We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a great place and situation we love it, thank you. Geoff and Pauline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Simeon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Simeon to your Saves list
San Simeon
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   387 Golden Four Drive Tugun | Tugun, Queensland 4224, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 313 Specialty Lodging in Gold Coast
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“its a great place and situation we love it, thank you. Geoff and Pauline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

we will be back as its our favorite place to stay, being right on the beach with no roads is a bonus, plus it central to everything, and so quiet, the planes dont even bother you.

Room Tip: The only complaint is the beds are too hard, we always have to bring a toppa pad so we can sleep, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSimeonApart, Manager at San Simeon, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you Geoff & Pauline for your lovely remarks. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. I am sorry you found the bed hard, please mention it when you ring to make your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had a fantastic couple of days and will certainly be going back for a longer one. The service was fantastic, the units were beautiful, clean and fitted with everything you could want. Lifts were great and the use of trolley to bring your gear up with a blessing, espeically if you are over 40!! Good for the knees!!! The pool is heated and nice and clean, and the beach is at the door. Very friendly Service.. and nice comfy bed!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The apartment was very, very dated. It had clearly been set up decades ago and nothing has been changed. The furniture looks like it came from somebody's cast-offs, and the artwork wouldn't even sell in a garage sale! The rug in the living room is absolutely threadbare and frayed.
The walls are marked from years of use, and badly need re-painting. The door frames are showing rust. The bathroom fittings are the old brown Caroma plastic fittings from the 70's, and some are broken. The cleaning is perfunctory, for example the tops of the tiled skirting boards in the second toilet have layers of dust. When we turned back the two single beds for the first time, there was a hair on both. It could be the cleaner's, but one was fair and one was dark, so I'm not sure.
The barbeque area downstairs has an ancient old timber table and benches, I wouldn't even sit in it. The old treated pine fence surrounding it is also very old and unpleasant.
For the prices charged this apartment was very poor value. We booked months ahead and I know there are updated apartments in the complex, but we were put into the worst apartment I have stayed in in decades.
If there are better apartments, surely the guest should be given the best there is? Or if not, the dumps should be discounted to give guests a choice. Do not stay at San Simeon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSimeonApart, Manager at San Simeon, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not have have an enjoyable stay. We are happy to report the BBQ area is to undergo refurbishment in February once the busy Xmas/January holidays have passed. This has been in the planning for the last few months. This will then compliment the newly refurbished pool area.
All our apartments are individually owned so I will certainly will pass on your concerns.
While we are sorry you had a less-than-perfect apartment your feedback will be used to improve all other areas of concern and we hope you will give us another chance on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had a brilliant time with the kids. We had everything we needed and no roads to cross to get to the beach! Will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I took my mother for a trip away for a couple of days, and she loved the position. the place itself was clean and quiet, and the stafff were very helpful.
Only thing we were a bit disapointed by was the pool was being renovated and we would of loved to have a swim. but apart from that everything was great. Would have no hesitation in recomending for other people to visit

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSimeonApart, Manager at San Simeon, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you and your mother enjoyed your stay. We apologise you were unable to enjoy the pool but you will pleased that the renovations have now finished and looking fabulous, ready for you to enjoy on your next visit.
Shirene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We wanted a relaxing week by the sea and were not disappointed.We had a spacious apartment on the top floor with stunning views and WOW factor.Although furniture and fittings little dated everything was clean and in working order.We had use of swimming pool to ourselves most times and the easy access to beach was just great.We loved Coolangatta,only five minutes drive and the noise from the airport did not bother us,in fact it was quite a sight to watch them coming in to land.We were grateful to get our keys early,before 11am as we had flown in on an early long haul flight . We would love to return to San Simeon and Australia once again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Probably a little on the pricey side based on the condition and cleanliness of the unit. I think we paid $215 for one night - way too much for what it was. Great location for these apartments as they are beachfront but just need alot of work and a good clean.

Alot of basic provisions missing. There was only one bath towel provided for each bedroom and this was for 4 people. There were no bins in the apartment either and they didn't provide some of the basic bathroom provisions. If we stayed again, I would probably ask to inspect the unit prior to the booking and ask for a room on a higher floor next time, simply for the privacy as you could see right into the apartments on the lower floors from the beach, yard and pool areas. The balcony area had not been cleaned and the table and chairs had not been wiped down. The carpets in the living area had some debris and had not been cleaned. Alot of basic maintenance is needed for the unit that we stayed in. The kitchen draw laminates were all peeling off, the hot water system was constantly dripping water, the kettle was really old and grotty and some of the timber blinds were in disrepair with rods snapped off so they didn't close properly anymore.

Room Tip: Recommend asking to view the room prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon

Address: 387 Golden Four Drive Tugun | Tugun, Queensland 4224, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 313 Specialty Lodging in Gold Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront with no roads to cross! San Simeon enjoys a unique absolute beachfront location with a fantastic pool/spa & BBQ area right on the sands of Tugun beach, and so centrally located in the heart of the southern Gold Coast. San Simeon enjoys a quiet beachfront location yet is still so convenient to the Gold Coast Airport, John Flynn Hospital, Coolangatta entertainment precinct and the beautiful Tweed Coast. The theme parks are all easily accessible via the M1 motorway. Offering fully self-contained spacious one or two bedroom apartments with million dollar ocean views, San Simeon is perfect for that romantic getaway or a fun filled holiday with the family. Enjoy a relaxing beach holiday with us on your next visit to the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Simeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.