We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Coolangatta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Coolangatta to your Saves list
The Sebel Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 McLean Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I took advantage of a special deal on Wot if for a 5 night stay in a 1bedroom apartment. We couldn't have made a better choice ! As soon as we walked into the place and saw the fantastic views and the lovely apartment ( 704) we were really pleased. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The couple of little problems we had were fixed straight away, so that was good service.Surfing comps were on while we were there, great view from our balcony !Enjoyed everything, apartment, views, fantastic weather ! Will be back for sure !

Room Tip: Rooms from level 10 upwards I think would have views of Surfers Paradise as well as Coolangatta Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hello Pauline

Thank you for your review on The Sebel Coolangatta. Sounds like you really enjoyed the location and the view. As for the weather we try our best :-)
That really is a great tip thanks for putting it up there.
We look forward to the opportunity to host once again in the future.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    49
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
66
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luanda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. The facility is in a good location in Coolangatta and had a great view. I would stay here again.The beds could use some updating but otherwise it was great.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hello Don

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at The Sebel Coolangatta. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the view and location. We have passed your thanks on to our team here. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Sebel, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views over Coolangatta beach. The one bedroom unit was spacious and well appointed. We spent many hours on the balcony taking in the views and enjoying the sunshine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Mike B, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Andy

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor.

As a first time stayer we are pleased you commented on our staff especially. You clearly picked a great time to visit and take in the beach views and the many aspects of the Coolangatta area.

We look forward to hosting once again at the Sebel Coolangatta.

Kind Regards
Mike & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A three generation family long weekend was spent in the Penthouse. Well worth the money, four bedrooms, three bathrooms, 4 toilets, two lounge areas, plunge pool, great views and massive balcony areas. Perfect location, close to everything. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and enjoy the luxury. Go with friends and share the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Mike B, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay in the penthouse at The Sebel Coolangatta.

I am pleased the 3 generations enjoyed the facilities of the complex and of course the beach the shops and everything else Coolangatta has to offer.
we pride ourselves in making your stay special and we are delighted you thought to comment on our staff.
We really do look forward to the opportunity to provide you another perfect stay at the Sebel Coolangatta.

Kind regards
Mike & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was another return visit (Oct 2013 and Jan 2014). This time my family (myself and my three children 16, 14 and 13) spent 10 days in apartment 405. Well appointed apartment with two lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, great workable kitchen and lounge (all with modern appliances), great balcony and setting overlooking the beach and ocean and free secure car parking.

We had a great time with perfect beaches, lovely pool for our customary afternoon swim, great BBQ area and so many other activities in close proximity (Theme parks and surfers paradise easy half hour drive to the north with Byron Bay, Bangalow markets and hinterland 30 mins to the South).

Receiving lovely smiles and genuine greetings each day from the reception staff (Sarah and Layla) gives your day a lift!

Management (Mick) was great, insisting on security and safety of guests and residents.

Will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello DFRAT
We really appreciate your comments and that you chose to return to The Sebel Coolangatta. Our staff all pride themselves in the way they engage with our guests and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Regards

Mike & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Coolangatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Coolangatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.