We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Room with Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Twin Towns Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Twin Towns Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Twin Towns Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Offer!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coolangatta
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Room with Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was the first time I have stayed at Outrigger Twin Towns and I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed on the 10th floor with views of the Tweed River and the beach to the South. The hotel room was great value for money and had everything you need for your stay plus more. I liked that the kitchenette had a microwave, crockery, sharp knife and cutting board for the afternoon nibblies and wine platter and not just the standard tea & coffee making facilities. The king bed was very comfortable and the room itself was quite spacious as well as being nice and clean. Direct access to Twin Towns is a bonus and everything else that you need is within walking distance. Breakfast the next morning in the restaurant next to reception was of a high quality with heaps to choose from. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback via this forum.

The team and I sincerely appreciate the detailed feedback and pleased that we exceeded your expectations regarding room layout, features and facilities of the resort.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Coolangatta, the destination of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    300
    92
    33
    17
See reviews for
172
376
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this Outrigger resort for four nights over Easter and our experience was excellent. Arriving well before the check-in time on Good Friday, our room was ready and no issues with getting in early to make the most of it. We had a nice ocean view and the room was spacious and clean.

The location is great, walking distance to the shopping area, beach, waterfront bars and restaurants, etc. Parking is undercover, but didn't seem to need card access so not sure how secure it is.

Buffet breakfast was included in our rate and offered the usual array of different options, plus the chance to have some items freshly cooked while you wait. The buffet was occasionally very busy but seemed to cope OK and the restaurant was full of acts and fans from Bluesfest at Byron Bay so it was a good vibe!

Overall, a good choice and offers good value booked on specials/advance deals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

The team and I were pleased to read that you enjoyed your four night Easter vacation with us and had the added bonus of checking into your room prior to 2.00 p.m. We share our car park facilities with Twin Towns Clubs and Resorts which features three levels and is closed between the hours of midnight and 06.00 a.m.

We were most fortunate to host a number of the bands for Byron Bay Bluesfest this year and as you experienced, the atmosphere was electric. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our unit was excellent, very clean and modern,views were great, service was first class excellent breakfast included in price,all in all first class,a great place to stay and relax,would recommend it to everyone, thanks, Pete and Lyn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Pete and Lyn, thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us at the Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast hosted in Signatures Restaurant, room layout, facilities and the destination. Thank you for your comments relating to the first class service you experienced; our team pride themselves on being good hosts to our guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort on your next visit to Coolangatta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Family of four had nice stay. We stayed for a night with a one and three year old. Friendly, prompt service, great location, clean, good breakfast choice that we pre purchased prior to staying. All round pleasant experience. Would definitely stay again. Or we will stay at other outrigger resorts around Australia.

Room Tip: Bins could have been a tiny bit bigger but other than that was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort. We are honoured to have hosted you and your family and thrilled to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay.

Unfortunately on this occasion you could only spend one night with us however do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Fantastic location, park the car and walk to evrything you need, love the way that you can walk through to Twin Towns without going outside - suited our needs perfectly, breakfast very good, will definitely return again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with Outrigger Twin Towns Resort via Tripadvisor.

The team and I completely agree with you that this is the perfect location. Coolangatta is the perfect spot to holiday. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to stay. Close to all amenities and the beach. Great club for
dining. The rooms are very clean and tidy and ample space in the rooms.
The breakfast was terrific as was included in the price.



Room Tip: Great Big Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, it is greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Visited the Outrigger Hotel for the Easter weekend. Expectations were pretty high considering this hotel was the 'number 1' hotel in Coolangatta.
Disappointing to say the least.
Firstly we did request a high floor. Totally understand requests cannot always be met but we got the lowest floor (level 1) possible with a view from the rear of the hotel overlooking a flat roof. Lovely..!! We did go back to reception and ask for a slightly higher level only to be told 'sorry we are fully booked this weekend' We did book months in advance but apparently this makes no difference. Reading back on trip advisor it seems to be if you request something with this hotel you get the opposite....
The rooms are VERY dated. musty smell in rooms. Kitchen very old fashioned. Balcony filthy. Pool and spa area grubby and the spa was freezing..!
Breakfast was okay... Staff not overly friendly nor did they explain how the buffet operates. Just shown to the table and left to it.
Over all this hotel is in much need of refurbishment. The average age of guests I would guess is around 65.
Not for younger couples or families.
We have visited many hotels in the Qld area and the Outrigger is possibly the worst we have stayed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and share you honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are very fortunate that we cater and have the opportunity to host different demographics, families, couples, conference groups. We are proud of our number one ranking on Tripadvisor for the Coolangatta area which is proven with our consistent positive review percentage of 83%.

It is disappointing to read that we failed to meet your expectations with regard to your overall experience. All efforts are made to facilitate guest room allocation requests. Occasionally this is not possible due to any number of restrictions including: owner bookings, regulatory requirements, physical booking volume (i.e Easter school holidays) or maintenance conditions. We would appreciate your understanding that the time in advance of a booking has no bearing on a room allocation.

We hope that you will continue to holiday in Coolangatta as it is a beautiful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Twin Towns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Twin Towns Resort

Address: Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Twin Towns Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Twin Towns Resort; famous for sun drenched days and that relaxed beach lifestyle. Enjoy life’s simple pleasures, golden beaches just steps away and space and time to relax to do as little, or as much as you like with the ones you love. A host of guest facilities are at your fingertips. Outrigger Twin Towns Resort is the perfect choice for an affordable, relaxed beach-style holiday getaway! It’s the ideal year-round holiday destination, close to world-class surfing beaches, hinterland winery and river tours and all the Gold and Tweed Coasts have to offer.The resort boasts stylishly appointed hotel rooms and fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the pristine beaches of the Southern Gold Coast and the sparkling waters of the Tweed River. The resort features two pools, spas, two tennis courts, mini golf course, games room, gymnasium with steam room, outdoor barbeque areas, a Business Centre and a state of the art conference facility.Entertain yourself at the adjacent Twin Towns Club, featuring endless dining and entertainment options, including six restaurants and lounges. Only 3 kms from Gold Coast International Airport and close to the Gold Coasts many attractions, Outrigger is also the perfect base to discover the natural beauty of the Tweed Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Twin Towns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Twin Towns Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.