We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quiet time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nirvana By The Sea to your Saves list
Nirvana By The Sea
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Douglas St | Kirra QLD, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nirvana is a great building. Some owners live in it, others rent out their apartments to people like us. The management is well-organised, helpful and accommodating. Everything is spotless, inside the apartment and outside. Wonderful 25 metre lap pool and a really hot spa to luxuriate in. Then, over the road to the lovely beach. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby, hardly need to cook in the very well-equipped kitchen. Of course there were a few things missing, such as a genuinely sharp cook's knife. But there was a china tea-pot and china mugs, lots of quality glass-ware, adequate cutlery and pretty much most of what you need. And an ice-making fridge! Fabulous. The two-bedroom units overlooking the small shopping centre get the brightest of sunlight first thing in the morning and quite a bit of road noise. This means you have to keep the sliding doors closed, which means you have to use the airconditioning all night long and it can get a bit cold. The second bedroom was way too small. There is nothing the management can do about this, it's the building design, but surely we are past the stage of thinking that every group of travellers consists of a mummy and daddy in the "big room" and two nippers in the twin beds next door. For a grown adult, it was a bit insulting. Maybe an option with a double bed instead of the twins might be possible? The three bedroom Sky Homes are apparently the most comfortable for the non-nuclear family. An outstandingly good feature is the absolute silence in the building. No lift noises, no noisy neighbours, no common walls.

The experience of living at Nirvana was an interesting one. At the start, I thought, wow, this is living, I want to move into a high rise apartment. At the end I thought, wow, aren't I lucky to be able to go home to a real house with windows and doors that open and lots of lovely bedroom space. So I suppose, even if I didn't reach Nirvana, I did have a useful educational experience.

Room Tip: Pay more, book far ahead, get the Sky Home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Nirvana By The Sea, and that you found our facilities and staff to your satisfaction. Regards our bedding configurations for the second bedroom in our two bedroom apartments, we offer a choice of 2 king singles or a queen bed. This gives guests a good option when there are two couples etc. This option is available via our website when booking or ask when booking direct. Yes it is always a good idea to book early as this will give the best range of options for guests. Thank you posting a review, we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
44
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had 2 families of 4 stay in rooms next to each other in early November & everyone was happy with Nirvana. Everything was clean & new & the location is great, straight across the road from a very family friendly beach where even the lifeguards are very friendly. We usually stay in the middle of Surfers at a regular resort but due buggering up & booking flights during schoolies we needed somewhere far from the madness & whilst the pool isnt as good as our usual destination, it was good enough to occupy the kids (2x 7 y/olds & 2x 10 y/olds) & the beach compensated in any case. Easy access to the main freeway & a quiet & relaxed area make this a very good holiday destination. The only thing we didnt like was the big garbage truck across the road waking everyone up early of a morning but this is no fault of the Nirvana & wouldn't be enough to stop us returning there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Its great that you found Nirvana by The Sea and beautiful Kirra Beach a good place to holiday.
We find now that a lot of guests are surprised at how nice it is down at the southern end of the Gold Coast. The pace is much more relaxed and the beach is sensational, so much sand. If there was one thing we would change: it would be the garbage trucks first thing in the morning! But unfortunately I think it is beyond our control. Thank for taking the time to post a reveiw and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Nirvana for 9 days. And we had the most awesome time throughout the whole stay. Everything looks spotless & spanking new. And we were greeted by an incredible view of the ocean once we stepped into the apartment. We booked the theatre on our 3rd night. And our boys were totally blown away!

On our 2nd day there, we realized there was a small brown spot on one of the cushions. Once we called in to the reception, the housekeeping was immediately sent up to have it replaced.

Also on the day before we were due to checkout, there was some plumbing problem. We had no water for about 2-3 hours. That was pretty uncomfortable & inconvenient for us. But we were updated once the problem was fixed.

Nirvana may also want to consider providing non stick cookware. It would save a lot of our time scrubbing them :)

Do note that Coolangatta is at the southern end of Gold Coast. So it would be advisable to hire a car to travel around.

