We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forgettable fare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bugzies Seafood Restaurant

Bugzies Seafood Restaurant
50-52 Victoria Avenue | Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
(07) 5527 5702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #612 of 1,726 Restaurants in Gold Coast
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“forgettable fare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nestled in a line of resturants near the ocean, and one of the better presented of the establishments (though in fairness the competition is hardly stellar), Bugzies seems to have a brisk trade.

But this might be the issue. Plenty of footfall means the quality of the product doesn't have to be spectacular.

Which is why the menu choices are mind-boggling. It seems to be a greek-ish restaurant, but there is a seafood speciality, plus lots of pasta dishes, all kinds of italian salads. Difficult to tell what sort of place it thinks it is. If it's everything to everyone, the food quality has to reflect that. Not sure it does currently.

Of course the house wine was "sold out". The replacement house wine was New Zealand. In Queensland? Is internal wine duty so bad in Australia? An ominous start.

The service was fine if somewhat perfunctory. But not a major worry.

But the big letdown was the food. Before I say why, a disclaimer - I saw other plates being brought out, especially the seafood sharing platters, which looked amazing. If I ever go back, that's what I will have. Clearly that's where the creative effort (not to mention budget) is going. Seafood platters seem well worth the visit.

But meanwhile... I chose a prawn pasta thing. With rice. The prawns were fine if a little uneventful. no seasoning. The 'sauce' which was meant to be garlic was an incomprehensible bright yellow shade and was pretty unpleasant. Plus, not many cloves had been harmed in the making of the sauce either. And then the rice, a neatly shaped mount of white rice - was soft on the top and crunchy on the bottom: a culinary surprise, but not an altogether nice one. In fact, I would imagine most other folk would just send it back. By this time I'd waited long enough, and time was dragging on.

So, a little attention to detail at the pass (assuming someone runs the pass here) wouldn't go amiss, and perhaps some of the passing trade might become returning clients. The rest of it was ok enough, but if you can't do rice, you're not going to get good reviews. Sorry guys.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    63
    37
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
“Amazed at the reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am amazed at what people write in their reviews. I felt compelled to reply. This Bugzies Restaurant is clearly a SEAFOOD restaurant. The rule of thumb, to me that is, is that if you go to a seafood restaurant, you order seafood and if you go to a Chinese restaurant, you don't order fish and chips - you know what I mean?

So people complaining about Nasi Goreng is absurd. If you want only fish and chips, better go to a takeaway - it will gives you better value, I should think!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We go here a bit and sometimes you get a great meal and others you don't. Its sort of hit and miss here. If they are full - service is slow and it also seems to be very disorgansied. I don't know if the staff are students or not very well trained but having a waiter with a broken arm - doesn't seem to be great to me.
We have had our best meals during the week and wouldn't recommend Fri or Sat nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday & Wedding anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely night out ! Twice in one month,and spoilt with a free bottle of wine for our anniversary. Plus on our birthday we got one free main meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Bugzies restaurant looks OK but unfortunately one of those disappointing places. I can almost excuse our waiter, he is probably a backpacker trying to earn some travel money but, like many visitors, he pretended to understand english and preferred to guess than ask. I ordered fish and asked for the chips to be well done (golden), I got well done fish and soggy chips. When I told him he got it wrong, he argued with me and insisted that I ordered well done fish. I will remember next time to ask my waiter to repeat the order back to me, although he should have done that in any case.

There was no excuse for my wife's dish, she ordered Nasi Goreng and it was too slaty to eat. They refunded my fish but would not refund the Nasi Goreng, even when I asked them to eat some and offered to pay for it if they could say it wasn't too salty.

When we were complaining, the people at the table next to us said they agreed and got up and left in disgust.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugzies Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Bugzies Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bugzies Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.