We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stolen clothes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandras on Takalvan

Save Saved
You added Alexandras on Takalvan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexandras on Takalvan
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 Takalvan Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Bundaberg
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stolen clothes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

we stayed here for a few weeks so i took most of my belongings.
during my stay i first noticed small things like nail polish remover and stuff like that going missing, then it turned into a new dress i bought on my stay now that im home iv noticed 3 pairs of shorts (1 pair pyjama shorts) another dress a jumper and a few other things

we didn't know anyone else in thhe town and the reception lady said the cleaners must have picked it up with the towels which we only got once a week and they never washed our dishes worst stay ever although the restaurant downstairs was amazing the only good thing about the place

Room Tip: dont leave your stuff in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Alexandras on Takalvan, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Chantalchantal26261638,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you lost some items during your stay. I have conferred with management and can assure you that no items were collected with linen for cleaning.

We have complete confidence in our staff and can confirm that we have never experienced any theft and would take any matter most seriously. While I can appreciate how disappointing it is to misplace items during travel, we are aware that most guests leave items of significant value in their rooms without concern and we are very pleased to provide this level of comfort within our business. Security for guests is our prime concern and we are proud of the level of integrity of our business in all aspects.

Thank you for your compliments in regards to our restaurant. We apologise again for your disappointment during your stay and wish you all the best for your travels in future.

Kind regards,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
12
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here just for one night while on business, rate on WOTIF $85 p/night. The bed certainly comfortable, flat screen tv, bathroom basic but fine, small table to eat breaky/dinner. Room was quiet and car parked undercover. The room was clean, nothing flash, but certainly did the job. I ordered room service breakfast, mushrooms on toast, enjoyed this and would order again. I noticed there was a guest laundry, although I didn't use it. On arrival at 6 pm, receptionist was bright and bubbly when I was tired and grumpy, so five stars to her.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nice refurbishment; with new bedding, updated bathrooms, flatscreen TV, etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Off street parking at your door is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Alexandra Inn which we were very happy with. Room was alright for the price we paid, it was clean, the air-conditioning worked well, it had a huge tv and bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, cable tv was non-existent despite being advertised.

We also dined in the restaurant which was nice. Great steaks although a little expensive. We were also quite surprised when we were turned down when we asked for 'bundaberg rum' in our drinks. Apparently they had run out a few nights earlier. Obviously very difficult to get Bundaberg rum in Bundaberg! Not only had they run out of rum a few nights previously, a few items on the menu were unavailable and they failed to tell us until the moment when we tried to order our meals.

All in all, motel was value for money and I would stay there again. Unfortunately, I would definately go elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta H, Manager at Alexandras on Takalvan, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Kate785

On behalf of all staff at Alexandra's we would like to thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our new TV's and Beds.

We have looked into the issues you have raised and have taken your comments into consideration and I am very sorry for any inconvenience you incurred in our restaurant.

Should you ever be in Bundaberg again we would love to have you stay with us again.

Regards
Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

On arrival the staff were very helpful and happy to help with our requests for the children. Our room was serviced daily and the meals were devine both breakfast and dinner.

We plan to visit Bundaberg yearly and would stay again if accomodation is available and will be certainly recommending this Motel to family and friends. We enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the environment.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay pleasurable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Booked this on Wotif for a very good price, however was still a bit disappointed with what we got. If staying in Bundaberg again I would look elsewhere.

Pros: Bed was so comfortable with clean and crisp bed linen. Room was very dark and very quite, never heard any other guests. I am pregnant and have trouble sleeping and therefore really appreciated the great night's sleep I got here. Room was a good size, as was the milk for the tea and coffee!

Cons: Check in was basically the lady handed me the key and took my credit card details. No conversation, no helpful hints or explanation of the facilities. When we got to the room there were no towels. When I rang they were brought straight up (issue affected everyone as the linen company was late) but I didn't check them straightaway so did not discover until my late night shower that we had only been given 2 towels, no floor mat, face washer, hand towel. Air conditioner worked well but was noisy. Our undercover park in front of our room was taken by someone else when we got back from the turtles so we had to park up the end in the rain. In the morning a staff member opened our door and started to come in - just said "sorry wrong room" when she saw my husband in bed. Ever heard of knocking? Someone else's hair was in the shower, as well as some dirty marks. 2 people who were hardly ever in the room managed to use up all the toilet paper. Was one of those huge rolls that should have been re-filled before we got there. Need to drive if want to explore CBD, although there are some restaurants in walking distance. Hotel restaurant seemed to only be open Mon-Thurs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proftraveller22, Manager at Alexandras on Takalvan, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Naomilovestravel,

I would like to thank you very much for your candid review. We are also very pleased with our new beds and would like to thank you for your positive comments.

I am so sorry to hear about the other issues you encountered and would like to extend apologies on behalf of all staff at Alexandras. Your comments have been very helpful and we have attended to many of the points you have mentioned already.

Should you be travelling through Bundaberg again, we would love to have you and will strive to ensure that are very pleased with all aspects of your stay.

Kind regards,

Karen
(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Clean and nice room with all facilities including wifi, swim pool etc.
Good value for money.
Regrettably they forgat to service our room after the first day and we had to go begging for clean towels at the restaurant that night which was a bit strange.
Pay on departure was a little problem as the office was still closed at 8 am.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, check if your room is upstairs or at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandras on Takalvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandras on Takalvan

Address: 11 Takalvan Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandras on Takalvan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Alexandras on Takalvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bundaberg
Bundaberg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandras on Takalvan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.