We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does its job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   246 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Does its job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had to stop at several motels on our drive from Brisbane to Cairns and most of the time, we would go for Best Western motels. This one in Bundaberg was actually not that bad. Very simple of course but the owner was so friendly that it made the stay nicer. Breakfast was included. Nothing too fancy but they bring it to your room through some small doors that only they can open from outside... they slide it in and come back to pick it up a while later. What I found annoying in Australian hotels though is that check out time is always around 10am... A bit early...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Good morning and thank you for posting your reveiw on trip advisor We believe that it is not hard to be nice to people and by doing so makes them feel at home. All reviews we receive are much appreciated as it helps us to improve our business. As far as I know the 10am checkout time has always been that way........it is just a room turnaround thing and in a smaller property like ours is a must. We, and I am sure other property's do as well, will provide a later checkout if required by advising our cleaning staff to do that room last. Usually that gives you a bit extra time to checkout at no charge. Just ask to see if that option is available.As I said we are usually able to accommdate that request if asked. Thank you again for posting your reveiw and we trust you enjoyed your stay in Bundaberg.

Tom and Glenda Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here for a work thing on in town and it was a high standard for a motel. Tom on the front desk was helpful and friendly with suggestions for eating out. The rooms were quite large and functional. Mine had a double and single bed, a desk workstation, suitcase area, couch and coffee table. A small fridge with a few basics, and tea making facilities with even a couple of biscuit snacks. It is very clean and I can be pretty fussy about that. The security was quite good compared to some motels I've been to. There is a bit of thought gone into the room, with hairdryer, extra facewashers, blanket for the bed, extra pillows and an actual working quality iron, and a few brochures. I didn't have the best sleep but I think that's just me, and although I was further away from the road, I still didn't think it was that bad. If you prefer quiet maybe ask for a room back from the road. Your breakfast is delivered on a tray through a hole in the wall. Again this is pretty good value wise. The juice seemed fresh, the cooked breakfast actually hot and the milk cold. I think they are doing a pretty good job here, and it's a walk into restaurants and town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Good morning and just a quick note to thank you very much for posting your reveiw on trip advisor.As owner/managers of our business we do like to have a hands on approach. This coupled with our affiliation to Best Western allows us ensure that the little extras you mentioned in the room are a norm....we are proud that we go through a Quality Assurance reveiw every 12 months as it keeps us on the ball. Our cleaning staff are exceptional in their attention to detail and we are pleased when people do take notice of our cleanliness - it is something that again we pride ourselves on. Our location close to town and in the heart of restaurant precinct is an advantage if people are here for multiple nights. We appreciate that you have choices with your accommodation in Bundaberg and we thank you for choosing our property and also thank you for taking the time to post your review. I trust we may be able to be of service again in the future.

Kindest regards

Tom Dunphy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice clean room with Fridge but no cooking facilities.
Location is fine. only a short walk into the main thoroughfare of the town.

Bundaberg is not a tourist destination. It has some good shops and good choice of restaurants
Ok as a stop of on your way north but no tourist attractions..
I could not find access to e.mail facilities as the Internet Cafe had closed down. Eventually was able to access Internet from library.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Just a quick note to thank you for writing your review on trip advisor. We provide free WI FI access on site in your room so you had no need to go to an internet cafe. We can also provide a PC to check e-mails etc if you dont have your own laptop. It could be true that Bundaberg is not a true tourist destination but depending your interests their is plenty to see and do. The Bundaberg Distillery tour - the home of Bundaberg Rum - is a great tour, as is the Bundaberg Brewed Drinks experience - the home of Bundaberg Ginger Beer and many other flavours. From October to March each year the Turtle Experience at Mon Repos Turtle rookery attracts thousands of people each year. The Hinkler Hall of Aviation, The Hinkler House museum, The Bundaberg Museum, the Bundaberg Sugar museum and the Bundaberg Railway museum are all located in the very popular Botanical gardens and we have 5 beaches all within 15 km of the city centre that provide year round safe swimming. I am not sure what you were chasing but we would have been happy to provide you with some information if you had enquired. I just feel that Bundaberg and district - although off the main highway - has plenty of attractions depending on your interests. Thank you again for posting your reveiw and thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is very important to get everyones opinion - not only on our property but Bundaberg as a destination. Thank you again and our best wishes to you.

