We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Grand Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Grand Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed there for business last Tuesday. Has a beautiful beach right in front of the hotel. Service was excellent, yet the price was competitive. I'd strongly recommend this hotel over any other hotels within the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    240
    157
    67
    36
See reviews for
96
273
28
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Such a beautiful location and entrance, but what a let down in the rooms, hallways etc.
Staying at a lot of hotels, resorts etc, this has to be one of the worst in terms of luxury for what you pay. I cant believe that there is not even plasmas in the rooms, what is the grand spending their money on. What a rip off to charge a $6.50 tray charge for room service, have never seen one that high. The interior is very boring, please think about refreshing yourselfs, what an embarassment for tourists coming to stay here. I would stay in the city and tram it to glenelg next time. I will compliment the staff though, all lovely, concierge fantastic. Please re think grand and take a look at how old you have become.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My first visit to the Stamford Grand in Adelaide and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in for location, right on the beach and the sundowners are the best. Friendly staff, good food, and spacious rooms. 20 minute tram ride to the city and close to the airport. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Booked online for May 09 stay..no probs there. Had a few questions so emailed these through and the girls were very helpful although 1 enquiry took a couple of days before someone responded to it. Had read previous reviews about bathrooms being average and unfortunately they were. Bathrooms are probably the most impt. thing for us when staying at a hotel and although we were told all bathrooms had been 'refurbished', this probably meant that all bathrooms had been re-grouted and the vanity basins were replaced because other than that the rest of the bathroom looked fairly dated. The shower was in the bath which we don't like but that wasn't a big deal. The beds were comfy enough until we had to sleep in them...nothing wrong with beds themselves but the pillows were awful! My husband actually gave up and just stayed up watching the tennis on tv all night because he couldn't get comfortable with the pillows (they were very high pillows). I managed to get some sleep but felt very sorry for hubby.

TV's were old, the buttons on the tv didn't work in our room so unless we had the remote with us couldn't turn volume up and down as required. There was a balcony in our room which was nice but too cold on our particular stay to open it.

Full buffet brekky was included in our stay and it was ok. They had hash browns, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausages and tomatoes as well as yoghurt, cereal, muffins, croissants, toast, various juices, tea and coffee and fresh fruits. If it weren't included in our package we most definitley would not have paid $30 odd bucks for the brekky. Definitely not worth that! At $30 per person you'll be gauranteed a pretty top notch main course meal at a high end restuarant somewhere in Adelaide...certainly not worth that for Brekky...espeically when it wasn't the best nor biggest spread.

All in all it was an ok stay but 1 night was long enough for us. Maybe we have high standards compared to most??

Service was excellent though so can't fault them there.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Spent a night there to celebrate my birthday. Has a grand entrance. Stayed in a room that overlooked the ocean. Beautiful sunset view. Restaurant had a wide selection of different cuisine. I paid $250 for the room and felt that it was money well spent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

This hotel is located at one of the best spots in Adelaide. Had beautiful beach views from my extra large room. The staff were frienldly and the service very good. Make sure you dine in the Promenade restaurant and take in all that this beach side location has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed only for a night but were very impressed with the standard of service and quality of accomodation at The Stamford Grand Hotel, Adelaide. We walked into the hotel with no reservation, but the staff was very accomodating. A junior suite was found for us with fantastic views over the city and the sea. Although we were early, we were allowed to check into our room early which just goes to show how fantastic the quality of service is at this hotel.

The hotel is located right smack on Jetty Road, where the happening is. The hotel even offered Asian cuisine at its Rickshaw Cafe. The staff - from the conceirge right up to the housekeeping maid were very friendly and helpful, even when I insisted bringing up our heavy luggage to repack! A very good stay indeed. I would recommend this hotel to honeymooners, and to those who want to get away from it all..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Address: Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Grand Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.