We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Valetta

Cafe Valetta
96 Margaret Street, Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4632 0332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 198 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Valetta is one of Toowoomba's well known heritage icons. The restaurant provides seating inside the beautiful heritage surroundings or outside in the manicured gardens, on the veranda or pergola overlooking Queens Park. You will be stimulated by a presence of the past and will enjoy the splendour of this magnificent building's origin. The relaxed dining ambience is popular with tourists, business clients and local customers.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Dined here on the 22nd of September. 2012.. Food great and well presented, great atmosphere, was busy but the staff were happy to serve... Yep do yourself a favour get down there... They also do wonderful coffee

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Cafe Valetta is in such a lovey location just opposite Queens Park. It has a great outside sitting area for those lovely toowoomba days and very pleasant inside as well. Lovely atmosphere and friendy staff.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nothing special ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went here for lunch recently and it was great to have table service, and the young girl was attentive. However when our meals came, my husband's Chicken Mille Feuille was really dry, and it just needed some sauce or dressing of some kind. Thinking this wouldn't be a problem to have some aioli or mayo or something to help it go down, I asked at the counter. After 5 minutes wating for the woman to discuss with the chef, nothing was offered. By now, my meal was cold and neither of us enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Lunch at Cafe Valetta is a decent affair because the prices are reasonable considering the food quality. However I had dinner this evening and I consider it to be overpriced for the quality. I ordered seafood Pasta and the few prawns in my dish were obviously frozen not fresh and the puny Scallops were hard and over cooked. The overall flavor of the sauce was good. My partner had the Chicken roulade and said it was dry and overcooked and sadly did not enjoy his first visit to Cafe Valetta. My advice would be stick to lunch, and don't expect fresh tasty seafood for your money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely food, gorgeous place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

New table service at this cafe was excellent and food was lovely. Very enjoyable as always. A gorgeous spot on a sunny winters day.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Valetta also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Cafe Valetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Valetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.