We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great value, great wholesale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grunske's

Grunske's
11e Petersen Street, Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
07-4152-2722
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 100 Restaurants in Bundaberg
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great view, great value, great wholesale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have been visiting Bundy for 15 years and never knew this cafe was here! My dad has always bought his fresh seafood here but this was our first meal in the new deck. We went for a Sunday lunch and despite the weather being very cold and windy, the large sheltered deck was perfect. We had the hot and cold seafood platter for two $55 for fish, prawns, half a muddy, scallops, 6 oysters etc - amazing value. The live music just topped the afternoon off. The smoked mackerel was so good we took some home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Grunske's is right on the Burnett River offering amazing views on the river. Seafood is extremely fresh (you can see it being unloaded off the trawlers). They have an casual multi-dining where you can enjoy cooked seafood or fresh seafood. Visited here a few times whilst in Bundaberg, you can't go past it. Extremely good value for money, friendly staff and generally very clean. The setting is lovely at sunset.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best seafood in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you love seafood go no further, for a fantastic nite out head to Grunske's by the river, you can order both fresh or cooked seafood and a wide variety to choice from and if your not a seafood lover there are other choices to get your taste buds going from steaks to pasta, there is also coffee and cake available to finish it off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A great casual dining experience sitting on the outdoor dining area overlooking the Burnett River, relaxing and great seafood.

Visited this place several times and each time the seafood is always excellent and extremely fresh and reasonable value for money.

This place has the tastiest and freshest prawns I have ever tasted and I have visited many seafood restaurants.

If you enjoy casual dining and fresh tasty seafood this place should be at the top of your list of eateries in Bundaberg.

Nothing fancy but nice and clean with friendly helpful staff, this place also offers takeaways and is licensed with a fresh seafood market attached.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal here. The seafood on offer was all presented in the cabinet so you can see how fresh it is. I didn't find the prices too bad for the quality of the meal, and serving sizes were decent so we shared a meal between us anyway. The river views are lovely and a nice reminder of where you are. We also took home fresh seafood for dinner as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunske's also viewed

Bundaberg, Queensland
Bundaberg, Queensland
 

Been to Grunske's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grunske's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.