We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mid City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mid City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Mid City Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Mackay
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here on business. Was not a great experience. The positives were that the room was large and seemingly clean, the motel was reasonably well-located and the staff were nice. The negatives were that the motel was very expensive for what it was, extremely dated, and not very secure (thin doors and accessible windows).

A group of us stayed here for business. One of our party checked out late one night when her room was overrun with bugs. We were told that there was a sandfly problem in Mackay at the time. The rooms could not be properly sealed against this - there were gaps under the doors, and my room had louvers in the bathroom which could not be shut.

The rooms all had issues with power - when I first arrived I turned on the airconditioning. We went out to the shops. By the time I returned the power had stopped working, which meant that the fridge was no longer cool. That said, the staff were happy to help and switched the power back on. But I believe this was a problem across all our rooms.

In short, this was a tired motel. It is a reflection of how few accommodation options there are in town that a basic old motel such as this can charge $150 a night. I understand that the standard is consistent with others at this price point in town, but that's not saying much. The fact that it appeared to be full every day reflects the lack of options rather than the quality of the motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
20
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Been Mackay shopping for years and we decided to go for a drive down from Canelands and found this hidden little gem. Very clean quiet large rooms and great decor has been modern up to great standard. King bed and single bed for 140 pretty good price for Mackay but the walk to Canelands and main centre for shopping and dining is fantastic only 10 mins and right beside the river. Very quiet place. People at the counter were so lovely and helpful.will stay here again as close to everything .

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My room was extremely noisy until some motor or external fan turned off around 8pm. Not comfortable until then. Maybe other rooms were less noisy. Room was very basic. No coffee or tea facilities in room. Hot water fluctuated during shower which was not enjoyable. Room was clean and adequate however definitely dated. Location was great and service was adequate. Mackay accommodation in general I find is far over priced so this probably is on the cheaper side. And that is the quality u get here.
I would not recommend this accommodation to others however location is convenient. I hope they renovate soon and solve problem with noise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

An excellent Inner City Motel- well run by a professional couple who were very friendly and helpful.

Good location convenient for good numerous restaurants and easy to find.

The Bathroom area was tired and suggest it was in dire need of replacement.

Swimming Pool was welcome respite from the humidity as the ambient temperature was as usual 30*C

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eberbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Appropriate amenity, good for an overnight-stop. It is located near the River and a few restaurants are in walking distance. We stayed there only for one night on our tour up to Cairns. Room was clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was our first time in Mackay and if you haven't been before, I would suggest this place as it is in THE best location. We didn't have a car so being located in town and walking distance to most things was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This motel is in a lovely location right next to the River. Ask for a room with a view. Very tired but comfortable enough. King room had a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. Bed was comfortable and reception lady was very polite. We walked along the boardwalk beside the motel to the restaurants at the base of the shopping centre. Pleasant walk even in the dark.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mid City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motor Inn

Address: 2 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mid City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mid City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid City Motor Hotel Mackay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.