We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret outside of Brisbane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Branch Lounge Bar & Restaurant

Olive Branch Lounge Bar & Restaurant
532 Ruthven Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
0746395255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 187 restaurants in Toowoomba
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best kept secret outside of Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Most people don't put Toowoomba on the map but this place is a great reason to get out and explore the culinary dishes outside. Ask the waiter (Jason?) for his suggestions and just go with it. Incredible. We had a tapas plate of whatever the chefs had on offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    11
    19
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Home Hill
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a quiet drink and some Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

ordered a glass of red and some crumbed olive tapas, this was just beautiful. Sat outside, enjoying the early evening, watching the street, and sipping my wine. Service was great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extend a branch Enjoy an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Olive Branch is both a chic bar and an intimate restaurant. The bar is up front with a great selection of wines and drinks and small eats. And once that has relaxed you there is a fine restaurant down the back of this surprising establishment whose menu covers great dishes, all delicately prepared and presented. It is a great total experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The bar with no wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 7.30
We hadn't made a booking as we were in town on business unexpectantly
Told they were very busy so were seated at a corner table stuffed behind another two couples.
The other tables surrounded us remained empty until we left two hours later.
Requested four different wines from the menu which weren't in stock and despite our requests for some guidance (as our preferences weren't available) the suggested wine turned out to be incredibly sweet and at $65 we would've appreciated someone with some knowledge. We were offered several wines that weren't actually on the menu so our decision was made extremely difficult. At least have bar staff or a sommelier around to recommend something, when spending $60-70 for a bottle it's the least expectation.
Ordered bread, which came out as diagonal cut white sandwich loaf, which hadn't been toasted.
Food came out one hour after it had been ordered, ridiculous wait for no entree and two mains. The food was great but for the price, not worth it. $42 for 4 small slices of lamb is Brisbane pricing, especially without the back up of wine in stock. The decor/fit out is impressive.
I can understand this is a special restaurant for Toowoomba but for our experience with the waiting and wine issues I won't recommend nor return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very expensive for very little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Mains were all around or over $40 and very small portions. The service was good. The tastes were fantastic. Very nice presentation, however the sizes were so small.
I had been looking forward to the experience however was left disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Branch Lounge Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Olive Branch Lounge Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Branch Lounge Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.