We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Thai Restaurant

Sunshine Thai Restaurant
152 Griffith St, Coolangatta, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 104 Restaurants in Coolangatta
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went to this place because it was close to the accommodation. Was pleasantly surprised. Food was really good. A little bit pricier than some of the other Thai restaurants on the street, but the food was good enough to pay a bit extra.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bland.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The service here was faultless, but the food was very average. Ordered a noodle dish, stiry fry and a curry and they all tasted the same. Very sugary and bland. Not at all authentic or even tasty. Only positive was the friendly and attentive service. Why is it so hard to find a good Thai place on the coast?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Best place to get Thai in town!!

Never dined in always got take out and were never let down. Good service and good food in coolangatta.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just fabulous food and great service. Even when we got there last following the movies they accommodated us. Went back 3x.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food good-long wait to be fed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived by 6.30 pm 15 minutes to have the order taken. Then we waited over an hour for our two entree and then only one arrived! We again informed the staff of this error and still took a further 15 minutes for the second one to arrive.By this stage our two teenage girls were getting the "why the hell did we come here look"-just what tired parents wanted. When the main meals arrived the food was acceptable. Loads of vegetables and pleasant flavour. By the end we were glad to be leaving- I informed my concerns to the two staff when paying the bill about the long wait but their response was "oh well....." I would not return during peak period. Maybe worth a second visit after 8pm during the week not on a Saturday night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Thai Restaurant also viewed

Coolangatta, Gold Coast
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Sunshine Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.