We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team Trekker on the road to Cairns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Mackay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park Mackay
Save
You added The Park Mackay to your Saves list
284 Farrellys Road | Paget, Mackay, Queensland, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Team Trekker on the road to Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice place to stay.. Unfortunatelly we spent there just one nigth, but all next morning we worked on our competion stuff in nice tidy kitchen, great place in the shade for work on our computers. Team Trekker of Escape 2 Adventure.

Room Tip: We slept in our comfortable provided camper van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tiaro Qld
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival there was no one even at the reception, we had to phone them (how's that for service) which they unwillingly had to come down for (such lovely people NOT!) very rude, had no time to even show us around the park nor show us our site. We went for a walk the afternoon and everyone around are living in filth and will evil eye you the whole time! The BBQs look like they haven't been cleaned since new. The showers where COLD!!! Freezing cold! The laundry closed early so I couldn't do any washing!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Manager at The Park Mackay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here and was quite surprised to read your review as we do have a lot of happy repeat customers.

However, to address your complaints, our reception is open 7am until 6pm and we are available 24/7 via the direct dial phone on the reception balcony. We also can arrange for late check in with prior bookings. If you arrive later and without a booking you have to pick up this phone to get attention as our staff quarters are not attached to the office. We don't physically take you to your site but provide you with clear directions on our site map, pointing out amenities etc. The Park is well lit so it is easy to follow these directions.

I apologize if a previous staff member was discourteous to you and have had discussions with our current staff regarding keeping up the friendly service (even at dinner time after a long day).

We have a Rennai Gas Hot Water System in the amenity block so never run out of hot water. I can only think that perhaps you didn't wait the 30 seconds it takes to feed through as explained on the notice in the shower room.

Our tourist sites are quite separate from our longer term sites so our residents were possibly wondering what strangers were doing in their area and just watching out for security reasons. Our permanent residents are lovely people but their vans are their private homes so we don't instruct them on their housekeeping. Some are extremely house proud and take great pride in their gardens etc.

Our laundries are locked at 8.30pm out of respect for surrounding campers who like a good night sleep uninterrupted by night owls doing their chores late and the laundries are open again at 6.30am.

The public barbeques are routinely cleaned every morning and there is a sign asking guests to clean up after themselves in between times.

Thank you for your feed back and again, I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My two children I recently stayed here for a single night on our way down the Queensland Coast to catch a flight to Singapore. What a nightmare! The lady was friendly enough when she took the booking over the phone but when we showed up, she wasn't very welcoming and a little dismissive. Not to worry, we can all have an off day.

My suggestion to the owner/manager of this park is to take the time to spend a night in various cabins around the park. For almost $100 a night for a basic cabin, I would expect some level of basic cleanliness.

The stench coming from the bathroom drain was nauseating to say the least, but the adult and baby cockroaches were an especially horrifying find. Big cockroaches can fly into even the best looked after premises, but when they start having families where I'm paying good money to camp the night, I'm inclined to take the view that there is a certain lack of quality control about the place.

I understand that Mackay is a mining city and accommodation can be scarce and somewhat pricey, but as the mother of a teenage girl, I was at a loss as to why the very basic, non-landscaped pool (complete with orange tape to prevent people from walking on the grass where I'm thinking that one day they might build a BBQ or some other enticing amenity) is completely surrounded by what is obviously the work men's quarters. I'm sure all the fellows are a good upright bunch of blokes, but in all honesty I wasn't about to risk this not being the case with my 14yo girl and her 12yo brother spending any unsupervised time in their swimwear in the pool area.

Well, I was hoping that by soon finding myself in a sleep-unconscious state, I could forget all our woes, including our freeloading roaches. Alas, it quickly became apparent that the air conditioner was hosting it's own ?death-metal concert and there would be no quiet and peaceful slumber in this cabin of horrors. The solution was to turn the cooling off, but the ceiling fans were just as clattery and no-one wanted to swelter and wake up in a pool of sweat, which I am not entirely sure wouldn't have enticed the vermin to get up and personal.

