We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gladstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gladstone to your Saves list
Mercure Gladstone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Bell and O Connell Street | Barney Point, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed a couple of times now, the rooms are great, good size, nice furnishings and clean. I stay for work so appreciate the desk, all hotels should learn to have power points at the desk!
The staff are friendly and with the choice of restaurants it's any easy place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: If you get an upgrade take it! I like the space of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
22
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a bit of a joke between my husband and I, there is another review saying how good the pool is, but there is no pool. Insistently he still packed board shorts for a one night stay.

Rooms a good, he liked the big balcony, I like the clean bathroom, the shampoo etc is very nice.

The setup with Yaralla is a good, lots of eating options and there right at your door.

Room Tip: We had a room looking over the sports fields, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi MSGH1234,

Thankyou for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

When we were opening the hotel, we wanted a hotel and a room that felt welcoming, I am glad you enjoyed your room and the amenities.

With the Gladstone Aquatic Centre now available for our guests to use free of charge maybe your husband may get the swim he wanted.

Thanks again,

Gavin Hocking
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our kids on our way in and out of Gladstone, it is fair to say we were not expecting too much.

WOW, we were so surprised, we stayed in a large, clean room with nice furnishings. TV's are huge and the lounge area worked well with the kids.

The 'Club' setup didn't add to our stay as we ate in the room, but the whole complex looks great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Zxv123,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am a father of three and like you appreciate a room that works well with kids. I am glad you had a good stay.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Hocking
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is kind of an unusual hotel as it is part of a sports club and so it's signage is not very clear and the first thing you encounter when you walk in the door is a Sign in desk for the sports club. The actual reception is set back and not very obvious. The rooms and staff were lovely but would not recommend eating in the Steak bar.Over an hour till food was delivered and it was not very good, but the other restaurants were good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well laid out for quiet and ease of access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear 255068Jill,

Thanks for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have passed on your feedback regarding R&B’s; an hour is too long to wait for meals, so we are working with the team there to rectify these situations. Mercure Gladstone is the only community owned hotel with the Accor group in Queensland, so the club set up does present us some unique challenges and opportunities. The concierge staff are trained to be able to help out in the hotel reception so hopefully this will alleviate any confusion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Hocking
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staff were very helpful and meals were excellent in the bistro.
Room very clean & tidy.
Would stay there again.
The only downfall was that I found the motel was a little difficult to locate being I had never visited Gladstone before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Alextris2,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback.
We have had a couple of people comment about finding us so we are updating our confirmation letters to provide better instructions.
Hopefully we'll see you again.
Kind Regards,
Gavin Hocking
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting much when I booked this hotel - I've stayed at several other Mercures that were older, run down hotels.

This one is brand new and very nice. Very clean with nice decor.

My room was well laid out and very comfortable. There was a couch and easy chair both with reading lights and end tables - a couple could comfortable spend a quiet evening reading. There was also a good desk for work. I had a balcony overlooking the sports field, it was nice facing away from the road and the railway tracks.

Breakfast wasn't great. A pretty limited continental with spotty service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear lahmalo,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Gladstone.

As a new hotel with a young team it is re-assuring to hear from guests who have had a good stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your room, we have worked hard to make them a home away from home. We are working on the breakfast experience so I do hope you get an opportunity to try it again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Hocking
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a nice surprise, checking into the Mercure Gladstone, a fantastic property and ticked all the boxes...
The hotel is attached to a club and all very glitzy with a few dining choices and entertainment,
There are value added extras included like free cinema tickets, airport transfers, use of the sports club next doo (makes up for no pool).
The room was very funky and nice and roomy, beds comfortable as well as the pillows (very important!)
The continental breakfast was spot on, good quality and well priced.
Only downside is a bit out of town, however the free airport transfers make up for that.
Definitely recommend staying here - and will again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear AnnePerry,

Thankyou for your review, as a new property and a young team your review is very reassuring. Our goal is to provide the best accomodation in the area and we are continulally working towards this.

The "Lifestyle Package" has just been updated to include the Gladstone Aquatic centre, so although it is not onsite you will have access to the pools there very shortly.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Hocking
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gladstone

Address: Cnr Bell and O Connell Street | Barney Point, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gladstone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gladstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.