Tom and Glenda Dunphy
Owner/Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were looking for a hotel at the last minute and found a nice, large, comfortable room here at a great rate. Nothing fancy but we just needed a place to stay while travelling between Brisbane and Gladstone with a short detour to go to Mon Repos. The owner/manager was very helpful - telling us where to go to make Mon Repos reservations for that night, and also helpful with restaurant choices. This is a great base for exploring Bundaberg, Bargara and Mon Repos. There's a small pool up front and plenty of restaurants and stores nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Good afternoon and just quick not to say thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor and to thank you for your kind appraisal. We like to think our location is good for the overnight traveller because of our proximity to the CBD and also being in the heart of a restaurant/takeaway hub. Having grown up in the district we do know the attractions and how to get you there quickly. I am pleased our directions were good. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kindest regards
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was a pleasure to stay at and the manager was very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the wifi worked well and was free. Shops and restaurants are nearby. It's also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Good morning and let me start by thank you for taking the time to write your reveiw on trip advisor. I would also like to thank you for your positve comments in regard to the service you received; the cleanliness of our rooms and the quality of our wifi. We strive to ensure that we provide what we say we offer. It is always a learning curve and feedback of any nature is welcomed and assists us to do just that. Thank you again and I do hope we see you again in the future.
Tom Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We wanted a motel fairly near to Mon Repos beach to visit the turtle rookery.We settled on this motel as it was a reasonable price and the reports on trip advisor were good.We were a little disappointed in that the rooms were small and dated compared to many others we had stayed in on our travels in Oz.However everything was spotlessly clean,the bed was comfortable and the management team were pleasant and helpful and internet was free.So all in all I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to post this review. I do acknowledge that our motel is dated. It was built in 1980 and we did a major refurbishment of all the rooms that was completed in 2008. Unfortuneatley we could change the structure but I am glad that what we have done in terms of comfort and cleanliness of our rooms has been noted by you in your review. I am also pleased you found the free wifi we offer to be of value. Thank you again for taking the time to post your reveiw and I trust you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Kindest regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Hi All,

Had the pleasure of staying here on 2nd February 2012 in Room 15.

Arrived at Motor Inn in the afternoon and was greeted by the manager, which was bubbly and professional, and you just felt like he was there to welcome you. (Some other places I stayed in during this week could of taken a leaf from his book).

Cost was $116 a night for the day I stayed.

Room was nothing great, but very clean and no smell or anything to complain of. If you wanted something contemporary and modern, this is not your hotel. But what it lacks in those two areas, it is made up in great service and clean room.

Location is great, just across the road from a great chinese restuarant and on the main road. So to hop into the car and drive down the road for more options.

Mini Bar prices are reasonable and not excessive which is great.

Overall, a suprising 5 star stay in a 3.5 star hotel.

I would definately come back to this place again, based on the service and how clean the room was.

Thanks guys!

Cheers - Benno

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomDunphy, Owner at BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
G'day Benno and thank you for taking the time to post your review.It does not take a lot to be nice to people and Glenda and I always try to make people feel welcome. Afterall you are our guest. I do take on board about the style of our motel....as it is 30+ years old we can only work with what we have but I do very much appreciate your positive comments about the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms. That, and the level of service we provide are things we can control. Again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to being able to be of service to you again.

Cheers
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn

Address: 246 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a laptop in reception that is available to all guests while office is open to check e-mails, search the net or create word document and then print. I believe this would class as a business centre.CheersTom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundaberg Best Western
Best Western Bundaberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bundaberg City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.