We had a long road trip down the coast the next day and it was a relief to get on the road way before the sun was even thinking of rising for the day. Breakfast in Rocky, anyone???

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Manager at The Park Mackay, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I am sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We are often congratulated on our cleaning standards so not sure what happened there and only wish you had brought the matter to our attention when you checked in so we could rectify the problem immediately.

As you said, in Queensland cockroaches can fly into rooms and are only active at night so although we do our best to control pests, it helps if we are alerted when they are seen .

Our pool area was under construction when you visited - hence the orange tape. We did concreting that week to create a dry area for the tables and sun umbrellas. The pool has been totally re-surfaced and has been very popular over the summer with singles and families alike. The "work men's quarters" you refer to are our new studio units which are available for women as well on a nightly/weekly basis. The pool area is also clearly visible from the managers quarters but as in any public area, if you want to be 100% sure of your children's safety then you do need to supervise them - especially around water.

We do take any feed back we get very seriously and thank you for your time. The $85 cabin which you stayed in remains our best seller with en suite and cooking facilities, all linen supplied. We feel it is good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We three stayed for three nights in a standard cabin. It was well-equipped with kitchen utensils, bed linen and towels. There is a table with chairs and the bathroom is good, plenty of hot water. The park is well laid out and is easy to drive in and out of the parking space next to the cabin: this isn't always the case in other, similar places. The staff are helpful, we had a problem when we arrived but this was resolved satisfactorily. It is quiet at night and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Called in to see if cabins or camping spots available, as the previous time I'd looked for a campsite here it had been very wet so partially closed off along with most places in Mackay. Couple of luxury cabins left but all the budget ones had been booked out, although two parties hadn't arrived but we needed to wait and see if they turned up. The 'basic' ones were $40 cheaper, but we wanted somewhere to unpack and go meandering about, so took a luxury one.
Well, they are pretty flash and $120 is really the top end of what we can afford for a nights accommodation, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a better room in a motel or such for that price.
The lady on reception gave us keys to each of the rooms so we could have a gander, and even though she said the older/cheaper ones maybe need a bit of TLC, there was nothing apparently amiss with them. Maybe a bit dated for decor, but certainly clean, roomy and with good facilities. In fact the next time we need a spot in Mackay we'll try to book one of these in advance.
Possibly the only advantages of the luxury ones is they're a bit brighter and maybe have better insulation and glazing, but for a day or two couldn't see it being a concern. It was very comfortable and the buildings all seem quiet - no thumping and donging noises.
The only things that did catch our ears was the speed-bump outside our cabin, although traffic was very well behaved, and some intruding noise when outdoors from construction/roadworks outside the campground area. This is a problem a lot of people around here face however, it is now a growing industrial service area and there is a lot of highway reconstruction happening. For all that though there was no intrusive noises in the evening and overall the camp was quiet. Keep in mind too that the airport and railway station aren't far off, there is a new shopping complex about 3 minutes drive away, and apart from the left-handed Chinamans design with intersections and traffic islands the Bruce and Peak Downs Highways all fairly easy to get onto.
Also it is a few miles from the city centre so be aware of that if you don't have wheels, but all-up no complaints.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get one not next to a speed bump or intersection, but it's a full place and the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the deluxe villas. They are pretty new and well equipped. It's one of the few places that I've stayed in where the rooms were better in reality than they were in the photos.

Although the rooms are a good size the bathroom is a little tight. The frige is big but possibly because it is a standard model rather than a small hotel room style unit, it does make a little noise.

Room Tip: Deluxe villas are probably worth the extra few dollars as they aren't that expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Mackay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Mackay

Address: 284 Farrellys Road | Paget, Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off the highway on the south side of Mackay with a short drive to Mackay CBD, airport and beaches. The Park offers guests fully self contained stand alone cabin accommodation complete with en-suite and cooking facilities. We also have caravan and overnight camping sites available with a fully equipped camp kitchen, free gas barbeques and laundry facilities. The complex has a large salt water pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Mackay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.