We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gladstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gladstone to your Saves list
Mercure Gladstone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Bell and O Connell Street | Barney Point, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed just one night a business trip. The room was very modern and clean, great amenities in the room including Nespresso machine, great toiletries, the only fault is I had room overlooking atrium, you could hear club announcements in the room and also light did filter in beyond drapes, maybe full block out blinds would work better for these rooms, so I would suggest you ask for a room not overlooking the atrium. Would definitely recommend Mercure Gladstone and would have no hesitation in staying there again. Reception staff efficient and courteous. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
22
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed overnight in Gladstone to ensure that we caught the ferry to Herron Is the next morning. This was always just going to be an over night stay with little expectations. We were highly surprised at the facilities of the Mercure: I think it had 4 places to eat, at least two bars, staff were friendly and the room was excellent and well appointed. It is also a club so you get a whole lot more than just a room.

Room Tip: Taxis are extremely hard to catch from the airport. The Hotel offers a pick up service if booked be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

where to begin. I have never written a review prior to now. I am a frequent traveller and use to be an accor member. This has to be the worst hotel to stay at. No attention to detail. Kettle in room didn't work. Took three requests to get it replaced. No coffee to in the room and after 4 days they handn't even emptied the rubbish. That was the good part. I was hoping to have a business dinner in the restuarant. I turned up with 4 people. The quality of the meals was well below standard. Infact it was dreadful. We ordered the rib eye steak. They were tiny thin and over cooked and their description of the meal was far better than what was delivered. The kicker was the fact that when they asked how we enjoyed our meal and we expressed our dissatisfaction we were then handed the full bill of $258 with not even the offer of a discount or a free cup of coffee. The next night tried the carvery. It was empty and took the chef 40 minutes to plate up roast lamb and precooked vegies. I would not recommend this place to anyone. In fact since my experience I have heard lots of similar stories, so not sure where all these good reviews are coming from? The local B n B does a far better job of service and food.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear WDAMartin,
Thanks for taking the time to share your review, I am sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We pride ourselves on delivering good guest expereinces so I am most concerned that we seem to have got it wrong on a number off occasions.
Please contact me direct so that I can work towards fixing these issues for you.
Regards,
Gavin Hocking
General Manager
gavin@gladstonemercure.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The Mecure at Gladstone is a beautifully furnished, clean and friendly place to stay! Loved it! We had been on the road for 2 long days and just wanting to stop and revive. From the minute we arrived at reception we were treated with the utmost respect and nothing was a problem for the most gorgeous staff. The rooms were clean and very tastefully furnished! If you book here be aware that it is connected with the Sports Club. This however caused us no problem and it was quiet in our room. We dined in the clubs restaurant and again the friendly service continued. Thank you for our wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I get used to poor service in towns that are resource based, this is definitely not the case here, the staff at reception were fantastic, the rooms are very modern and clean, there are a number of restaurants to choose from and the pokies are not shoved in your face.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel in gladstone! Staying for a couple of nights for business. Hotel was not too hard to find, the service was FANTASTIC from the reception staff from check-in all the way through until check-out. The rooms were beautiful, and very well presented, and the beds were very comfortable. Also it was an excellent choice of location being attached to the Yaralla Sports Club, so many restaurants to chose from, live entertainment, and friendly staff. And having access to free gym, golf and cinemas while i stayed was very handy. Well worth your money and will be back!! Thanks Mercure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gladstone

Address: Cnr Bell and O Connell Street | Barney Point, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gladstone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gladstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.