We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place to stay!! Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Mt Isa

Outback Mt Isa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Outback Mt Isa to your Saves list
Outback Mt Isa
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   45 West Str., Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Outback Mt Isa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Mount Isa B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worst place to stay!! Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The room we where given stunk of urine it was disgusting we had to go to coles to buy febreeze antibacterial spray! The aircon was the worst its a bloody hot day and the aircon was at 31 degrees in the room! I do not recommend this play to any human or animal! Its a hole that looks pretty on the outside! Plus the TV is is ancient, looks about 1000000 years old!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in one room after arriving in the afternoon with Mt Isa a steaming 44 celcius, first room with a split system which didn't cool the room in any form and kept switching itself off.
Staff very pleasant and moved us to another room, but the aircon was only just keeping up and was only just what you'd call cool at around 4am when sleep finally came easily instead of a lathered sweat.
Poor experience on first trip, but price was $160 for the room (average I suppose for the Isa) but will probably give it another go to see whether this was a once off or not.

Room Tip: Check your airconditioner works
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked on line for 4 nights @$160/night including a cooked breakfast. We arrived on Sunday evening, on check in I enquired what time breakfast was and was told it was from 6.30 till 10am. Next morning we had a knock on the door at 8.15 asking if we wanted to have our room serviced. We told them to come back later as we had just gotten up, at 9.10am we went for breakfast only to be told that it finished at 9.00am and the chef had gone but we could have cereal with some uht milk and toast. When we complained about the time, they said sorry the receptionist is new. Next morning my husband went for breakfast at 6.30am to be told that there was no milk, no bread no bacon but he could have egg and sausage. The eggs were cooked on a greasy plate and were black on the bottom. I settled for omelette that look a bit like a cross between an omelette and scrambled eggs. After again expressing my displeasure the manager produced some bread from her personal supply. I made enquires about the onsite laundry only to be told that it had been broken for a couple of weeks. It was mentioned to me that the motel was in receivership and that they had to make a request for supplies a week in advance. We chose not to eat in the restaurant. Next morning the breakfast was back on track, although very basic. Cleaners is another story, it was hit and miss, the first two days was ok, but different cleaners and basic bed making consisted of pulling up the bedspread over the crumpled sheets. We would not stay there again. Round town it is known that the Burke and Wills Motel which is the sister motel is in the same position

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stay here everytime i travel to Mt Isa. I've stayed at a few different hotels and I've found this hotel to be the best value for money. Beds are comfortable and I havent been woken up by traffic as there is barely any traffic on the road in Mt Isa at night (and I'm generally a light sleeper). The shower is average. The service is always good, the restaurant meals are nice (and big) and they offer room service. The pool is nice. Location is good, walking distance to main street. Cleaners do come through early (about 8am) but the cleaner they've had over the past couple of years is lovely and always polite.

Room Tip: There are rooms further off the road if light traffic noise is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights on our way back from the NT. the Motel is clean, the firttings are not new but not old either, its a strange room with the bathroom sink sitting outside the bathroom but overall the bathroom facilty was ok. the TV was not a flat screen.
well positioned with all pubs/restaurants a short 10min walk away, there is a coles/Wollies a short 5 min drive away. the motel does have a restaurant, but we did not dine here or have breakfast here so i cant comment. you can park your car close to your room which makes for easy packing/unpacking.
Now for the strange stuff, i have never been in a motel where room service knocked on the door at 8am to make up the room, we were still in bed & asked for them to comer back which they never did. the beds have these strange bedside lamps mounted on the wall just above the bed, i constantly knocked my head on these actually knocking one of its mounting leaving a whole lot of concrete dust on the bed.
overall the place is reasonably fitted out, clean, you can hear some traffic of the main street but its not to bad, is it worth $145 a night, probably not, good for a one night stay but next time i will explore other options

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We travelled to the Isa for the Mining Expo, the Outback was the only hotel with rooms left for the 3 nights and we had to pay the $180 a night. The rooms were large but very basic, I was in a room nearer the road and could hear the vehicles most of the night. The cleaners came around very early to get the towels, I had to ask her to come back later.
The Restaurant was on site with a small bar, the food was very good with large servings, the breakfast looked basic , but the cook was ill and we couldn't get hot food.
I'v marked it down due to the expence of the room and would not stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I found it great for the $99 Friday night price. An older style room but spacious, great restaurant on site, good service and comfy bed. They even gave u arnotts cookies with the tea and Coffee supplies which is a nice touch and had lovely white fluffy towels. Off the main area we found it nice and quiet. Parking was right outside the door as well. No complaints here!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outback Mt Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Mt Isa

Address: 45 West Str., Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Outback Mt Isa)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Mt Isa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Outback Mt Isa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Mt Isa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.