We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay on Gold Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Twin Towns Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Twin Towns Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Twin Towns Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Offer!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coolangatta
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay on Gold Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This has got to be the best place you will find to stay, besides the famous beach, Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and the adjoining Twin Towns Services Club offer outstanding, accommodation, food, fun and entertainment.

There have been new dining options which we tried on the weekend, and I just have to tell you about it, because if you have'nt been here you are missing out on somethong special

Signatures restaurant in the resort now provides breakfast on a Sat and Sun until 11am. This is great as who wants to get up early after a night of partying at the club. You can wander down at around 10am as we did, grab the paper and feast on the best breaky ever. They have a chef to personally cook you're breaky, its great. In fact you should call it brunch because you will not need to eat again until dinner time

On Friday and Saturday nights there is a Buffet D'Hote in Signatures restaurant. It is very popular, so book early. You have a option of a main dish, and then a selection of a buffet. The food is first class and fantastic value. Wines are very reasonably priced and we had a bottle of chardonay for $20

A hidden gem and my favourite is the 1st on Wharf pub, on the ground floor of the club. It is a sports bar with TAB facilities. They have all sports showing on huge and I mean huge TVs. We watched the rugby, and it was great, What atmosphere. For $15 you can have a steak which is my favourite which includes a drink, a glass of dry white goes down well. There are lots of the options on the menu, but another favourite of mine is the spicy chicken drumlets for $8. The wine is under $3 a glass what value.

And finally, they have just brought in hotel food, where you can pick a cooked meal from the ground floor restaurant and take it up to your room

We have just the best time at Outrigger Twin Towns on the weekend, the staff are friendly, the food and drinks are great and reasonably priced, the resort facilities and rooms are outstanding, the adjoing club is 1st class.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea in the Ocean Tower, or a view of the Jack Evans boat harbour i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are thrilled that to read that your entire experience exceeded your expectations and that you were able to dine at Signatures for their new Buffet D’Hote. Buffet D’Hote is a buffet with a twist. As you are seated at your table there will be a choice of six mouth watering main meals to choose from or you may help yourself to the buffet selection. You are also welcome to indulge in both a main meal and the buffet, the choice is yours. Open for dinner Friday and Saturday nights from 5.30 p.m. with adults @$39.00 and children 5-12 years @$25.00. Hotel food is available from Signatures every Friday and Saturday evenings 5.30 p.m. – 9.00 p.m. Six items to choose from that are packaged and ready to take to your room.

Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and Twin Towns Services Club offer everything you would want under one roof. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    302
    93
    33
    17
See reviews for
173
377
36
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coochiemudlo Island, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Impressed with reception service friendly stayed in room 210 would have liked to be a bit higher the restaurant signatures buffet was excellent value would go again so much to choose from and the breakfast is one of the best I have had for a long time the staff were attentive and all round we had a nice stay the room was clean would prefer a shower than a shower over a bath as you get older its hard to get in and out of bath will come again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write and express your thoughts on your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with the highlight being the hot and cold buffet breakfast at Signatures Restaurant and our staff.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently stayed here for 4 nights with family.
Well I must say that we were very disappointed. We stayed in a 2 bedroom (with ocean views)which appeared to have not been unoccupied for a long time as it had a terrible smell and we assumed it was because it had been locked up for a long period but no matter how many windows and balcony doors we opened we couldn’t remove the smell. The room itself was dated and worn, the furniture in the family area was downright filthy and my children couldn’t sit on it. We contacted reception to come up and when they finally arrived (3 calls in total!) they reluctantly agreed with our concerns and offered us an alternative 2 bedroom unit on a different floor. Much to our dismay this wasn’t much better. Look I understand that motels, resorts etc go through their refurbishments stages but this was dreadful. The club areas (gaming room, restaurants etc.) were first class so my suggestion would be next refurbishment put more money into the accommodation side of the resort and not the entertainment area! Sorry guys I couldn’t recommend this to anyone!.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback relating to your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

First, it is disappointing to read that we failed to meet your expectations with regard to the standard of accommodation presented with our two bedroom apartments featured at the resort. We appreciate your comments and respect your decision not to return to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The double room in the Ocean Tower we stayed in (417) was a little poky. All appliances and the furniture were a little worn, the walls were marked a little, the paint on the doors a little chipped, the mattress a bit sagging - nothing too major, but just enough to notice. The ocean view was great.
The housekeeping was a bit slapdash - they just made the bed and that was it.
The location is central and close to the ocean, and the hotel is connected to the local RSL via a walkway.
The breakfast buffet was good, however I missed a few Asian options (ie soup), considering how many Japanese travel to the Gold Coast.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the pool looked nice - didn't try it out due to the weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

It is disappointing to read that we failed to meet your expectations regarding the standard of furnishings within the room. Feedback regarding the housekeeping team has been forwarded onto the Executive Housekeeper for her investigate and resolve.

