We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Japanese

Hana Japanese
Corner of Hume and Margaret Street, Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 202 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Incredibly expensive for stale sushi that has been there since morning and high prices for drinks. For example, 1 plate of sushi with 1 tea came to $11. Tea should be free at sushi restaurants! Not authentic at all. Workers seem to be milling around as ghosts, chatting to each other and not making fresh sushi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I go here fairly often as it is a quick self serve and enjoyable meal. You only pay for what you eat so it can suit all budgets. I've always found the food to be fresh and tasty and the staff to be very friendly.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Suprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I don't like sushi not my fav. But there was a Lots of different foods drinks even a menu i believe it is a must go located near the park so i can play and have delish food. In yr 6 You get to learn japaniese and the cluture i give it a 6 out of ten


Gage Doherty

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best japanese in town higly recomend it! -Chef Chris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Think a lot of steak and 3 veg toowoomberians dont realise the potial of this place as they a very big in brissy, gold coast! Shame they dont do teppanyaki :( Best japanese in town higly recomend it! @ graham alfred your a tool mate have a winge sushi is supose to be served cold like an entree maybe if you actually ate it instead of letting it sit on the table it wouldnt go cold. Food wont spoil unless its been 2 hrs then it start to grow spores or handled in a incorrect manner! so theres no saftey concerns there! Im a qualified chef its def got my support! yan ke deska mushi mushi!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointment after disappopintment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I love Sushi and would often go to sushi bars in Brisbane because there were was nothing of any quality in Toowoomba, so I was really excited when this one opened. I have probably dined at Hana about 8 times (to give it a fair go) in the year since it opened and I keep going back hoping it will improve but sadly I have decided that is unlikely. So I still drive to Brisbane for Sushi.

I have had to return dishes that were supposed to be served hot but were stone cold (this is a serious food safety issue). I have been disappointed with the diversity of dishes on offer waiting up to 15 minutes for new items to be added to the conveyor belt. I also have a problem with the quality and pricing of the sushi. For what it is in my opinion it is very expensive.

In my opinion it is a joke that the collective wisdom of Tripadvisor reviewers has resulted in this being rated the second best restaurant in Toowoomba. My opinion of the quality of the food is such that this place will be lucky to be open in 12 months time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Japanese also viewed

 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Hana Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Japanese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.