We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service; relaxed atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Espresso

Elk Espresso
16 Chelsea Ave, | Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
(07) 5592 2888
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,737 Restaurants in Gold Coast
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
1 review
“Great food and service; relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is my second time here; just have to say its a refreshing change going somewhere where you actually get great service and excellent food. Just so impressed. Well done!.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Farewell Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Elk Espresso for our breakfast before heading to the airport to return home.

It had given me time to reflect on our journey especially with the glistening sun rays shining across our table. Truly, Gold Coast is a lovely place and home to simple delightful experiences like Elk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Coffee - But Was it Worth the WAIT?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We read reviews of this eatery on various forums and decided to give it a go (seeing they have mainly good reviews). We arrived shortly after 8 am on Saturday morning and found a little eatery among residential homes. Seeing there were already a number of tables taken, we were so sure this place must have such great reputation. We needed a table of 6. We were told it'll be a 10 mins wait. After 10 mins wait, they came back and told us most of their tables have only just received their food so it'll be another 15-20 mins wait. We asked if we can split up into 2 tables of 3 each. They took a while to decide but agreed in the end. It took another 10 mins or so to get their attention to order breakfast and coffees. The coffees and shakes came quite quickly and yes they were great . But our drinks were long gone before we sighted our breakfasts. The breakfast were nice but I wouldn't classify as "amazing". By the time we were ready to leave it was almost 1 hour and 30 mins later. However, what really gave me a bad taste in the mouth was the 10 mins wait to pay (by cash) simply because the cashier claims they have been having issues with their eftpos machine (the machine takes at least 1 min to work out whether it is happy to take the card or not and very often it's not!) and was repeatedly trying to ask customers for different cards believing it's the customer's card's problem. Perhaps be more flexible and accept the cash payments while you wait between each try of those cards??!!!?? No word of apologies either from the cashier for the long waits. I don't think I'll be in a hurry to go back again no matter how good their coffee is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had breakfast at Elk on consecutive days during a short visit to the Gold Coast and loved it. Excellent coffee and bacon and eggs, Friendly casual service. Lovely bright outlook with the rooms opening on to the street. If you are brave try the Creme Brulee thickshake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Favourite Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My boyfriend used to live around the corner from Elk and that is how we discovered it. Even though we've now moved further down the Gold Coast we go every Sunday and take everyone that comes to visit us. Their food and drinks are great and we've never had a bad experience there. My personal favourite is the Kickass Shakes (caramel, ice cream and double shot of espresso). Their staff are always really friendly and efficient. It has a great atmosphere and I move from the Gold Coast I will miss Elk more than anything else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Espresso also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Elk Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.