We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would you like abuse with your room ?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Motor Inn

Norfolk Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Motor Inn to your Saves list
Norfolk Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   71 Broadway, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Would you like abuse with your room ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I should have heard the warning bells ringing when the staff offered to better the already low agoda.com price all too easily. I now know that all the reviews on agoda that said how friendly the staff are, were clearly written by the staff themselves. The hotel is way out of the main area of Glenelg, even though the staff told me it was walking distance, I would hardly call 2 Km walking distance. The rooms clearly show their age, and smell like old motel room. Bang for buck sure they are cheap, but I wouldn't recommend anyone to go there unless it was really all you could afford. The amazing thing was the abusiveness of the staff. Think abuse more than you ever had before, think redneck rudeness the likes of which you would never believe. Think Snowtown. Really don't stay there.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room is keep looking for other motels there are plenty in Glenelg !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed there in June 2013. Rooms were very basic, small but clean. Contained good features like good hot water, en suite, heating, tea/coffee making, Bar fridge, microwave etc. compared to other small sized motels. Walking distance to lovely Glenelg beach and has an IGA close by. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the good points. The hotel is well situated near cafes and Jetty Rd. Right that was quick now the bad. At $115 a night there is far better value. If I had viewed the room before I would have spent $40 more and stayed somewhere decent. The room was small and tired. I don't think it has seen any improvements since it was build, save for a lick of paint. I didn't even know that Kelvinator made toilets. The AC is the old box type and was some what noisy. The room was small 3mx5m so I was glad I was alone. So if you're into retro this "Inn" might be for you but if not spend that extra $40 and have a great stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Exellent friendly serviced, clean tidy room, walking distance to cafes and pubs. Plenty of free off street parking. Quiet. Left in peace. An indoor table would have been great to sit at for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Norfolk Motor Inn on our wedding anniversary. We found the place to be very welcome, clean and the people running the show were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place if you have a budget and are looking at staying at a beachside location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at other accommodation owned by Steve (lights landing),we where in desperate need of accommodation on return from the gold coast due to rescue 2012 taking place in glenelg. Contacted Steve at short notice, managed to put us up in Norfolk motor inn, the motor inn is what you expect but cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis, staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, able to rent out bikes from reception, Steve did us a good deal. Quiet area, 5minute walk to beach, shops and amenities.
Would definitely recommend, basic, cheap and comfortable. Just like to say thanks to Steve and the staff for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Motor Inn

Address: 71 Broadway, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Norfolk Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Norfolk Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.