartment the next day. We got a great deal on Wotif which included valet parking, which is needed in Glenelg, late check out, 2 for 1 breakfast buffet. The room was nice with a city view. The hotel sits on the beach and we asked at check in if we could be upgraded to an ocean view but were told that they were full. But....for $50 we could get an ocean view room. Glenelg is a pocket of energy, a much smaller version of Venice Beach in Los Angeles. Had great eggs benedict and mexician food. Did some shopping and people watching.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Had the pleasure of spending 4 nights, enjoyed the room and the views. Close to everything you could need. Highly recomend. Lovely beach. Too cold when we were there though. Did prime tours to the wineries which made up for the cool weather.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We only stayed for the one night, but I wished we were here longer. The location is perfect and the view is amazing. It is an older hotel, and has classic decorating and we much preferred it to the ultra-modern shiny rooms that we have stayed in at other times. We found it to be very quiet, comfortable and the bed was large and we had one of the best nights sleep on our holiday. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of hot food and fresh fruit available, and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hi stayed for one night and have been before and found the location great, however it is being left behind by not upgrading, 5 stars you expect a good sleep with quality towels and bed linen and mattress - not provided by this hotel. old small TV with limited channels pin board in the room with advertising stuck on with tacks NOT rather tacky, breakfast boring, great location

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Address: Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Grand Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.