We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Grand Adelaide to your Saves list
Stamford Grand Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Clean and tidy rooms had a Great view of the ocean and perfect location for the beach and exploring the Main Street shops and restaurants. Rooms and the hotel is rather dated. Breakfast was good as expected. Okay for one night not sure what the non sea view rooms would be like.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear jemgri

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable. For your information you will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms and that we will also be upgrading our air conditioning units in our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    272
    181
    74
    37
See reviews for
110
310
31
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nuriootpa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Grand at Glenelg started out as THE place to stay in Adelaide. We've stayed many times, but this time will be the last.
Firstly, the room cost us a few dollars shy of $500 for two for 2 nights.
The foyer and it's surrounds need a darn good scrub! It's dusty, grotty, and tired!
The rooms although comfortable, had minor repairs unattended to, and the outside window showcasing the view of the Adelaide hills was so filthy we shut the drapes permanently!
The breakfast bar was uninviting, and the coffee machine not working, so we had filtered coffee and tea which tasted like it had been brewed a week ago!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jo R

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Our stunning, absolute beachfront position comes with one main drawback, and that is the sea spray on our guest room windows. We employ professional abseiling contractors to wash our windows regularly; however it is impossible to keep them clean and I concede that this does somewhat spoil the view.
I am disappointed that you found our breakfast service to be lacking during your visit, these concerns have been raised and addressed with my Food & Beverage Director.
Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed in many adelaide hotels and have always wanted to try the Grand to be near the beach and the foyer is so ...well grand! We were impressed that for an extra $1 we got parking and free breakfast but it was still very pricey for the tiny room we had, but we had a nice view.

Smallest bathroom i've ever seen in an aussie hotel, no point in getting a room with a bath 1 person can hardly fit. An update to the rooms would give them back so much life, instead of dart boards with flyers on them a few nice paintings would be nice. But if you want view of the beach in a good location while in Adelaide it's not to bad other then it's looks and lack of care to fix little things (lots of chipped paint everywhere, bathroom light literally hanging out of roof-we put it back in, toilet roll holder broken etc).

We were really pumped for a buffet breaky but after trying a selection of things wished we had gone to any of the nice restaurants next door. Worst concoction of 'scrambled eggs' i've ever had in my life, literally tasted like it was powdered egg with off milk, bacon and hash browns were rock solid and cold, not even slightly warm.

The late 11:00am checkout is good and we asked on short notice to extend it til 2:00pm which was only an extra $20 which was great.

Pool looked great and was nicely heated but didn't go in as there were lots of kids screaming in there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Misa O

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate our guest’s constructive feedback as it enables us to identify areas of our service and facilities that may be improved to address certain aspects of our operation that requires attention.

While I am pleased to read you were happy with majority of your stay, I am disappointed to read that your breakfast experience may not have been all that you expected. Rest assured I have addressed the issues you have raised with my Executive Chef to ensure these issues are addressed.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

View was great and everything else was terrible. 80's decor shabby and falling part. Rusted balconies, doors that are stuck, key cards that don't work, electrical sockets hanging off the wall and cheap cork boards on the wall of the bedroom. How this hotel is still 5 star is a joke? Somehow trading on name and no one has updated since 1980. Reservation and reception staff were rude to my wife - twice. Kept me waiting 10 mins. Restaurant staff very young and completely overwhelmed to no mgt in place. Obviously never going back - we left early and can not say too many things about how bad this place is.

Room Tip: only good thing is view on beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Martin S

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate our guest’s constructive feedback as it enables us to identify areas of our service and facilities that may be improved.

I am disappointed to read that your experience may not have been all that you expected, your feedback has granted us the opportunity to address certain aspects of our operation that obviously requires attention. Rest assured I have addressed the issues you have raised with my Management team to ensure these issues are addressed.

Martin, thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location. While it is not 5 star, the rooms are comfortable and the staff all very professional and helpful. This is a great option if you are travelling to or from the airport, as it is only a short drive. There is a great run down along the beach front, for those that like to get out.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must, however, please be aware that when it is windy, there is a loud whistl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Really liked the Stamford, it as a great location right on the beach and close to shops bars etc. the only thing I dislike was the cost of the WiFi, most large hotels now include it in the cost $25 is far to much.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Paul H

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am so pleased that you found your stay to be enjoyable and memorable.

I appreciate your comments about out WIFI pricing and we currently have this under review.
Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Comfortable rooms, with all the amenities you could want around the corner.

The 7 burger at the bar is great value (and taste - yum!)

Get a water facing room, for $30 well worth it. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Dee M

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am so pleased that you found your stay to be enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Address: Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glenelg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Grand Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.