Signatures Restaurant does accommodate to the clientele that are hosted at the resort and hence why the Asian style dishes are minimal. Asian guests including Japanese clientele, make up less than 1% of our business mix to the resort as they tend to holiday in Surfers Paradise.

On a positive note, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked for two nights last weekend for a short break. We had a fabulous time. The location is convenient and area is a great place to explore. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom apartment Rm 1048 which was large, clean and had lovely views of the Marina. The bed was comfy and the bathroom modern and spacious. The TV's are ancient but that would be my only criticism. Parking was included and gave us piece of mind that our car was safe throughout our stay. It was a shame that a room in the hotel tower wasn't available as our rate did not include breakfast. We paid for the buffet breakfast the first morning. The food was fresh and varied, again with great service. Having direct access to the Twin Towns RSL made for a convenient night of entertainment. We ate outside the complex and had a great experiences. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are absolutely thrilled with your review and are so pleased that you were able to enjoy all of the services available at the resort and the Club. Comments relating to the older style televisions featured in this apartment will be passed directly onto the investor of this apartment for their attention. Please note that majority of the resort now features LCD televisions.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again for another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Outrigger Twin Towns for a conference held next door at Twin Town Services Club. The room was large (two queen beds), small kitchenette and a lounge area with a small dining table and a large work desk. Room was very quiet even though lots of people about with various conference being held all at the same time. The gym is well appointed and pool wonderful evening at this time of the year, a bonus for me was the included breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide a review on your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are pleased to read that all facets of the stay met your expectations on this business trip. We hope that next time you are in Coolangatta either for business or pleasure that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed in room 411 and found my view and room fantastic! I was there watching my husband compete in the SLSA National Championships down the beach at North Kirra and found your resort the perfect spot for us. We could walk to all the beaches and then at night return for a great dinner at the club attached next door!
I also was travelling with our 13 month old and was so impressed with the wait staff at breakfast helping me with a high chair every morning at breakfast and a cot at no additional charge to our room, really appreciated that!
The morning breakfast buffet was fantastic! Very impressed.
And having Target so close by and all the shops just made life so easy for a mom traveling on her own with a bub. Service, room, food and convenience were fantastic!

Room Tip: Oceanview is definitely worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review and so pleased to read that you were impressed with everything that Outrigger Twin Towns Resort has on offer for our guests. I was pleased that your trip and stay was made easier by our staff's efforts.

We hope to welcome you and your husband back to the resort for the next Surf Life Saving Championships in 2015 and or when you are next in Coolangatta. We hope that is sooner than 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Twin Towns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Twin Towns Resort

Address: Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Twin Towns Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Twin Towns Resort; famous for sun drenched days and that relaxed beach lifestyle. Enjoy life’s simple pleasures, golden beaches just steps away and space and time to relax to do as little, or as much as you like with the ones you love. A host of guest facilities are at your fingertips. Outrigger Twin Towns Resort is the perfect choice for an affordable, relaxed beach-style holiday getaway! It’s the ideal year-round holiday destination, close to world-class surfing beaches, hinterland winery and river tours and all the Gold and Tweed Coasts have to offer.The resort boasts stylishly appointed hotel rooms and fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the pristine beaches of the Southern Gold Coast and the sparkling waters of the Tweed River. The resort features two pools, spas, two tennis courts, mini golf course, games room, gymnasium with steam room, outdoor barbeque areas, a Business Centre and a state of the art conference facility.Entertain yourself at the adjacent Twin Towns Club, featuring endless dining and entertainment options, including six restaurants and lounges. Only 3 kms from Gold Coast International Airport and close to the Gold Coasts many attractions, Outrigger is also the perfect base to discover the natural beauty of the Tweed Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Twin Towns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Twin Towns Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.