We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Views Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Coolangatta

Save Saved
You added Mantra Coolangatta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Coolangatta
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Views Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great spot to stay as it is in a central position and within walking distance to the club, shops and Restaurants. The Views are perfect and the white sand needs to be seen to be believed.
We have stayed here before and I must say the place does need to be freshened up. It is starting to look a little tired. The room was clean, the bed was confortable and the airconditioning worked well. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi glenda18

Thank you for posting your thoughts after your recent stay with us. The location certainly is perfect and we do feel very spoilt sometimes.
We definately are in full swing with the refurbishment of the rooms and hopefully when next you head down the M1 we're able to show you how nice the rooms are coming up. Unfortunately, we can never complete this as quick as we would like but most certainly we're headed in the right direction.

Thanks again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    87
    34
    21
    20
See reviews for
98
74
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spectacular ocean views. Nice vibe. Snapper to Kirra. friendly but discrete staff. Good pool and sauna.
Had a great time. Did Segways at Currumbin. Awesome. Went to Byron a couple of times. went to Draculas, and dreamworld. Good location.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Terry M

We're so glad to hear you had a great time on your recent stay and had ample time to experience the bext of the southern GC area. We really do have the best part of the coast but hey, don't tell everyone!

Thank you once again and hope we can entice you back real soon.

Kind Regards

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Was on 18th floor facing north- east... best view
Rooms are decent and have nice breeze
Location is potentially the best in coolangatta
Service was good- had man make up single beds for us.
Only improvement would be allow more than 1 car to park in car park.. 5 people staying 2 cars
Shampoo and conditioner was good!

Room Tip: One that faces beach! best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi JoeyD101

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and glad our staff could help you with your bedding requirements. The views are fantastic and we are very lucky with our location here.

Unfortunately due to the amount of residents that live in the complex, as much as we would like to, we're unable to offer more than 1 car park per unit.

Thanks again and hope we can host you again when next you head up the coast.

Kind Regards

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our 3rd stay- got a great apartment in the middle 7th floor as requested with beautiful view & sun all day. Rooms are definitely tired & need refurbishing. Pity owners don't all appreciate the benefit of this as some guests would not accept shabby carpet, old curtains & Bedspread that doesn't fit. Front office staff are very friendly & professional. Always quick to respond to any query we had. Mantra still our favourite (despite some wear & tear)& just hope Management can complete refurbishment as planned.

Room Tip: Middle apartments #3, 4 or 5 are best but can't be guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Judy C

Thank you for your lovely comments and we're very glad that we were able to help you out with your recent stay. We do always try our very best to look after our guests as best we possibly can.

We certainly are underway with our refurbishment program and we do hope that when next you visit you'll be able to stay in one of these rooms.

Kind Regards

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in September. It's OK (just) but really needs some work. We had a 1st floor 1 bedroom apartment which was only just OK - pretty tired. I note from Tripadvisor that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and it certainly needs it. Our room on the 1st floor was right above the pool and that wouldn't have been a problem as the sliding door kept the noise at bay, however, although there were tracks for privacy curtains there was only one little drop on the side which meant that we had no privacy from the pool or the road/footpath without closing the drapes which made the room too dark. Obviously the privacy certains have been taken off instead of being replaced.

The air-conditioning didn't work, except on hot and the dishwasher wasn't working either. Didn't try the other appliances.

It is in a good location and higher floors would have a good view. Definitely needs work.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor for views and privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Noosafella

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and I must apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay. The apartments are currently undergoing refurbishments which will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and the guest experience.
We always do our very best to try to help our guests and if there are any maintenance issues we will try to get these remedied immediately.

When next your travelling down from the Sunny Coast, don't hesitate to stay again so we can show you how our refurbishments are going.

Regards

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ok, so I wasn't expecting the hilton and the noise was so bad, I was ready to just leave. 4 hours o non stop screaming from some teenagers and kids. Not only that but there was some machine whirring in the background. it was unclean. i walked in to find a dirty table, dirty bathroom with hair on the floor and dirty soap dish. i just tried not to touch anything. I wish I'd brought my own bed linen. I hope they don't have bed bugs! Yucko!

Room Tip: Just don't come to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mache222

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It dissapoints me to learn that you encountered these issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail so that I can address these issues accordingly. 07 55068787

Thank you again and I look foward to hearing from you.

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed at the Mantra Coolangatta for a second visit. The first was to have easy access to the Coolangatta Airport for a morning flight to Japan and now visiting this month for my birthday. Do ask for a room on a higher floor. Staying on floor seven this time and wouldn't want lower. One bedroom apartments are on the ground to floor nine, two bedroom above that. The apartments have plenty of room with great views of the ocean. Do check that you have an ocean view room as there are some rooms without an ocean view. The apartments are self contained with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Ideal for couples getting away and at low season good value for this quality of accommodation. On site free parking, walking distance to pubs and shops. Aldi is close for grocery items. It is directly across from the beach so you cross the street to the parkland and then onto the sand. Great scenic walking, if you like that kind of thing. A great place to stay to hang out in comfort and more up market than a three star motel. High season rates may be shocking but well worth a look to see if there are any deals. You can book on the net but I like to phone directly as you can request an upper floor and check any details you are concerned about.

Room Tip: Check that you have an ocean view room, phone and request upper floors. Lower floors could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Australiaman

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Thanks also for the great tips, it's always nice to see when someone has some experience to pass on to others.

We are very happy we were able to assist you during your stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Matt Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Coolangatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Coolangatta

Address: 88 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Coolangatta 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mantra Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Coolangatta Hotel Coolangatta
Mantra Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Mantra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Coolangatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.