We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy Customers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of D'Arcy Arms Motel & Restaurant

D'Arcy Arms Motel & Restaurant
2923 Gold Coast Hwy, Queensland 4217, Australia
(07) 5592 0882
Improve this listing
Ranked #788 of 1,639 restaurants in Gold Coast
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maclean, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Happy Customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This Restaurant was one of the BEST on the gold coast, we always were regulars whom stayed and eat there all the time, so to us it was a big disapointment after our reciece visit ,when asking about staff and menu, we were told that it has all changed ,new menu which is only bistro standard now when we were always used to the al carte menu and the atomsphere is no long the same, not to mention how the new manager was dressed in casual footy shirt and shorts while we were always used to well dressed staff and the high standard while still having that lovely Irish atomsphere. We wont be going back again . Darcy Arms you have really gone down hill, wake up before you lose all your regulars.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    5
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dont bother going on St Patricks Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We booked several motel rooms and spent the night there. There was an outside area as well as inside, I went inside and bought the round, then was not allowed back out by the arrogant security guard that they hired, so had to leave the drinks. A few times they blocked our movements, not being allowed inside and out, and also told a few untruths which I wont go into, we are not kids for goodness sake, all in our 40's, 50's and even one friend was celebrating his 81st birthday!!!

Great people there and great music, but unfortunately spoiled, the reception lady who booked the rooms for us all very rude too and this was confirmed by friends.

Sorry Fiona, you are a lovely lady but need to pick your act up, noticed quite a few stressed staff there over the last few times that I have visited.

We have spent a lot of money at this place over the years, taking family and friends, been disappointed a few times, but let it go, but last week was the last straw, wont be going back there, take my advice guys, try Fiddlers Green in Surfers Paradise, and get a taxi, you will be treated with a little respect.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Food, Cosy Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This restaurant is one of the best on the Gold Coast. I have lived one street over from this restaurant for the last eight years and I just keep going back time and time again as I am never disappointed with the food or the service. One of the best consistent restaurants on the Coast. The wine menu is also very extensive and never disappoints, its also BYO which is helpful when you want to bring along a special bottle. The manager Fiona is also attentive and friendly and also advises what is the Chef's best dish. Awesome!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Very impressed. Best restaurant I have eaten in while traveling down under.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meal I've had in ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

While a little pricey, this place delivered the goods. I don't mind paying a bit more for a meal that was this good. Had the mushroom and Brie tart and it was to die for. My partner had the duck, best cooked duck either of us have ever tasted. Service was extremely friendly and the restaurant was cozy and private. Amazingly glad we picked this place and will dine again for sure!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Arcy Arms Motel & Restaurant also viewed

Paradise Point, Gold Coast
Merrimac, Gold Coast
 

Been to D'Arcy Arms Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Arcy Arms Motel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.