We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I nice place to relax after a days work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 Ruthven Street | cnr Ruthven & Robinson Streets, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I nice place to relax after a days work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

Great food and comfortable rooms. Will stay here again if ominous the area

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear 'Jonoxymoron',

We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our property.
Thank You!

It's extremely pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay and the newly refurbished facilities.
We are very proud of the recent transformation our property has taken on. With more to come with 'Stage 2' due for completion June this year.

I will pass on your compliments to our chef Jarod. He always produces the most delicous and exciting menu for our Restaurant & Wine Bar, SEASONS and of course room service too.

We look forward to to having you stay with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

All my very best & Kindest regards.

Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
14
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highfields, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I recently stayed in a King spa suit. I found the room to be very clean and modern for a Toowoomba motel. Excellent bed and bathroom. Mini bar was well stocked, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Room service breakfast was excellent and right on time and the latte was to die for!
Only 2 complaits regarding this property. The internet cost me $11 per day and was unreliable at best. There also was a major black out in Toowoomba from a storm the first night i stayed, the suite i was staying in was up a very steep flight of stairs and there was no emergency lighting. Very dangerous and hard to manage in the pitch black using my iphone as a light source when i had to go out for dinner as there was no room service due to the black out.
Over all it was a very nice place to stay and i would return

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesnt face Ruthven st and spoil yourself and pay that tiny bit extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear 'lildutchgirl'

We really appreciate the time taken to comment on our property. Through your feedback we're able to keep our standards high.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the spaciousness of the King Spa Suites.
We are thrilled of the recent transformation our property has taken on. You'll be excited to know that we are embarking on Stage 2 renovation in this section, due for completion June 2012.

We're pleased you enjoyed your Breakfast. Perhaps a little biased but I agree we do have a good blend of coffee. Perhaps when you visit next you'd like to try our NEW Buffet Breakfast, 7 days a week. This is also open to the public, so invite your friends to join you.

Your satisfaction is important to us.
The Power Failures/Blackouts experienced certainly did challenge us that weekend. It should have been called 'Saturday the 13th'.

I aplogise if there was any confusion regarding Room Service. Our Room Service & Restaurant & Wine Bar, SEASONS did continue to function as normal, however due to the unforseen circumstance we were forced to close a little earlier (9.45pm). We also always offer a light snack until 11pm.

Anyone who experienced technical difficulties with wireless internet on that particular weekend was refunded. Would you mind checking you Tax Invoice re: Internet charge.
For future bookings always check our last minute deals as these often include FREE internet (3hrs) with packages.

We are looking into why our regulation illuminated EMERGENCY EXIT lights are not throwing sufficient light in the stairwell area. I agree this would be difficult to navigate in the dark. We appreciate you alerting us about this.

We look forward to to having you stay with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


All Our Very Best.
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

if you want excellent customer service and a quality room to sleep in this is the place for you! From 1st contact which was over the phone, to meeting Penny at reception and then going to our room was very easy and professional. The room had a excellent queen size bed with quality linen and nice clean pillows. The room had been recently renovated with quality everything. The bathroom was brand new with lovely fluffy white towels. We overlooked the pool. Its is close enough to town about 1-2 km from main part easy flat walk in. we were up there for the flower festival and 2 of the prize gardens were just around the corner! I would highly recommend the ambassdor and we are planning to stay there next year if we can get in!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hello '1451Kathy',

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on our property.
We strive every day to provide a superior customer experience, and it's always lovely to hear we're doing the 'right thing'. We really do appreciate your feedback.

As you know bookings can be tight each 'Carnival of Flowers', however we do make allowances for repeat guests. Be sure to get in early though. Why not try one of our NEW rooms 1-18 or even a King Spa Suite when next you stay. Mention you like a room with pool view & our reception team will endeavour to arrange this.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the very Best
Penny Eccelston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Ambassador has recently gone through an upgrade, and the rooms are much nicer. Very comfy beds, modern shower and bathroom, and keyless electronic security for the door.
Its centrally located in Toowoomba, but not in the middle of town, so it is not too noisy. Restaurant is very good, and I believe the menu is just about to change, but you can get a good steak, fish or chicken meal here. Bread and butter pudding is wonderful! They have quite a good winelist too. But if you want soft eggs at breakfast, just let them know, the cheff always cooks them too much.
I stayed for business, but I have noticed quite a lot of families there in school holidays. Pool is very nice.
The hotel has very friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: get a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear 'Barbk',

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property.
Please accept my apology for the delay in responding.
We have been extremely busy fine tuning the last of our renovations & I still have my 'trip advisor' training wheels on.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and the newly refurbished facilities.
We are very proud of the recent transformation our property has taken on.

I'm sorry your eggs weren't cooked to your liking.
Your satisfaction is important to us. Perhaps when you visit next you'd like to try our NEW Buffet Breakfast, 7 mornings a week. Our friendly wait staff will be happy to advise the chef re:egg preparation.

Yes our Restaurant & Wine Bar, SEASONS has an exciting NEW menu offers a relaxed a la carte dining experience. Modern Australian cuisine with a global influence. We're also now open to the public for Drinks/Dinner Mon- Sat.

We look forward to to having you stay with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kindest regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn

Address: 200 Ruthven Street | cnr Ruthven & Robinson Streets, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn is located on the corner of tree lined streets and is the perfect option for business or leisure accommodation in Toowoomba. The property boasts a convenient location close to the Empire Theatre, Cobb & Co. Museum, beautiful Queens Park, St Vincent's Hospital & St Andrews Hospital.Best Western Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn has 34 newly refurbished rooms to cater for large groups, families, couples, singles or corporate travellers. The motel offers clean, comfortable and non-smoking rooms and spa suites with king-size beds, Foxtel cable TV, FREE NBN Fibre internet and 24 hour check in. Enjoy dining at 'SEASONS on Ruthven', our licensed on-site restaurant and wine bar, and relax by the outdoor swimming pool. With a reputation for its excellent cuisine, SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar is the ideal venue for all occasions from business breakfasts, dinners and conferences to the romantic dinner for two. Open for dinner Monday to Saturday from 6.00pm until late the SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar offers a relaxing "a la carte" dining experience with an extensive menu. SEASONS is also open for breakfast 7 Days Mon-Fri from 6.30am - 9.30am & Sat-Sun 7.30am - 10.30am. Don't want to leave the comfort of your room? No problem...in-room service is also provided - simply ask at reception for details.AWARD WINNING Best Western Australasia – 'Special Commendation – Most Improvements & Upgrades Award 4 STAR Property 2011';'Best PLUS Property 2012';‘Best Staff Member 2012';'Best Western International Quality Award 2012 & 2013; ‘AAOA Achievers Awards – Apprentice/Trainee of the Year 2012’;'High Commendation - Sales & Marketing Champion 2013';'President's Award 2013'. Reservations Appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.