We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when visiting Adelaide this must be top of your to do list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temptation Sailing

Temptation Sailing
Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
0412 811 838
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$56*
and up
Ranked #5 of 16 Attractions in Glenelg
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“when visiting Adelaide this must be top of your to do list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just got back from swimming with Dolphins from Glenelg with these guys on the Temptation Catamaran.Absolutely fantastic morning trip north and south of Glenelg saw heaps of Dolphins and crew were amazing lookouts also great info on Dolphins from Barb.
this has got to be on everyone's bucket list.

Many thanks to crew for great trip

Colin

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    8
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Swimming with Dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an amazing experience. I was lucky to have a dolphin fully look right at me, as if saying hello. What an incredible experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Unique experience and a great day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've just had a truly memorable four-hour sail with the Temptation during which we were lucky enough to see numerous pods of dolphins, some swimming within feet of the boat. A real privilege and worth every penny.

I wondered why some reviewers had clearly not enjoyed their trip as much and some of it seems to come down to expectations. With luck you will be seeing wild dolphins who are moving around in their natural habitat - the sea - and not tame dolphins who will perform to order. I'm sure that the crew, whom we found to be charming, will do their best to provide you with a really good experience but there are inevitably variables that are outside their control, such as whether or not the dolphins want to play around the boat,in which case you get a really good look at them, or swim away quickly,in which case you don't. We saw both sorts of behaviour during our trip.

The Temptation is a twin-hulled catamaran purpose-built for dolphin cruises: it's not a luxury liner,so it's a good idea to take your own snacks,suntan cream,sunglasses, hat with a brim and a jumper as the sea breezes can be quite cooling. Apart from anything else, once you see dolphins around you, you won't want to move away from the deck in case you miss anything!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Temptation Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great morning on the Temptation Boat. Started off a little rough, as the wind strong and the sea was choppy, but after it calmed down, we got some great underwater view of the beautiful dolphins. At one point they were right next to the boat, and they even swan under us. If you ever want to swim with Dolphins, look no further.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed Temptation sailing, however before booking you should be aware that you are interacting with wild dolphins which means they don't come all that close and are scared off pretty easily. We saw a number of different pods (2-3 dolphins in each), and I was lucky enough to see them underwater at a distance of 2-3m away but many people on board didn't manage to catch a glimpse of them underwater (it's hard to know which direction to look in!) We found the crew professional and the facilities were great. I do agree with the other reviews in that the procedure for getting into the water is hectic and can be confusing, and it would be easy to misinterpret the crew's stern directions as being rude but they are really just trying to help everyone make the most of their day! If you have realistic expectations of interacting with wild creatures, you will enjoy this swim! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temptation Sailing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.