We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely shocking. Don't do it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Park Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexandra Park Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2A Bingera Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Torquay, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely shocking. Don't do it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at Alexandra Park Motor Inn the other day while staying in Bundaberg for a night. I was in town to meet with potential clients for my new business, as well as catching up with an old friend. I had a couple of people visit me when I had a knock on the door. It was the manager. He suggested to me that I was a 'working girl'. I was quite shocked by this and realised that he was making this assumption based on the fact that I was a female who had booked in alone.

I told him that I was not a working girl and he apologised and left. Upon leaving my room early the next day I left the room in excellent conditon. I had no outstanding bills. Upon checking my bank account a couple of days later I noticed that there had been an unauthorised transaction on my credit card account.

I rang the motel and asked why he had taken the money out. He told me that they had found several condoms in their public bin outside their motel and had therefore decided to deduct money from my account. When I suggested to him that this was infact illegal and I could report this he told me that he would tell everyone I was a working girl. Given the fact that I am starting a reputable business and am a qualified professional I assumed that he was not only happy to steal from my account but also to threaten me with slander.

I suggest to everybody, especially ladies travelling alone to give this place a wide berth. The rooms stink, there is hardly any room to park your vehicle so you have to park on the road and the managers have no problem with swiping money from your credit card without even informing you. Not happy at all.

Room Tip: Just don't go there there is nothing nice about the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Manager at Alexandra Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
It is really a dampener to see such a poor review come for the motel after all the hard work and renovations that have already been done. Only you the traveler can decide how much substance this really has compared to the more recent reviews and positive feedback of late. I understand that everyone is entitled to there opinion but to openly slander a business, when you have been caught out doing the wrong this by that person is unfair. I have mentioned in the past that this is my livelihood and I do whatever I can to accommodate all guests the best way I know how.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    11
    3
    12
See reviews for
23
27
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our family of 8 stayed here , we booked in with very short notice it was good for the kids as the shops and parks are near by it also has wifi wich kept kids enertained while the adults could relax , the rooms are very clean and tidy and cleaned daily , the staff are very freindly & hospitable and were willing to help us in any way . We can see the young couple putting in the hard yards to improve the facilitiies and look foward to seeing the finished product on our next visit , overall a great place to to stay on a good budget !! GOOD TO SEE !! OH almost forgot the breakfast menu caters for everyone's needs from from fruit to cereals or a good English Breakfast & it was presented very well & door service was on time !! BRILLIANT !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here in feb with the girlfriend. Booked a spa room and wow, they not wrong when they say the spa is large enough to swim in.
New carpets, bedding and tv made it a very pleasent night. The fittings are old, but with the bed and carpet who really cares!!!
New owners are putting in a real effort and to tell you the truth I cant wait to get back there again.
Only one down fall andd that is that the undercover parking was not tall enough to fit our 4x4 in so had to park out in the rain. Other than this a lovely budget place to stay.
WELL DONE....

Room Tip: Spa room... The spa is huge!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The new owners are really working hard. very clean and comfortable, and quiet location, considering the low low price $83 per night. We stayed in downstairs room, with very old fashioned fittings, but very clean, excellent air conditioner, it was 31 degrees, new bed, mattress and pillows. Very important for us, as we had had a four hour drive. Fridge was just adequate, with the freezer section totally frozen, which was a slight nuisance as we wanted to have ice for our esky. Owners very friendly, gave us late checkout with no extra to pay. New landscaping around the pool was lovely. Bathrooms still need modernising, and we were told they were next on their list. Very easy to walk into CBD to get to shops and cafes. And very safe to walk around Bundaberg all hours.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The new renovations have really made a difference! New carpet, lighting, bedding and tvs, great value for only $90 a night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

After reading previous reviews it was great to see that the owners are making a great effort to improve the rooms We had two rooms booked and both had been recently re carpeted and had new comfortable beds. Everything was clean the sheets crisp and white and the towels good quality. We particularly wanted mud crab for dinner and the chef at the resaurant organised it when we couldnt find it anywhere else in bundaberg.A good comfortable hotel for the price with excellent sevice all round

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This place is awful...dirty, smelly and just dated. Keep driving and don't even think about staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Alexandra Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Hi,

My sincerest apologies that our room didn't meet your expecations during your recent stay. We certainly appreciate your feedback as we have only been operating the Motel for a couple of months. We are currently working hard to upgrade the facilities within our rooms and have installed new carpets in all our downstairs room with upstairs to follow in the next couple of weeks. Other improvements are planned in the near future, obviously all these things can't happen at once but rest assured should you choose to stay with us in future we hope you will be pleasantly surprised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Park Motor Inn

Address: 2A Bingera Street, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexandra Park Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Park Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.