We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert to die for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zucca

Zucca
Shop 5 Marina Pier | Holdfast Shores, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
08 83768222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 115 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $87
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Voted best Greek Restaurant in Australia 2010 is national restaurant & catering awards
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Desert to die for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had our works christmas luncheon at Zucca's. It was exceptional from start to finish. The staff were attentive but not over bearing. They were well informed regarding the menu. We had the mezze - several dishes to taste (similar to a chinese banquet) where you get to taste lots of little dishes. Delicious. The wine list was quite extensive and reasonable. The restaurant was not overly business and we lingered and enjoyed the view of the ocean. Even though we were full from all the Mezze we had to have desert - louokoumades - golden donuts soaked in warm honey syrup - to be honest I thought we would get one donut, not so we got about six and they were FANTASTIC. Coffee followed and then we had a little stroll along the marina. It was a delightful luncheon and I believe we all enjoyed it. Would gladly go again. Cost was reasonable for the cuisine and drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    58
    17
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had never eaten at Greek restaurant so I don't have anything to compare it to, but it was fantastic. The waiter we had works a few gigs and isn't a regular which mae his service even more impressive. If I owned a restaurant I would hire him. We wanted to order many dishes to share and the waiter assisted us in our choices (including choice of wine). He was spot on. The goat was fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Greek restauraunt in SA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Family meal here over Christmas, been here before and will be back again. Great food, great wines and great service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice long lunch on a sunny hot day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is a plus. Our table was towards the marina, which means you don't get sea views, but you get the fresh air as the place was opened right up to the marina, no wind, and a really lovely vista. The food was really good, not brilliant, but really good. We had goat, barramundi, steak for mains. The pork belly was the best of the mezze that we had. The service was excellent from the older person who was our main waiter. Towards the end we had a young person who didn't have the same level of experience or skill, so two different experiences. I would go back to this place, it was a really nice lunch and atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“certainly worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I shouldn't try to compare. My first experience of mezze was in London and what seemed like 30 small, and not so small, dishes came out in a procession over a period of 2 hours. There were things we loved and things we didn't. The wine flowed, and the bill was reasonable. In Cyprus and Crete even better being on the seafront and the ingredients were fresher. In Australia? Well, like tapas this is inevitably supersized and overpriced and the quality depends totally on the freshness and the size of your wallet. This is a generalisation and not a criticism of Zucca.

We ate here on Sunday lunch having booked online. We couldnt decide whether to sit inside or out but were not advised of the party for 30 which may have influeneced our decision. Actually we were happy to be amongst the 50th birthday celebrations and felt we were imposing rather than the other way around. Service and ambience were excellent. Food? Well, plenty of it. We had some standard dips of taramalasalata and chick pea (no houmous) and then 4 mezze plates, which were filling but an average of $18-20. The first, a really good halloumi and raisins was so sweet and salty (;ike xmas pudding) it killed our tatse buds for the delicate scallops in cauliflower puree which followed. The lamb dish was overcooked - in a Greek restaurant that isnt fantastic, and finally the octopus and beetroot was very good. Overall $140 for 2 (a nice Riesling accompanied the meal). It was good, not great. I would recommend it but not rave about it. . Lovely location and one of the best in the marina, but a bit of a let down to be frank.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zucca also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Zucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zucca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.