We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and well maintained motel close to the CBD.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Highlander Motor Inn to your Saves list
Highlander Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   226-228 James Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Toowoomba
Kampong Thom, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very clean and well maintained motel close to the CBD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three nights and was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and comfort of the bed. The meals I had were also excellent. The location is good, very close to the main shopping centres and right on a main highway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlanderminn, Owner at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We're especially pleased that you liked our pillow-top, individual pocket coil, King sized bed. They have been a hit with others as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
25
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had just spent a week in Coolum and whilst that was awesome the accommodation was no where near as well equipped as the Highlander and we only stayed 2 nights! We had enough of everything and did not have to ask for extra garbage bags etc. I had 3 adults and one child staying and we were placed in their 3 bedroom apartment which was perfect. Nice and roomy and quiet. I will be recommending to family for future stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed two nights for a family wedding in Toowoomba, requiring 4 people to get ready for a wedding (3 females). Plenty of room to spread out. Mirrors in each room. Large bathroom. Plenty of room for our family of 5 adults the second night. Huge TV. Kitchen, fridge tea and coffee. Air Con and fans. Clean and tidy. Beds comfortable. Decor was pleasant and neat and tidy not old and tired. The grounds were very clean and tidy.
No noise from the street. People outside getting into cars from next door unit was the only noise, but you can't do anything about that. Close to city and all we needed to do for the wedding and reception. Free internet. Shopping centre close by.
Manager helpful and happy to help with directions and a map.
I was happy with the price for our adult family to all stay together, compared to other places in Toowoomba.

Room Tip: Large family rooms are at the back of the property. Check out entry and exit if you are staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our family visited this motor inn on the 20th December for a one night stay. Initially when we booked we spoke with a lovely gentleman and I explained we had 3 children ages, 13, 8 and 7. He offered a two room motel room at a rate of $175.00. Whoa!! Gone are the days you pay motor inn prices. I can book 5 star in Brisbane City for that. As there are not many hotels that accommodate a family of five I went ahead and booked it.

When we arrived we were greated by a very lovely lady, can't remember her name. She handed our key to us. We asked about local restaurants hours of the pool etc and she was very accommodating. Very helpful.

When we saw our room was on the ground level and faced the road my husband said, "I hope the noise of the road isnt too loud". I inspected the windows and thought they were double glazed and we decided it would be OK. It was only for one night.

The room itself had a very large living area with 2 single beds and a 2 seater leather lounge which folded out to bed. There was a separate room with a double size bed and bathroom. The room was extremely clean and surroundings pleasant. The beds were comfortable. Had a microwave, sink and small refigerator which was stocked with mini bar priced soft drinks etc. Coffee and tea facilities provided. Oh also there were 2 air conditioners one in the main room and one in the second bedroom.

However this is where the compliments finish.

We found out the T.V. in the double bedroom didn't receive normal tv channels only the in house movie channel and pay tv channels (austar??).

We were woken early at 4am with the noise of the traffic. Very unpleasant. If you have been travelling for hours and need a lay in - DON'T BOOK. The braking of the trucks that noise is something that you just can't sleep through. The hotel is situated on a very busy 4 lane street.

When we checked out the gentleman that served us handed us our receipt as I had already paid for the room and said "so thats it". Not how was your stay, everything ok?. Hope to see you again, so I thought bugger it. I said is that the only larger room you have to accommodate a family of 5 because if I had of known it was on the road and very noisy I would have reconsidered. His response was very cold and he looked at his check in book and said we have 2 bedroom apartments that you could have booked they are up the back. I said I wasn't offered them when I booked so didn't know they existed. He simply said maybe we were full (this wasn't the case as we drove out and saw only 4 cars parked out in front of the rest of the complex).

He didn't offer compensation or an apology just an OH WELL sort of response and kept on carrying on with his paperwork.

Anyway if you want a clean, comfortable motel room, don't mind paying 5 star prices and can handle noise this hotel is for you.

Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thanks Nicole for taking the time to tell of your experience at the motel. We’re pleased you found many of the features were very satisfactory.

Regarding the traffic noise you experienced, we do advise on our website and in email enquiries that guests staying in the four Motel rooms fronting James Street may experience road noise. Two of the units have double glazing with the other two units scheduled to be double glazed in 2013. The remainder of our Motel units run back from the road so traffic noise is minimal or none.

The self contained apartments suitable for families are located at the back of the property. The apartments require a minimum two night stay. At the time of your visit they were fully booked, mainly to contractors with early morning starts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at the Highlander based on previous stay a few years ago. I have wanted to stay here many times but was fully booked out. Up to usual high standards. Bed was very comfortable, room was quite despite being adjacent to busy roads, room presentation was excellent.Close to all facilities. Tried the room service for first time. Can recommend the Irish stew! Very much enjoyed the stay. I secured the last room (Family room) and was given discount as I travel alone. Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for coming back to us, Roger. We think it's a measure of our efforts to consistently maintain high standards that you were not disappointed on your return visit.

and yes, it does pay to book ahead if you can as we are frequently fully booked.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for one relaxing spa night and wish we had stayed for 2! We were surprised with the size and layout of our room. Everything was very clean, nicely presented and surprise surprise....a comfortable bed and pillows. Brad and Paul (owners),knew where to head for a great meal and even the closest bottle shop! Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with a spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming back in the future, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

We know from our own travels that local knowledge can add those special moments to a visit. We therefore endeavour to provide our guests with helpful suggestions on what to do and where to go while in Toowoomba and its surrounds. Often it's to a treasure that otherwise would not have been found!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for one nite bed was very comfortable had a great sleep place is well excellent service rooms are a tad dated but has excellent wi-fi connection The motel is centrally located so its very easy to get on the road in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlanderminn, Owner at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We continually strive to maintain and improve the motel. We are currently in the process of freshening up another 10 rooms (a third of the motel). We hope to have these completed by the end of the year. Part of the refurbishment will include an upgrade of all motel rooms to premium pocket coil luxury queen beds and premium pillowtop pocket coil luxury queen beds for the spa rooms. You're guaranteed a great nights sleep at the Highlander!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlander Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motor Inn

Address: 226-228 James Street, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlander Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Motels and Apartments in Queensland's Garden City of Toowoomba. The complex offers Standard, Family and Executive Motel rooms (some with spa baths)as well as 1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully self-contained Apartments. Located a short drive to the City Centre, the University of Southern Queensland and with direct access to the Toowoomba Base Hospital. The Highlander Motor Inn is ideal for corporates, families, couples and groups. Plenty of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highlander Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.