We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buffalo Motor Inn
Buffalo Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buffalo Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   766 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Coonalpyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service but the rooms need a very much needed update. Although the rooms are meant to be non smoking there're was a very strong stale cigarette smell in the bathroom. A $200 credit card authorisation was held for over a week before the funds were released.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Within easy walking distance to Glenelg strip, Trams and Beach. Clean room with very tired furnishings and facilities. Always smelled of cleaning chemicals when entering the room. The bed must be the oldest still in use anywhere - brown stained, and the bedspread has very obvious spot-cleaning marks on it. We were happy to reuse towels but they were changed every day, regardless. No laundry facilities - not good for extended stay. Room has toaster etc but no plates or cutlery. Foxtel did not work properly - very limited choice and low res picture. Was offered $50 per night upgrade special to a room on the first floor with a view of the park... nah. Noisy with children playing on stairs and in car park. Smelly ashtrays in front of every room a feature!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We purely booked a room here online as it was in a good location and was reasonably priced for the area. As a bonus it advertised a complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms are spacious and acceptable with everything you need. Basic place, nothing flash. When we checked out there was no mention of any free breakfast and when I asked the lady at the desk said it was a computer error and the free breakfast deal should have been taken off the website. As a result we got no free breakfast as advertised. This thoroughly disappointed me. She offered to get it for us eventually but it meant going back to our room to have it however our taxi was waiting to take us to the airport. Don't believe everything advertised!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent motel great service from the time you get picked up at the airport excellent service at book in and clean quiet rooms . We stay there regularly and always get friendly service.l would be more than happy to recommend the motel to anyone. The people who drive the bus are always very pleasant and nothing is a problem to them. At check in you get excellent service. The people there are always happy and always very pleasant. Great motel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice bloke on check in, couldn't have been friendlier and always let on when seeing us about the place.

This motel is comfortable and does the job. Perfect location at the end of Anzac and close to the centre of Glenelg.

Glenelg is very busy and expensive during the summer but this place was very reasonable at $110 a night. I would stay here again if I was to visit Glenelg and would have no problems recommending it.

It is a motel so don't expect the world but if you want good value, clean rooms, aircon and a central location then you can't go wrong here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the Buffalo for a second time in January 2013 and again had a marina view room. All my work colleagues stay at the Buffalo for its great location. While it is on Anzac Highway it is in fact on the last few inches of the quiet, so-called highway before it turns the corner towards Jetty Road and the beach. The Buffalo is still in the heart of Glenelg, situated within a mix of heritage residences, retro-classic buildings, and high-rise concrete monsters. All the same, the monsters are all rather posh and fairly desirable residential apartment blocks. The Buffalo Motor Inn comes in the "retro-classic" category, and I say that because I think it must have been cleaned up since the 2011 reviews, because it was very clean and tidy. In this area nothing is very far away from the beach, the marina, or the parks. The whole area is buzzing with families, people, joggers, walkers and cyclists, and people going to and from the beach. Right around the corner from the Buffalo are a hundred different kinds of restaurants for breakfasts (I favour the Ambient restaurant for a yummy breakfast) and dinners (the seafood places near the marina are excellent). Just a short walk takes you to Jetty Road and the tram into the city. The beach has a jetty, lawns and clean white sand and clean water. The Buffalo is right on the coastal walks, south and north along the coast. It is close to everything. Despite having a front room with marina view I found it to be a very quiet room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms are inexpensive. Basic yes, but still with a certain amount of retro-classic panache with two comfortable armchairs, a solid round wooden table and two chairs, and a large, clean and comfortable bed. The television has umpteen channels, all which worked. The bathroom was clean and well appointed. Despite the establishment being fully booked due to the Tour Down Under, with the curtains pulled I had a quiet sleep for the four nights of my stay. For the cost it is definitely worth it: you could pay four times the cost to stay at the big hotel on the beach. The Buffalo will remain our place of choice when in Adelaide on work trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Buffalo for several boys/footy/cricket trips.
It is close walking distence to the beach and some great pubs.
Easy to walk to the tram which drops you off at the door of the Adelaide Casino, Adelaide Oval.
Realy affordable accomidation, if you aren't after the ritz!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Motor Inn

Address: 766 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Motor Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in seaside Glenelg overlooking picturesque Holdfast Shores Marina and Wigley Reserve. The closest motel to the beach, just a short walk to the many cafes, restaurants and hotels and cosmopolitan Jetty Road Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.