We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn
246 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Melbourne
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Close to town and very friendly staff. Despite being on the highway the rooms were quiet. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. Rooms are small but the beds comfy and rooms are clean. Free unlimited internet was a bonus for work
I will be back

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Good morning and thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We acknowledge that our motel is what it is but we go our of our way to ensure that our bedding is always first rate and our rooms are clean comfortable and practical. We also ensure that our internet is always fast and it will always be free. I am pleased it was a plus factor for you. I trust that you enjoyed the various food options around us. Many thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for the very nice review. We look forward to seeing you again. Tom, Glenda and Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The first time staying at best western bundaberg for work i met the lovely family that own and run it and straight away felt like i was at home. It is very comfortable, very affordable, delicious food, great location, and they are willing to go above and beyond to do anything for you to make your stay even that little bit better. I have now gone back 5 times in the last 6 months and will continue to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you Louis for your kind comments and for taking the time to write your review. As you probably guess we love what we do and we love this industry and I am glad that that comes across. We look forward to seeing you next time and once again thank you very much for the lovely comments.

Glenda, Tom and Anthony Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

When you book a motel you probably just want a cheap room for a night. This is a lot more than that. Budget price yes, but comfy bed & great nights sleep, enormous bathroom, spotlessly clean, 5 min walk to city centre. Car parking outside your door ( no fee as in surfers, if in fact there is any available ). You deal directly with the owners, Who in this case was waiting with a fresh carton of milk when we arrived late. It is true that there are no sweeping views from the rooms, because motel design in general seems to be more about functionality.
I have not stayed in a lot of motel type acomodation in the past, but i will be checking out a lot more in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good morning Stephen and thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and glowing review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate greatly your kind comments as we strive to give each and every one of our guests the best possible experience when choosing tour motel. I am pleased you noted the bedding because it is all new and our renovations are holding up well. I will also pass on your great comments on our cleanliness to our cleaning team as it is important that they know that there good work is noticed. Many thanks again Stephen for your great review and we wish you a great 2014.

Kindest regards
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance from rail station
Stayed over a long weekend, my company got the booking wrong, management changed it with no fuss
Very friendly and helpful staff
Motel type room , cars parked outside*. With double and sofa bed. TV, fridge, wall long desk , wardrobe ( * sleep disruption depends on near neighbours )
Shower room and loo
Space to sit outside in car parking area
Guest laundry, usual 3 dollars per machine
Breakfast available to order, good quality. A little unnerved by hatch servery, like images of prison!
Also arrangements with local eateries for room service and reductions in price
Plenty of local fast food places either side of the busy highway outside, which cannot be heard from inside motel room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and very much appreciate your positive overall assessment of our service and facilities. We know that there is always room for improvement and it is always nice when people notice the effort we put in. We understand that there are many accommodation choices in Bundaberg and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you. Many thanks again for the great review and we would like to wish you and yours a Merry Christmas and safe and happy 2014.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is hotel quality. Great shower and huge bathroom. Stocked bar fridge and yummy munchies. Comfy bed and room. I got excited by the little breakfast door which I used and had a fresh breakfast. Central spot. It looks like a simple motel but you will be surprised how lovely the staff, service and quality exceeds!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Good morning Marie and thank you taking the time to write such a lovely and positive review about your recent stay with us. We work hard on giving all of our guests a comfortable, friendly and value for money stay and I am pleased that your expectations were met. Again many thanks for the great review and I do hope we are able to assist you again when next you are in town.

Kindest regards
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

a decent enough place to stay, spotlessly clean and fairly well placed but oh so functional. seemed to belonged to a different era. room was pretty cramped but the bathroom was huge. absolutely no view of anywhere except walls and other rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Good morning Russell and thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you noted that our rooms were clean and the bathrooms were spacious. We worked hard to ensure we made our rooms more comfortable when we renovated them. As for the size we are unfortunately locked in with that as it is a 30 year old property and we lease, we do not own it. We are also more a corporate motel and for a room with a view you would probably have been better suited to stay at the beach down at Bargara. Still thank you for taking the time to post your review as we value ALL feedback. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Kindest regards
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent 4 nights here and was very comfortable. It is not top of the line, but clean as a whistle, handy to town and restaurants, comfortable bed, every facility - and the fresh fruit compote for breakfast is absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Lesley and thank you for the very positive review on your recent stay with us. Sorry for the delay in responding but we have been on a short business trip. We appreciate feedback of any manner and it is so nice when someone appreciates the work we do here as we all enjoy being part of this accommodation property and the industry as a whole. Thank you again for taking the time to post such a positive review. It is very much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Tom Dunphy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn

Address: 246 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a laptop in reception that is available to all guests while office is open to check e-mails, search the net or create word document and then print. I believe this would class as a business centre.CheersTom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundaberg Best Western
Best Western Bundaberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.