We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice alternate to the local motels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Mackay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Mackay to your Saves list
Quest Mackay
38 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albury
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice alternate to the local motels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Clean modern rooms of above average size. Great little kitchen with hot plates and cooking utensils. Paid $180 for a studio which is far better value than the motels, albeit on a Saturday night, I would say mid week would be higher given the demand from miners. Good job Quest, your offer is consistent with your other properties I have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
16
1
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here this week & was pleasantly surprised. New, spotlessly clean & room to move.
was all very comfortable & accommodated all our requirements. Staff friendly.
In town so easily accessible to most things.
If i was to make a complaint it would be that the bed was almost shoved up against the wall under a window when you have so much room elsewhere, this meant you could only have 1 bedside table & it was awkward to get out that side of the bed.
Otherwise, i was very happy with the room & would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night (a Sunday).
The reception was welcome and efficient, and I was informed at that time that dinner was not being served in the in-house restaurant,but all options were explained.

I agree with other reviewers that a chair of some sort to view the television would have been a very thoughtful addition to the room and is sorely lacking.
Breakfast in the restaurant the next morning was well priced and efficient also.
A minor criticism is that with in-room cooking facilities the odour of cooking permeated throughout the corridoor and then into my room,

Room Tip: Get rooms higher up to avoid noise and nearer the ends of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a studio at the Quest for 1 night as part of a Queensland road trip.

Our first impression is that the room was nicely set out and clean. It was sizeable with a small kitchenette included. The bathroom was also a great size.

The bed was nice and comfortable.

The location was right in the middle of Mackay. Although there’s not much to see and do, it was a should walk to the Canelands shopping centre. One blessing is that it is next door to the Hot Wok restaurant which served some of the best Chinese food we've had (go for the banquet).

A big problem was that our confirmed booking made via their own internet site had not been included added to their own system. I’m very thankful that the hotel wasn’t fully booked. Upon this, we found the check in staff came across as untrained and disinterested. It wasn’t a pleasant experience.

An addition to the room could have been an armchair as it would give you somewhere to sit down, making the room more comfortable as there is the space to accommodate one.

The rooms are incredibly noisy. We were unfortunately woken at 6.30am on a Sunday morning by a wedding party on the floor below us playing loud music. Another problem is that no staff were available at until 8.00 to deal with the problem.

Room Tip: Ask to be kept away from any groups staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

First to the good......check in was quick, the pool area is lovely, the location is great for walking and housekeeping do a really good job. There is free parking and the noise levels (internal or external) were not too bad. My husband and I are here for 4 weeks and perhaps thats why they only get an average rating BUT alot of people are here long term and would face the same frustrations. Firstly the room (a one bedroom) is very small, there is no kitchen bench space for preparing food, the bedroom is internal and therefore has no ventilation, the furniture is really uncomfortable and badly stained and worn, the TV is tiny, the balcony is tiny and there is nowhere to dry clothes other than the dryer. The water pressure is just, the sink and toilet take forever to drain and fill and worst of all for us is the bed it's the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept on and after averaging 5hrs sleep a night and back and neck aches we really don't know how we are going to cope for another 2 weeks. The salad bowl and some other kitchen utensils were rusty so we had to buy new things to feel like they were clean. We understand that this is perhaps the best in Mackay but at $205 (room only) a night for 4 weeks it should be a whole lot better. We are really not impressed or comfortable here at all. The other 2 options are The Grand or The Lanai both also have mixed reviews. The lanai is much bigger, with a bath you can use and a full size kitchen and balcony for the same price, I guess it's a matter of finding somewhere comfortable when there is not much to choose from and they know it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Qld
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

On check in, which should always be a hassle free experience, I was confronted with an extra charge of $35 to make up a sofa bed on top of the quoted price. When I indicated I would make the bed myself, I was told it was against safety regulations?!?

Further, is it not common practice that the quoted booking confirmation price is what you are actually charged? The explanation from the back of house Manager, was that the receptionist that used to take bookings had been let go because of mistakes. Adequate training and supervision might have helped this person keep their job. This was really nothing to do with me, for whatever the reason for the error, it was in my view extremely unprofessional.

The quoted price was after discussion honoured, and I was rudely reminded that a note would be placed on my profile to make sure I understood that in future there would be an additional charge of $35 for the extra bed. Excuse me, but to which future stay is she referring to ?!?!

On a more positive note, the 1 bed apt was of modern decor and the cleaners do a great job.

Internet will cost you $20.00 per day!

It was very noisy with a few parties going on (maybe it was just one big one?), and the curtains were flimsy. The view is the rooftops of shops.

Food at Table 38 where you can charge back to your room is very average.

On checkout, I was asked "how would you like to pay for that". I passed over my credit card and the receptionist commenced the transaction at which point I stopped it.

Is it also not common practice to be advised details of the charges PRIOR to taking the monies owing?

I would not consider staying at these apartments ever again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was very impressed by these apartments. The service on arrival was friendly, efficient and informative. The rooms are new, spacious, spotlessly clean and exceptionally well provisioned. The rooms were cleaned promptly in the morning after I left. The parking was free, and it's very close to the centre of town. After a dreadful experience at some serviced apartments in Brisbane for a similar cost, this was a welcome relief, and this so far has been a gold standard for me for serviced apartments in Australia. Well done Quest!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Mackay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Mackay

Address: 38 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Mackay is an all Apartment Hotel featuring 96 Studio, One and Two Bedroom Apartments that can be used for short or long term accommodation. It is brand new only opening in Sep 2009 centrally located right in the heart of the tropical city of Mackay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quest Mackay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Mackay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.