We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money Apartment, comfortable, close to transport & shops/supermarket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenelg Gateway Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenelg Gateway Apartments to your Saves list
Glenelg Gateway Apartments
35 Brighton Road, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good value for money Apartment, comfortable, close to transport & shops/supermarket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in May 2011. There are 8 apartments in the single building plus a large house at the front which is a separate building. All 8 apartments seem to have similar features. The apartment we used was upstairs at the rear of the building and had a adequate size balcony with a table & 2 chairs which got the afternoon sun. The inside consisted of 3 rooms, large lounge/kitchen/dining bench with 4 electric cooking hobs and a microwave oven, bedroom with queen sized bed shelving & wardrobe, and a very good size bathroom/toilet with a good shower. The advertised Internet connection worked well for us. The heating, if needed, also worked well. The location of the apartment was superb being only a very short walk to the tram station and a shopping centre containing supermarket, butcher, travel centre, Subway, greengrocer, and several other shops. This was important as being a non serviced apartment provisions need to be purchased. The main shopping street of Jetty Road is less than 1 minute walk away. Jetty Road has many restaurants, cafes, liquor shops, and may be probably another 200 shops. The Jetty Road shopping street could be 400 metres long but distance is no problem as there is a free tram that runs approximately every 15 minutes. The beach is 400 metres away which is an easy pleasant walk or one could use the free tram both ways.

The apartments address is Brighton Road which is a very busy traffic street, the apartments are set well back from the street and no traffic noise could be heard at all. We found it to be excellent for a peaceful sleep and also very quite during the daytime. Access to the Adelaide CDB for us was by the regular tram and this took 30-40 mins. A 1 day tram pass cost A$8.60 per adult and this could be used throughout the Adelaide Metro area (tram, buses, rail) including the Adelaide Hills. We found we had no need for a rental car, the public transport being more than adequate for us. Taxi to Adelaide Airport was A$21.00.

We found best features to be location to shops & restaurants, transport, and the apartment cost. In comparison to the very expensive apartment options close to the beach, these apartments have to be amongst the very best value in Glenelg. At about 40% of the cost of the modern high rises by the beach it is very hard to discard these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed for five nights. We had an upstairs apartment facing toward the beach (cannot actually see the beach). It is in an excellent location. Very close to Jetty Road. We walked to the beach and at night down to the restaurants for dinner. There are two supermarkets also within walking distance. The apartment had everything we needed, was spacious and very affordable. There was a laundry with a washing machine and dryer but also had an clothesline out side which was really good. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I have been staying here since 2001 why stay anywhere else always a pleasure to call this my second home close to the shops ,beach and tram ride is only 20 mins from the city

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends. The house is a large, 1920s style place with four bedrooms and two bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms have queen beds (one also has a large screen TV) , the other two have two singles each, and all have wardrobes. In addition there is a large lounge room with big screen TV, a large dining room seating 8 and a well appointed kitchen (hotplates, microwave, fridge, all crockery and cutlery). The house also has reverse cycle airconditioning, although we didn't have to use it. Internet access is available free via ethernet. Everything was very clean and neat.
The house is in a wonderful position, only a short ride from the Adelaide Airport. At barely 50 metres from the Jetty Road/Brighton Road intersection, it is very close to the tram stop to go into Adelaide and see the sights there, as well as all the shops and restaurants on Jetty Road. The other corner of the intersection has a large supermarket and liquor shop so food is close by. There is a fair amount of road noise, especially on weekday mornings, and although it didn't bother me, some of my colleagues mentioned it.
There are other apartments run by the same people immediately behind the house, but the house is quite separate and there is no worry about noise.
Free parking is available - it is good to pull into the lane next to the house to get off Brighton Road, then open the gate to park in the driveway.
This is an excellent choice for groups or two families, and the cost was very reasonable for 8 people to share, at less than $200 a night.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenelg Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Gateway Apartments

Address: 35 Brighton Road, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenelg Gateway Apartments offers quality fully furnished and self contained accommodation at very affordable and competitive rates. The apartments are conveniently located in Glenelg and are just a few metres away from the Jetty Road shopping precinct. These apartments are a one minute’s walk to the city-bound tram stop, supermarket and all your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glenelg Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenelg Gateway Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.