We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it when travelling north (but not south)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Save Saved
You added Windmill Motel & Reception Centre to your Saves list
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 hotels in Mackay
Queensland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Try it when travelling north (but not south)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here while returning home after a northern holiday. Unfortunately a divided road meant I had to make a rather long U-turn to reach the motel (and again in the morning to resume my journey.) The motel is spread out across a road, and I found the instruction to reach my room somewhat confusing, presented as the were in a well polished but rather fast patter. After a few false turns I did find my room. The parking space allocated to me was very tight. The room itself was up a flight of stairs and had the standard hotel door which is difficult to manage with an arm full of luggage. Once inside I was presented with a large open plan space with a spa bath in the middle. The queen sized bed was comfortable but a sofa slightly obscured the view of the TV. The TV itself had the usual opaque instructions for use but eventually functioned well. The guest information provided said that information about internet availability would be on the desk in the room - no such information to be found. There were a few another annoyances such as a damaged sink in the toilet. The spa was luxurious but took over half an hour to fill with the not exactly torrential flow from the taps.
Food was available to be collected from the restaurant, involving a brisk walk and another struggle with the room door while balancing an overladen tray. the steak was slightly undercooked but very tasty and the thick hand-cut chips were crisp and hot. The chocolate pudding was also very delightful. I skipped breakfast in the morning.
All in all a reasonably enjoyable stay with a few irritations - and next time I will only stay if travelling northwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
11
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed one night with my family on our way back from Cairns to Gladstone and was pleasantly surprised at how spacious the family suite was! Everything was really well presented and very clean. The office staff were welcoming and professional. It was also very quite, just off the highway so convenient but far enough away not to hear traffic.
My only criticism would be that the cereal bowls were extremely small. Not really a big deal though :)
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return if visiting Mackay :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in a Family Suite and found it very roomy and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and rooms clean and tidy.
The location is great. Close enough to a major shopping centres, cinemas, and the highway to be convenient but far enough away to be quiet.
My only gripe with the room was it was very dark. There's only one small window which opens on to the walkway. However as we spent most of our time out and about it wasn't a big deal.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Mackay is a challenge when looking for appropriate business travel accommodation. The Windmill is a reasonable option if you are looking for an apartment style good size room with parking. I typically stay in the apartments 'over the road' which has a reasonably modern fit out and facilities. I stayed once in the motel side and had a room that was a step back into the 70's so I now avoid those rooms. Breakfast is quite expensive for what you get so I opt for a meal in town instead. The complex is on the main road so good if you are travelling in or out of town.

Room Tip: Apartments 'over the road'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Cockroach in my room ants in the bathroom
and had to send the lamb back in the restaurant as it was way to tough the second plate was cold and no better.
I would not bother staying here again, no apology for the insects or poor quality food

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in windmill Mackay before,the rooms was very old and I have to say the cleanness was poor overall,I can even see the big spider web under the desk,insects everywhere in the room even if you close the door whole day...i booked 6 days stay with them and I was told that they only supply 2 towels and 0 sheet a day,sheet will only be changed if stay 7 days.that sounds ridiculous to me!and if more towels asked during the day will be charged extra...if you ask the cleaner to change the sheet for you everyday,2o dollor extra has to be paid daily!!!the time I checked I was asked to pay 20 extra for asking one sheet for the whole 6 nights stay!this is the first place i stayed that has such ridiculous rules about house keeping!some of the staff there has horrible attitude too,definitely avoid going back to that place!!!very upset!!!poor facility,bad attitude,poor VALUE!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed two nights. The room was a good size although definitely due for a refurbishment. The bathroom was very small with a very high step-in bath. The meals were expensive. Parking was very awkward and getting luggage up and down the stairs was a major pain. The location is awful, and there is no chance of us returning to this particular motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Motel & Reception Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Motel & Reception Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.