But overall, our stay at Nirvana was truly fantastic! The staffs at the reception were always full of smiles & ready to help. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Nirvana By The Sea. Unfortunately we did lose water supply to the building for a few hours, a little technical problem. Maintenance staff were able to get the fault rectified promptly. It always pleasing when guests acknowledge the hard work put in by our lovely staff. We thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic units and we were looked after extremely well. Beautifully clean and maintained. Very enjoyable stay. We really loved the cinema room and had no trouble booking it. The pool and spa were very private and very clean. Our room overlooked the ocean and the park and even though we are near a main road it is not that noisy. I went for a waxing in the spa down stairs which provides many different services so you can really pamper yourself. The units were very modern and still looked brand new and were well equipped with everything you need for a stay, actually you could quite easily live permanently there. The position is very convenient to shops which are just across the road and there is no shortage of place to eat in the area and so close to Tweed Heads. Thankyou for a very pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: Any rooms a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your great review! It is always nice when guests acknowledge the efforts of the housekeepers and the other staff. They are large apartments and the housekeeping team work very hard to turn the apartments around ready for the next guests. Every one of the team here will be delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at Nirvana By The Sea. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed there last week of November for about a week. The apartment is generally clean and in good condition. Great location. It is right opposite of the beach and there is a playground just across the road. We much prefer Kirra to Surfers Paradise as it is less crowded.

Food excellent. Try the burger joint right below the apartment..Must try ! Also many good restaurants just around the corner..

Some point to note though :
1) the tv in the room has only 5 channels but in living room, there are more channels. We asked the front desk to fix/adjust the tv in the room so that we can have more channels but it didn't seem to work
2) there are no safe deposit box in the room but you can opt to deposit at the front desk. No receipt given
3) front desk closes at night

In general, we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your time at Nirvana By The Sea and Kirra Beach. As you said Kirra is much less crowded than further up the Gold Coast and provides a lovely big beach straight across the road from our accommodation.

With regards the points that your have raised,
It is important to note that Nirvana By The Sea is a Self Contained Apartment property not a hotel. All the apartments are privately owned and furnished. A large amount of accommodation in Queensland especially the Gold Coast comprise this type of accommodation. They are managed by a couple with the assistance of housekeeping, cleaning and maintenance staff.
As such these types of properties are unable to offer 24 hour reception.
Our reception hours etc are clearly displayed on all booking sites we affifliate with.

We do however have 24 hour after hours service which is available from the guests house phones in the room and also at the front lobby doors. Our after hours service are able to allow guests after hours check in, assist with problems and enquiries as well as deal with emergency situations should one occur. The managers reside in the building and are able to attend to any serious issues as required.

With regards TV chanells, all rooms have over 20 digital free to air chanels as well as 9 Foxtel chanells which are also offered free of charge.

As the apartments are privately owned we do not include safes in the rooms, but are happy for guests to place valuables in the safe at reception.

Thank you for posting a review and we would love to see you back for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nirvana By The Sea is just a great place to stay even for a short break. The only thing I would like to see is a blind on the ensuite window. The unit was roomy and very well appointed. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The plunge pool on the balcony was a novelty, but next time we would opt for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Front Office Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy to pass your comments onto the owner with regards the window. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A very high quality furnished property in a wonderful location on Kirra Beach with outstanding ocean views, Apartments are very clean & modern. There is a 7 eleven across the road, along with plenty of other great places to eat from take away to fine dining many are byo. Nirvana is only a five minute taxi ride from Gold Coast airport & has a bus stop near by. $20 breakfast voucher was very nice and welcoming. There is a spa connected to the apartments which I did not use due to my short visit.
Thank you and looking forward to our return visit

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our property, we do appreciate your sentiments. We would love to see you again if you decide to come to beautiful Kirra Beach again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirvana By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana By The Sea

Address: 1 Douglas St | Kirra QLD, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nirvana By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana by the Sea Coolangatta has redefined Kirra's beachfront esplanade, creating a new class of holiday apartment. 5 min to Coolangatta Airport Nirvana is the pinnacle of luxury accommodation. Designer life spaces resonating with stylish opulence that capture panoramic views of Queensland’s most famous beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.