We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expect more of Big4.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park
379 Harbour Road, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“I expect more of Big4.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose this park primarily based on its pet friendly status. Upon arrival, it was obvious that there is much work in progress around the park, which meant parking was at a premium whilst checking in. This was after negotiating the tight turn off of the road to gain access to the park, which, should a vehicle be exiting, would require stopping in the middle of the road. I don't know why caravan parks insist on such nonsensical driveways, when their prime customers are driving around in generally lengthy rigs. Check in was handled smoothly enough, and we then had to find our own way via the proffered map to our site. Once there, we found the site to be only just adequate in size, leaving us feeling somewhat cramped between the neighbouring vans. Our van is about 23 feet, a rather modest size these days, and yet it was a herculean effort to negotiate the tight space to get it parked. As a bonus, our site, as did most, had a concrete annex pad, which was handing considering the recent weather had made the surrounding grassed area more of a bog than a luscious lawn. The bathroom facilities were old, but adequate, although seemed to have been invaded by mosquitoes. Not a fun experience to be showering surrounded by there critters, I hope it was due to the recent weather, but we weren't there long enough to find out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
19
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had been ring this park for a couple of weeks to make sure they could fit us in and told every time there would not be a problem. We have a 38 ft motorhome they tried to put us on a very small site that really was not big enough. So we said we would look at other parks and may be back. 24 hours later we ring to see in if we could come in to the park to be told we where to big for their park now we did see other bigger motorhomes in there the women on the front desk was quite rude to us in the end .Would not reackon mend this park to any one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an old park that has recently been taken over and taken on the big 4 brand. It is clean and quite and close to town and all the major points of interest. The facilities are old but very clean. When we stayed a number of ensuite sites were being built as well as a number of other improvements. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in Mackay as I believe it will be worth 4-5 stars within the next 6 months. It is one of the quiter caravan parks In the Mackay area and welcoming of short stays many of the others are only interested in the permenents.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Found the lady who ran the park was very rude . Never would I go back to their park I had to book out earlier didn't know what time check out was and. Refused to give any refund back .i think the park isn't ran very well . Cleaners didn't bring towels everyday as was staying longer then two days . When I asked for towels the cleaned said we couldn't have clean towels . Very disappointed in the way the park is ran and found the manager very rude .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

At reservation we were told that there was only a luxury cabin left for $145.--. So we booked it. Unfortunately we couldn't find anything luxurious about this cabin. Maybe it was called luxury cabin because there were 2 TVs. It was very old and would need a major overhaul and far too expensive. The BBQ area was closed due to reconstruction, so we could not use it. Fortunately we were able to cancel the 2nd night we had booked, as this is not a very nice campground. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park

Address: 379 Harbour Road, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park is just 2 kilometres from the beautiful Mackay Marina precinct with its lush parklands and selection of restaurants. Sit back and relax in our newly renovated park, or explore the great attractions the Mackay area has to offer - wonderful wildlife, beautiful beaches, breathtaking scenery, and exciting experiences both in and out of the water. We have done a lot of work on the park since taking over in 2010 adding new cabins and renovating older ones, adding a children's water park, jumping pillow and camp kitchen as well as a new office and rejuvenating the gardens and surrounds. We are now also proudly pet friendly so bring all your friends to visit us at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.