We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely amongst top 10 in Coolangata/Tweed Heads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecada Modern Dining

Cecada Modern Dining
110 Marine Parade | Reflection Building 2, Coolangatta, Queensland, Australia
07 5599 2270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 104 Restaurants in Coolangatta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Surely amongst top 10 in Coolangata/Tweed Heads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had a most enjoyable dinner at this restaurant. I have eaten at a number of surrounding restaurants, and to rate this as the 23rd best in the area (its current ranking) is ridiculous. I certainly have not found many better places to eat.

When we arrived, we were warned that there was a half hour delay in the kitchen, but the helpful waitress suggested that we have a first course of bread and dips to go with our drinks while we waited. This proved an excellent suggestion, and the main courses, when they arrived, were well worth waiting for. One of our party was a Vegan, but his food also was rated excellent (often a good test of a restaurant)

The dining area was quiet, despite the fact that the restaurant was virtually full.

Prices were reasonable, and were helped further by the fact that the restaurant was running a promotion in conjunction with the nearby Outrigger Hotel which cut 25% off the food bill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great dinner, but lacking some service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here twice; first for breakfast then for dinner. Breakfast (eggs and bacon) was ok, while dinner (eye fillet) was amazing! The eye fillet was cooked to perfection, and the overall flavours of the dish were very enjoyable. However, as restaurant advertised 25% off bill for happy hour (on a sign outside the restsurant) we were surprised to receive a full prize bill.... Upon asking we were told that offer needed to be mentioned at the time of ordering.... While the discount was provided, this issue deducted from the overall restaurant experience. Also, while wait staff were friendly, they did not appear very knowledgable about the wine on the menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“okay - nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently had breakfast here. Food okay but not outstandingand a bit ovepriced. Staff friendly but services quite slow. Wanted to check bill because there were a few of us had dined and wanted to split the bill. We were told we had to pay at counter. After about 10 minutes and asking several times they finally brought bill to us.
Okay but not great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice but not wonderful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Once again whilst on holidays we dined at Cecada. We usually eat there a few times each holiday. Have to say this time we were disappointed by the size of the meals and the price they are charging for them. The service is definitely lacking even though not busy. Such a shame as it had been such a great restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice food, well presented but not enough to feed a 'cicada' and very much over priced. Average service

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecada Modern Dining also viewed

 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Cecada Modern Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecada Modern Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.