We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolangatta holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Coolangatta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Coolangatta to your Saves list
The Sebel Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 McLean Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extended Stay
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Coolangatta holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

great view. location fairly good also ( however considerable distance to Tweed Heads supermarkets, etc - staff very helpful and courteous. well located in relation to beach and airport 9 however fairly noisy at night time, due to trucks and traffic )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday. Yes Marisa and Lisa are wonderful on Reception. We are very lucky.
We hope to see you again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    48
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
88
65
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have stayed in Coolangatta several times and this time we got a really great rate on the Accor website. Our apartment was on the 12th floor and the views were just fantastic. The apartment had plenty of room and the two bedrooms and two bathrooms were very handy. The balcony was a good size and the staff were always helpful. We will stay here again if we can get a good rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Checked in, given a low floor even though I requested a high floor even though the place was empty (had a letter through the door offering another night for just $125). The dishwasher did not work and had a broken power container, the oven did not work as the element was broken, toilet kept blocking and overflowing, cleaning was appalling. On checkout I tried to voice my concerns and the receptionist could not have cared less, did not even write anything down... shame, Mantra are normally good quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and try to act on the negative to ensure these experiences do not occur again.
We are extremely disappointed you did not experience our usually high standards at Grand Mercure Coolangatta and it sounds like you had a series of mishaps which we usually take immediate measures to rectify at the earliest possible time.
In relation to your lower level apartment, I am not sure what happened in your particular case, but sometimes when booking comes through via a third party, we are not always aware of your requests. However, if we are aware, we always try to provide guest preferences, because we pride ourselves on the high level of guest satisfaction experienced at Grand Mercure Coolangatta. In relationed to not being moved to another apartment, August occupancy was at 85 per cent throughout with many periods during that month booked out. I am surprised that you weren't relocated if it was at all possible as this is our usual practise. Again many thanks for taking the time to review your not so satisfying experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked 3 days in Coolangatta to get away from Canberra's winter and were very pleased with our choice of Grand Mercure, guided as usual by TA. Staff were friendly and helpful, and free parking is a nice bonus.
Our apartment was well appointed and spacious overall, though the bedroom's not large. Views from the rooms and from large balcony were spectacular; all along the coast from Surfers, to surfers and dolphins at Rainbow Bay.
Coolangatta itself was a pleasant surprise. It's clean and tidy with an attractive coastal walk, and a good selection of reasonably priced restuarants.
Highly recommended especially at low season rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Reception staff were always friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a comfy king bed. Apartment was in a great location directly opposite the Coolangatta beach with an unimpeded view of the beach and ocean. A large balcony drew us to the outside at every opportunity. Lots of cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity if you want to eat out but the kitchen facilities and utensils were more than adequate if you want to cook meals. Traffic noise is a bit annoying but a pair of earplugs does the trick. All in all a fabulous block of apatments to stay in. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Owner at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your time and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I just loved it had a ball The views were the best Friendly staff Very modern apartment Close to restaurants etc

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Coolangatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Coolangatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.