We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Upgrade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mulherin Drive | Mackay Marina, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mackay
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free Upgrade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We booked a basic room for the night (as we were travelling to Brampton island in the morning). On arrival we were upgraded to the best suite for free! The room overlooked the harbour, was clean, had an amazing spa (overlooking the harbour).

The buffet breakfast was great and overall had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
19
49
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband, two children stayed at this poor excuse for a hotel on a road trip from Brisbane to Cairns (even after we were warned by an American friend who stayed here several times). First thing to remember if you are traveling to Australia form the U.S. or Europe, is that the Australian hotel rating system is not the same. For example, in the U.S. an inspector who is looking at 3+ star rating for a hotel must stay over night and there is a strong focus on SERVICE, not just hotel amenities. Well, not so in Australia. The focus is on amenities. If a hotel rater from AAA (from the U.S) visited the Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina, he/she would give it two stars at best.

The staff, behind the desk and in the restaurant, are not very helpful and very rude. After complaining to the general manager (a rather pompous individual) about the fact that our room had not been cleaned for two days, we quickly concluded that the staff's poor attitude was strongly influenced by their leader. Also, be careful if you complain about the service at this hotel, we had heard from a few friends in the area that the general manager will have you banned from his hotel and others in Mackay (and possibly the rest of Australia). We weren't too concerned as we aren't planning on visiting the area for another few years.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Spent one night here in a nice room with a fabulous view of the marina. View in the morning here was one of the best we had in Qld. Room pretty standard though slightly daggy decor. Shower was wonky but this seems to be common! Not super cheap but seemed to be head and shoulders above a couple of other hotel options we looked at, plus much nicer location near the water. Strange smell in the hallway outside the lift though - kinda like old socks! Had dinner in the restaurant underneath which was very pleasant. Brekky was excellent and included. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Nice hotel. Nice view on the harbour. The restaurant (indoors part) however doesn't deserve a 4 star rating. It's noisy and asking for a table in a certain area was refused altough a couple that came in later and asked for a table in that same area got it ! Also, plates were taken away without asking both guests if they are finished; my partner was still chewing ! Wine bottles opened in a very amateuristic way; trying to unscrew the cork through the led cap.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed at the Clarion for a total of two weeks as we were here for business. We asked to look at the rooms prior to booking because of the extended stay we did not want to be disappointed. We booked an executive spa room and we thought this was by far the best and these are the reasons why: the rooms are at the front of the building giving the best views over marina and sea. Separate bedroom, full kitchen and own laundry. The bedroom has huge plasma tv and smaller tv in lounge. A previous persons review said the tv was small - I am not sure if since then they have replaced their TV'S. Also previous person said towels not good. Ours were great thick towels - so maybe they have rectified this as well.
Only thing I can said that we did not like about Clarion was staff attitude - but this was mainly on reception. The manager is truely rude - and has very rude and abrupt manner on the phone. When I phoned down to ask if they could print off two pages from an email for me the manager talked to me like I was a complete waste of time even though I went out of my way to be polite. The restaurant staff were polite and friendly.
Otherwise this hotel is really magnificient and the best in town. We looked at them all as we spend eight months of the year living in hotels.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

I stayed at the Clarion for 1 night, in preparation for a meeting at a nearby office the following morning.

Arriving at approx 11PM due to flight delays in Brisbane and dropping off colleagues in Mackay, it was fantastic to be able to order a proper meal through room service at this hour. My colleagues who stayed in town were unable to get food and ended up with a grease-fix at a 24hr truckstop, while I was able to enjoy some delicious barramundi. Arriving hungry, late at night, the room service left me with an very good impression of the hotel.

The room (suite) was large, including separate living/dining room, kitchenette and a separate bedroom with queen size bed. The room was very comfortable and in an excellent state of repair, with lift access via keycard. My room had a large balcony with harbour views. The large bathroom had a washing machine and dryer installed, should one need these facilities, and the mini-bar was well stocked.

I had brought my own breakfast, so did not sample breakfast in the restaurant, which is located near the swimming pool on the ground floor.

After our meetings, we came back to the hotel for drinks and snacks with our client, however the service in the restaurant was patchy, not as polished as one would expect from the rest of the property.

I would definitely choose to stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — Late night room service available
  • Disliked — Patch service in Restaurant/Bar
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

I stayed at the Clarion for a stopover in Mackay earlier this month and found everything to be as expected for this price range and standard of accommodation.The Hotel is about 4-5 kms from the main centre of Mackay and is situated on the Marina looking out to the Ocean.The Room was well laid out and the Bathroom was clean.The Breakfast was ok with the standard fare although the Hotel was virtually empty so all the Hot food was virtually untouched and becoming very sloppy just sitting there.The three waiters were looking for things to do with only two people having Breakfast so it was quite amusing watching how many times they could straighten the Salt and Pepper shakers on each table!!.The posistion of the Hotel is a bit out of the way of all the local action but along the Boardwalk there are a number of Restaurants and a Bar which Im sure would all be fantastic in summer sitting outside watching the Boats but on a freezing winter night there was not much action at all.Overall it is not a bad place to stay but really Mackay is not a Tourist destination and is basically a mining town on the coast these days.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms,nice outlook
  • Disliked — TV sets from K-Mart
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Address: Mulherin Drive | Mackay Marina, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina is considered as Mackay's premier hotel. Located on the relaxing waterfront setting of the picturesque Mackay Marina, the hotel is only a short drive from Mackay's city centre and 20 minutes from Mackay Airport and is Mackay's only hotel with marina views over the tropical blue waters of the Coral Sea. The 4.5 Star hotel provides a selection of high quality accommodation rooms, from Deluxe Studio rooms and 1 Bedroom Apartments through to Executive Suites and Superior Spa suites. All rooms are superbly appointed with all the modern conveniences you would expect to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible including; i-pod docking stations, flat screen televisions, fully appointed kitchenettes and private balconies providing fresh sea breezes and views over the marina setting and out to sea. Our onsite Latitude 21 Bar & Restaurant provides modern Australian cuisine and is open for breakfast daily and dinner Monday to Saturday, room service menu is available daily. The Mackay Marina, voted Australia's number 1 marina precinct, is also right on the doorstep providing a choice of bars, cafes and restaurants including George's Thai, Angelo's on the Marina Italian, The Deck Steakhouse and Mackay's famous fresh seafood at The Lighthouse. Harbour Beach is also just a short stroll providing long stretches of golden, sandy beaches. Other facilities include 24 hour reception and on-site security, secure parking, swimming pool, fitness room, complimentary guest laundry on each level, fully air-conditioned hallways as well as unlimited FREE guest WiFi. The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina provides the perfect setting for conferences, meetings, functions and weddings providing a number of versatile and high quality function rooms and breakout areas. Our dedicated function staff can help tailor an event to suit any occasion. The hotel provides a range of excellent guest services that have built a strong reputation with business travellers and holiday makers and has been awarded best hotel in its category by Choice Hotels Australasia and AHA's Best Superior Accommodation Australia. Our waterfront location and comprehensive facilities combined with friendly and professional service will ensure your stay in Mackay will be comfortable, enjoyable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Mackay
Mackay Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.