We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do your homework "DO NOT STAY HERE"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Motel Bundaberg

Oscar Motel Bundaberg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oscar Motel Bundaberg to your Saves list
Oscar Motel Bundaberg
252 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do your homework "DO NOT STAY HERE"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I made the mistake of paying for 3 nights in advance. When I arrived I was embarrassed this is where I booked myself and my gf to stay. I tried to cancel it but was told to bad no cancellation policy by the arrogant owner who made me wait for about 15mins at the counter before even serving us.
The pics on there website do not show how ugly this hotel is and how easy it is for people to walk of the street strait into your room. It is located at a set of lights on the main street so its unbelievably noisy. And I mean traffic noisy. Its still to far to walk up to the main part of town to the pubs and clubs and good restaurants.
I could go on for hours how bad this hotel was and how the owner wanted me to pay more on my final night for my gf staying as well. He tried to scam more money from my credit card but I would not let him so he called the cops and had me and my gf thrown out. We stayed at a far better place just around the corner and was way cheaper. The owner of the next hotel said we are more than welcome to stay even though he emailed every hotel warning them about us but they said it happens a lot and he is considered a joke and is always having issues with people that stay there.
Do not pay for this hotel in advance, do your homework there is way nicer at better rates. I was so glad we stayed the 3rd night elsewhere. Was a blessing in disguise.

Room Tip: Do not pay in advance, you'll be sorry when you rock up. Do your homework.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Oscar Motel Bundaberg, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Mr C, your review here would be more meaningful if you included ALL the facts. Firstly you booked the cheapest room on line in Bundaberg that night, available for a minimum 3 night stay for 1 PERSON ONLY, through a third party discount booking site. The T&Cs clearly stated no cancellations and that there was an extra charge for additional people. When you arrived we were attending to other guests, and it only took a couple of minutes to finish assisting them before you were attended to, not 15 minutes as you claim. You were extremely rude and arrogant to our staff in the first instance and mentioned that you would not be staying the third night, long before you had gone to your room. We had actually upgraded you from a standard room to a deluxe room because we had a large group booked in who wanted to be altogether in the standard rooms. The room you were provided has recently been refubished with a new split system airconditioner, pillowtop bed, carpets, paint and soft furnishings. You did not complain about the standard or cleanliness of the room to us at all. If you had we would have done whatever we could to make you happy so we can only assume that there was nothing negative that you could show us about the room. Shortly after checking in you rang the booking site and were so rude and abusive to them that they rang us to warn of your temper. They told us they had never done that before but did so in this instance because your manner was quite frightening to them. It was they who told you about the no cancellation terms on the particular room type you booked, not us.
While you were here you were frequently heard swearing at and arguing with the person you were with. On the first morning you yelled obscenities at our room attendant who knocked on your door at 11am wanting to service your room. We also had a comment from a guest in the room next to yours about your noisy tirades.
On your third night you came to our office loudly claiming that the iron did not work (it has since been found to work perfectly). While one of us got you a new iron you were politely asked to pay the extra fee for the additional person. You flew into a rage and threw an out of date credit card across the counter at us. We asked you to calm down to which you replied with more obscenities and stormed out of the office, screaming rudely all the way back to your room. It was at that point we decided it was in the best interest of our other guests’ and staff safety that we call the Police and ask you to leave. We have been running this business successfully for the last 11.5 years and have never come across someone who has tried to intimidate people with screaming and obscenities like you did. In the best interests of our other guests we will not tolerate such disruptive, intimidating behaviour at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is an old style motel. It was very noisy from the passing traffic, but the lovely fresh crisp linen on a comfortable bed made for a reasonable nights sleep. Although the bathroom and toilet are old, they were clean and tidy.The staff were very friendly. The room had beds for 5 people, plus a roll out if needed, so I guess it would be a cheap overnight for a family if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Double room was spacious, cozy and very clean.
Parking was just infront of the room, which is good if you're travelling with a lot of stuff.
It had everything we needed. Small fridge, tv, microwave, cups/plates/knives etc and things we didn't use like hairdryer, ironing board/iron, pool.

Few negative things too.
Wireless internet was really bad.
Some of the things looked old. Like haidryer or plastic table and chairs in front of the room. They were not broken or dirty. Just looked a bit worn.

To end with a positive note - there were couple complimentary cookies for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed at Oscar Motel for one night in a double room. It's a really nice and clean place. We liked the room and the spacious bathroom a lot. The street is a bit noisy at night, but it's not too bad. The trick is probably to try enough Bundaberg Rum before going to sleep, so you don't hear it ;-)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscar Motel Bundaberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Motel Bundaberg

Address: 252 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oscar Motel Bundaberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Motel Bundaberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.