We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park with beautiful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Top Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Isa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Top Tourist Park
Save
You added Sunset Top Tourist Park to your Saves list
14 Sunset Drive, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with beautiful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

When I first arrived at Sunset Top Tourist Park it was originally only for a couple of days to find my feet... But that soon went out the window!
I was greeted by the two managers (Julie and Steve) in the reception who were extremely welcoming and just as helpful. They gave me a picturesque site next to the water at a comfortable distance from other campers.
The amenities were perfectly situated in the centre of the camping section with brilliant showers, toilets, laundry and disabled facilities all cleaned daily. The camp kitchen and pool were situated close to the entrance of the park, also cleaned daily... The camp kitchen was the smartest with the most facilities I had seen in 12 months of travelling!
I ended up staying in the park for the best part of 2 months whilst I worked and met unimaginable amounts of superb people - All of which were enjoying this beautiful park as much as I was!
Making friends with the staff at the park was incredibly easy as they all had smiles on their faces and always waved as they went by. I will never forget Julie, Steve, Abbie, Ethan, Tracey, Jane and Mars.
I look forward to returning to this park soon knowing how lovely it was the first time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cloncurry, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just left Mount Isa after 2 weeks at the Sunset Caravan Park.
We had a beautifully shady site. It was quiet, the staff were fantastic - especially Abby & Milly who worked hard to keep the laundry and bathrooms lovely and clean. The camp kitchen and pool were fantastic!!! Very clean. We would recommend this park to everyone and already have. If you are out in these regions and complain about the dust, heat, lack of grass....then just keep driving...this is what it is, embrace it...it's all a story to tell at the end of the day!! Thank you Sunset Top for making our stay great.

Room Tip: Just ask for a shady site and they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We camped one night on our way back from Darwin. We were setting up in the camp section to find all of the caravans backing against this just let their hoses with their dirty water run on to the grass. Surely there is some regulation against that considering the creek is only a few metres away. The permanent residents were a bit odd. We were happy to get out of there as quick as possible. We would definetly not return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Tonight is the last of our 4 nights here in Mt Isa, and we have been very happy here...yes, it's dry and dusty, but they're on water restrictions after all , and it's also a bit difficult for them to water when the sites are always full....lots of leaves on the ground.....yes, because they have lots of big shady trees.....they have a superbly appointed camp kitchen, and heaps of neat, clean and tidy toilets and showers....and stacks of clothes lines outside the laundry....I've never seen so many.
The park is quite close to the CBD and shopping centres, and has a small supermarket in walking distance just up the road.....not that i ever envisage coming back to Mt Isa, but if I did, this is where I'd stay....but book in advance to avoid disappointment....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The park managers Steve and Julie are fantastic to deal with, friendly, kind,easy to talk to and nothing is ever a problem for them.We arrived in Mt Isa in January with a big let down from a caravan park that we had pre booked before our arrival, that turned pear shaped but Steve and Julie did everything possible and helped us out immensely.....my wife was at breaking point but these guys turned it all around for us. We have been here for 6 months now and have spoken to numerous people who have been passing through on their way to other destinations who have the same views as us. Having travelled around Australia last year before settling here in the Isa for work we have seen our far share of caravan parks and let me reassure you that Sunset Tourist Park Mt Isa rates very highly in all aspects. Very clean amenities, very well kept park, best security in Mt Isa!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a couple of weeks in advance which was lucky as apparently the park was full. There' s a rodeo in a couple of weeks so make sure you know what's coming up. The woman at reception wasn't particularly friendly, but nor was the staff at Woolworths and even the Bottle'O. So not sure why everyone isn't happy! The bathroom is fine, paint on paint which makes it look old. Decent laundry facilities. Camp kitchen has everything you need, BBQ plates, microwave, kettle, stovetop etc. We had lovely permanent neighbours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed only one night , was going to stay longer but the manager was so rude , he has a problem with people and has no people skills and is very unwelcoming . On arrival his spent most of his time yelling at the office staff . Then on our extra day we asked were he would like us to move to , he became very nasty and we could not understand his attitude . When we questioned what was wrong he told us to leave the park . We have never been asked to leave anywhere in our lives , we were very upset by this managers attitude . When reporting this to the office staff they , said they couldn't say anything . The management needs to change in this park .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Top Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Top Tourist Park

Address: 14 Sunset Drive, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Shady Caravan Park Close to Town Centre on the banks of Breakaway Creek. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Top Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.