We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Golf Club Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Golf Club Motel to your Saves list
City Golf Club Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   775 Ruthven Street | New England Highway, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Hot Deal!
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Drouin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive, but very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Toowoomba was heavily booked the night we needed accommodation, and the Manager at the Great Divide Motor Inn (which had no vacancies) kindly suggested the Golf Club, as I asked if there were any new motels, as we were sick of tired old places.
The interior of the room was ultra modern and a bit flashy, but lovely bed, good quality linen and towels and it was extremely quiet in our upstairs away from the road room. Would definitely stay again, though expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    24
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
34
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is a great little hotel. The rooms are new and funky. The beds comfortable and the room is warm which was good for a chilly August! The front desk staff who where alo the manager where exceptionally helpful an friendly. Only minor negative was the tray under the sink with the crockery on was sticky which made the clean glasses pretty disgusting. Overall the place was fab. Would thoroughly recommend. Good price too!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

From the outside, immediately the motel is appealing - modern and brightly coloured. The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable. In the bathroom, although using the "sustainable" wall-mounted dispensers, everything was there - you don't need to bring the shower gel or shaving foam! The tea/coffee facilities had mugs as well as cups, and chunky cookies. Owners Allan and Wanda were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good internet connections in the room and a large flat screen TV with all the digital channels as well as Austar. I was in Toowoomba for a conference and everyone staying at the City Golf Club Motel had the same opinion. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I had an upstairs room on the road at the end of the row, but heard no noise from traffic or neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

but overpriced it was quiet and peaceful but personally a bit on the expensive side

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Although this motel is located on the New England Highway and our room faced the road, we were surprised at how quiet it was. Only a year old, the room was, not surprisingly, very well maintained. We had a very bright and funky (as in out-there and fun) red room. The motel was full but there were sufficient car spaces and the rooms are well insulated so you can't hear the adjacent rooms.

Staff were professional and low profile.

Overall, a very nice place to stay with very new and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Myself and a work collegue have stayed at this motel twice within the last month. I have found on both occassions the motel to be of a very high standard (modern features, great selection of inroom tea/coffees and also bathroom accessories on offer ie. grooming kit, toothbrush kit, loofah etc to make your stay that much more comfortable). It was great to be able to catch the mini bus over to the Toowoomba Golf Club for dinner and the breakfasts were good value. Also I would ike to mention that the staff were friendly, professional and could not go out of their way to help us more for all of our business requirments. I would recommend this motel to anyone wishing to stay in the area. It is a really good quality motel and at a great price as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

As all the reviewers have said, new, clean, upmarket for a motel in Toowoomba and best of all friendly & helpful managers.
We stayed in a first floor spa room (number 40) overlooking the golf course. It is one of the rooms with dual entry, so you can accommodate an extended group. Not sure what the adjacent room is, possibly a one bedroom apartment. Because of this the back balcony extends over the two rooms. I guess the motel only rents out both rooms when it's a group booking, otherwise it would be a bit odd.
Some other random comments -
Fly screen on sliding door to the balcony is the stainless steel type to keep out intruders.
Between the spa bath and the bedroom is an open weave blind.
Perc coffee & percolator provided.
King bed was fantastic, soft top & great support. I saw one comment about the pillows being too high - they are a bit, but we found them quite OK.
Our room was very quiet & pitch black with the curtain closed.
Hot water takes about a minute to arrive after you turn on the tap - an energy saving feature that saves electricity but wastes water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Golf Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Golf Club Motel

Address: 775 Ruthven Street | New England Highway, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Golf Club Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 45 rooms in various configurations, all with stunning new designer effects and decor. Most rooms have balconies,with some overlooking the championship golf course. Interconnecting rooms can be used by families and there are several two bedroom apartments for those who are looking for something extra. Whatever the reason for your stay, we are sure there is something just right for you. You will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your City Golf Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Golf Club Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.